We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plein Sud

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Plein Sud to your Saves list
Hotel Plein Sud
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Allee des Boutiques | Chantemerle, 05330 Serre-Chevalier, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Serre-Chevalier
Certificate of Excellence
greenock
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“would return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Booked through Crystal and had a north facing room without a balcony for two people which was the smallest room we have ever seen. Luckily we managed to upgrade at a cost, to south facing with balcony on ground floor(no view), but this was much bigger. The food every night was great in choice and quality and the wine prices were reasonable. The staff were all very friendly and helpful including the owner, Lynne's son, Sebastian. Unfortunately I cannot say the same for Lynne, who not once said hello not looked at us any time we passed her. We were also pleased with the ski area which was big enough even though we are used to the big French areas such as the Three Valleys, Tignes. Hope to return even despite the lack of smiles and professionalism from the owner.

Room Tip: Don't chose north facing without balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    39
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
15
44
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Forest National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 631 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a lovely skiing holiday staying in the Hotel Plein Sud, 3rd to 10th February, booked with Crystal through our local Travel Agent. This was our second holiday in Serre Chevalier, and I wrote a detailed review following our stay in the Plein Sud in February 2012, which is a little gem of a hotel in our opinion, owned by an English lady named Lynne Laurent.

Our coach transfer was fine until we arrived in Chantmerle around 1pm, but after stopping at the Grand Hotel our driver then turned off the main road into a side road some distance from the Plein Sud, and we had to walk from there alongside the main road and then uphill to the hotel with suitcases, boot bags, ski bags and hand luggage. Not easy with snowy icy pavement. Our Crystal Rep apologised, saying the coach drivers are not really very helpful and tend to stop where they like. Last year our coach driver parked closer to the hotel, so there was no reason why they couldn't this time - very annoying! Fortunately this was the only problem we had on our holiday.

We were checked in at Reception by Magda, who I remembered from last year, and we booked our table for dinner. You have to book your time for dinner for each evening even if you have half board. I asked if we could have the same table as last year, which was not a problem. The hotel staff are either English, or understand English well enough to communicate and answer questions, and are very friendly. My husband and I do like to practise our French though.
-----
After I had booked our holiday I sent an email to the hotel asking if we could have a room on the middle(2nd) floor again, which is on the same level as Reception, bar, dining room and the swimming pool. The hotel does not have a lift, so guests staying on the top (3rd)or lower (1st) floors have to use the stairs. We booked a South facing room with piste view and balcony, the same as last year, which we think is worth the extra cost. Only South facing rooms on 2nd and 3rd floors have balconies overlooking a small grassed area surrounded by fir trees, with a good view of the final section of the very long Luc Alphand black run, so you can watch people skiing down. North facing rooms overlook the front of the hotel and the quiet road which leads downhill to the main road at the rear of the hotel.
-----
This year we had room 263, which was very similar to last year, except this time we had a large Kingsize bed instead of a triple room with double and single beds. Some rooms have two twin beds. Some people find beds in France rather hard, but we both found our bed comfortable with 4 soft pillows, and we slept very well. The walls in the hotel are quite thick, and we didn’t hear any noise from other rooms. Our room was warm, and we only needed the radiator on low.

Inside the room entrance we had a clothes rail with some hangers, shelf storage above including a blanket, and a unit with minibar, glasses, and three good size drawers. The fridge has a price list on the front, with bottle of Perrier(€3), 1.5L mineral water(€3), 0.50L mineral water(€2), can of coca cola(€3), and a bottle of Champagne(€23). We had two small drawers in our bedside cabinets, with storage space under. Small flat screen TV on a shelf, and we were very pleased to find that BBC 1 and BBC 2 was now available , so we had some English TV this year! We had a large desk by the window, with a further three drawers, and a chair. Telephone on bedside cabinet. Good lighting, with two bedside lights, but I only found two plug sockets we could use. If you want to recharge a few items overnight it is worth taking a multi plug extension. There was a price list on the desk of various massages that the hotel can arrange.

The bathroom had a sink unit with large mirror and a shelf under, bath with overhead shower and shower curtain, and a safe above the toilet, the same as the room we had last year. Make sure you have the toilet lid down when taking items in & out of the safe in case you accidentally drop something! The safe is easy to use, with your own 4 digit number. Soap dispenser on wall above bath, small bottles of shampoo, and shower caps. Soft white hand towels and large beach sized towels, plus towelling bath robes. Large blue towels provided for swimming pool use. There is a hairdryer on the wall by the sink, and shaver socket. I used my own hairdryer, but the flex only just reached from the socket by our room door to the full length mirror on the wall opposite the bathroom, so an extension would have been useful. I meant to pack one after the same difficulty last year, but forgot.

