We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with friendly English speaking staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plein Sud

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Plein Sud to your Saves list
Hotel Plein Sud
Allee des Boutiques | Chantemerle, 05330 Serre-Chevalier, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Serre-Chevalier
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good hotel with friendly English speaking staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on a Crystal skiing holiday. The staff were helpful and friendly and the food was good too. The only real downer was the (lack of) hot water in the bedroom/bathroom for the first 4 days - however the problem was fixed for the last 3 days of our stay - yippee hot baths at last! The hotel is a short walk form the ski lifts and has it's own ski room - we stored our skis (free) at the ski shop used by Crystal (Skiset) which was right next to the bottom lifts in Chantemerle. We has a larger south facing room with balcony for a small supplement, but I reckon it was worth it. The hotel also has a small swimming pool and steam room which we used a few times (and men don't need to wear speedos!)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiserreche, Directeur général at Hotel Plein Sud, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your comments and it was unfortunate that we seemed to have a ball of air travelling around the hot water system during your stay. Thankfully we managed to find the problem whilst you were still in situ.

We hope it did not affect your holiday too much and that we can welcome you back again in the future.

We pride ourselves on our food and have many good reviews because of it.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write

La Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    30
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
35
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed at Plein Sud in mid January by accident. Our booked accommodation fell through at the last minute and our tour operator switched us to the hotel. We immediately had concerns as two of our party have gluten free diets and another an even more complex food allergy problem. A swift phone call to Lynne, the owner, put us at ease. She assured us they had experience of catering for special diets and all would be fine. We still had some concerns but Lynne's confident and friendly manner convinced us all would work out fine. Indeed it did! For our first diner chef came to see us and talked us through the menu explaining what was suitable for the diets and what he had arranged for the very special diet. This was repeated every day of our stay either by chef, his deputy or the waitresses. Chef also met our requirement for the special diet to have a hot lunch prepared and put into their thermos each day so they could eat it on the slopes. This was all done during a very busy week for the restaurant. We were extremely impressed and very grateful. The restaurant offers a balanced choice of well prepared and tasty meals with the menu changing each night.

The hotel is very clean. The three double bedrooms we had were of an adequate size and freshly decorated. The day after we arrived the bar had some lovely new low level tables and stools. The table tops being the slice off a large tree trunk, very natural and in keeping with an alpine resort. The bar staff are friendly and helpful as were all the hotel staff.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and if the opportunity presented itself we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Top floor South facing rooms have a good view of the Luc Alphand piste and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiserreche, Directeur général at Hotel Plein Sud, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your comments - happy that we could help you out of a stressful situation of a change of venue. I was confident that we could also help you out with your allergies and that the staff were helpful.

Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future with confidence

Many Thanks
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed in the Plein Sud in August for the 5th time. I was on a motorcycling holiday and the hotel is in an excellent location with some great biking roads all around.

There is always a warm welcome and the staff are always very accommodating. There is secure parking for the bikes, a great bar, excellent food and even a swimming pool.

We are always on the lookout for good hotels in the Alps and there are few better than the Plein Sud, which is why we regularly return.

Room Tip: South facing rooms cost more but are worth it for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed as part of a Neilson organised ski-holiday
Great food, and quiet yet easily accessible location - to the local centre and the bus stop up/down the valley
comfy rooms and endless hot water
didnt try the indoor pool as the temperature wasnt that warm
not particularly child-friendly as a hotel (the requested adjoining rooms were on separate floors), or a restaurant, but fine for teenagers.
friendly owner/staff

Room Tip: rooms on the front, higher up provide excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel plein sud is a great hotel for skiers in serre chevalier. The hotel is situated in chantemerle, just 5 minutes walk from the centre of the village and the lifts up to the ski area. Its also 2 minutes from the main road where the ski bus stop and supermarket is. The hotel is very comfy, there is a pleasant bar where we often had an après ski and/or a before dinner drink! The food was fantastic - breakfasts were a continental buffet and the evening meals were 3 courses including a desert buffet every evening. The menu included 3 choices for starter and main course and we didn't have a poor meal all week. The room was spacious and clean, the balcony was lovely with a great view of the luc alphand run. All in all we had a great week and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and ski area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiserreche, Directeur général at Hotel Plein Sud, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your report on TA - it is very much appreciated. We are pleased that your enjoyed your holiday and we sincerely hope to welcome you back in the future. Everyone enjoys the food and the ambience - it is our pleasure to make your holiday enjoyable. The snow conditions were great also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for a week mid march. The location of the hotel was fantastic, five minutes from the ski hire shop, bars, ski school and lift. Two minutes from chemist, supermarket etc. The hotel it's self was spotlessly clean and very comfy. The room was lovely and warm and had everything you need, with fantastic views. All the staff were lovely. The food was fantastic for both evening meal and breakfast. This was one of the comfiest hotels I've stayed in on a skiing holiday and I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiserreche, Directeur général at Hotel Plein Sud, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments on TA they are always appreciated. We try to create a home from home for our guests to be as comfy as possible. Superb snow conditions for your also - we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Hotel well situated over the main road from the telecabine and chair lift, about 5mins walk away. We were in a south facing room looking out over the black run home, room was ok had everything you would need and was kept clean all week. Food was excellent with a choice every evening and just the right amount in my opinion. The staff were excellent and all very friendly, never really met the owner as she always seemed busy with her head down as we walked past the desk. Never used the hotel bar at night preferring to walk around the village. The pool and steam room were ok but you have to ask for the steam room to be switched on and it does take at least 30mins to get hot. The resort itself is quite small and all the bars were very quiet at night but there are a few that have a happy hour where beer is 3 euro as opposed to 6 euros. Apres ski is good with bars situated at the bottom of the run home. The skiing area is good although some pistes are ungroomed and can get very bumpy. All in all I enjoyed my holiday and would return to The Plein Sud.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plein Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plein Sud

Address: Allee des Boutiques | Chantemerle, 05330 Serre-Chevalier, France
Location: France > Provence > Hautes-Alpes > Serre-Chevalier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Serre-Chevalier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bedrooms are south facing with a private balcony overlooking the mountains. Rooms equipped with bathroom, hair dryer, mini-bar, TV, direct-dial telephone and a safe. Dressing gowns and swimming towels are provided. Our heated open-air pool has direct access to the garden for sun bathing and our terrace which overlooks the pool and has a panoramic view. Lunch and dinner can be served on the terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Plein Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plein Sud Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plein Sud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.