We did remember to take a small travel kettle, mugs, teaspoon and sachets of hot drinks and teabags this year – useful being able to make a hot drink in your room or on the balcony when you like. The balcony had a small white table and two white lounger type chairs.
Our room was clean and tidy, bed made every day, and towels changed when requested. The rooms walls are white, and rather bare apart from a picture on one wall. We think one or two more pictures of the mountains in winter or summer would make the room seem more cosy, but that is personal preference really.
-----
The swimming pool is a good size, indoor in winter/outdoor in summer, and there is also a steam room/sauna. We did not use the pool, although I kept meaning to, but it looked very inviting when I had a look and saw a few people swimming. Men are allowed to wear swimming shorts – they don’t have to be the Speedo type trunks as in some pools in France. There is a terrace area by the pool which would be lovely in warm/hot weather, with views of the mountains. I think the pool is open until dusk as it has no extra lighting.
-----
The bar has been redecorated since last year, and now looks more modern with ceiling spotlights and one purple wall, but we found the lighting rather bright. Seating is on wooden benches along one side of the room, with cushions and tables, which is fine for an après ski or pre dinner drink, post dinner coffee, playing cards or using laptop with free wifi, but we do prefer armchairs for relaxing after a day’s skiing. This is the only downside of this hotel for us, as we would have spent more time in the bar if it had comfortable chairs and softer lighting. After dinner we relaxed on our bed and watched TV instead.
There are high stools at the bar, and also at one high table, and one leather sofa at the far end under the large flat screen TV. The bar was quite full on a couple of evenings when there were football/rugby matches on the TV, with a good atmosphere. I sat in the bar until closing time catching up with emails on my laptop after dinner sometimes, chatting to Sebastian who was on duty. Very friendly and pleasant young man who I eventually realised is Lynne's son!
You can also get wifi in the dining room, and some rooms depending on location. The bar and all the hotel areas are kept very clean and tidy.

Happy Hour in the bar is from 17.30 to 18.30. Pint of beer/lager €4. ½ pint €2. Glass of wine €2.
Afternoon tea and cake €4.50. Slice of gateau €2. Vin chaud €4.50. Tea €2.50. Hot chocolate €3. Sodas €3. Expresso €1.50. Grand Crème (milky coffee) €3.
Spirits 4cl. €7. Liqeurs/Baileys etc 4cl. €7. They also have a cocktail of the week.
-----
The dining room is opposite Reception desk, on the left as you enter the hotel lobby. The decor is quite rustic but comfortable, divided into separate sections with two raised areas, which we think is nice as it gives diners some privacy and feels more cosy. Old wooden skis on one wall, wooden cart wheels, and a stuffed head of what I think is a Chamois on another wall, which I guess could upset some vegetarians!

At breakfast you sit where you like, and help yourself to the buffet and juice. Hot drinks are waiter service. The buffet includes ham, cheese, fresh fruit salad, unpeeled fresh fruit, cereals, muesli, yoghurts, fruit purees, plain croissants, chocolate croissants, jam/marmalade/Nuttella, white and brown sliced bread, toaster, and machine for boiling eggs. The hotel breakfast was fine for us, but if you feel the need for a full English Breakfast you can buy this at The Station Bar near the ski lift and cable car station.

For dinner you wait to be seated, but most people seemed to sit at the same table each evening. We asked for the same table for the same time every night for our week, but you can book the previous evening or in the morning if you wish. Dinner is waiter service for starters and mains, with dessert buffet. There is a menu giving 3 choices of Starters, and 3 choices of Mains, in French, but the waiting staff will translate and explain dishes to you. The food is excellent, and very well presented. Sometimes it was very hard to choose dishes, as they all sounded so good. The Head Chef(John), Sous Chef(Liam) and Commis Chef(Henry) are all English. John had two nights off during the week, when Liam cooked as Head Chef. Our waiting staff were Zoe, Eva and Olivier – all very friendly and helpful. I recognised Zoe from last year, and she remembered us which was nice. The tables are nicely laid, with white tablecloths and candles.

I took photos of the menus each evening, and these are the dishes offered during our week –
STARTERS
Wild Boar Pate, Pasta parcels with ricotta and spinach, Pumpkin soup, Spinach in puff pastry, Penne Arabbiata, Chicken & mushroom vol au vent, Leek & potato soup, Chef’s Salad, Winter vegetable soup, Asiatic beef salad, Tomato soup, Gnocchi with three cheeses, Warm goats cheese salad, Chicken & mushroom soup, Linguine with tomato and pesto, Cold beef salad, French onion soup with croutons,
MAIN COURSES
Lamb Tagine with rice, Trout, salmon & hake in sauce with mash and vegetables, Tartiflette & salad, Beef Bourgignon with potatoes and carrots, Salmon with pesto, Aubergine & parmesan bake, pork belly in cider with mash and beetroot, Thai salmon with rice, Mexican bean and chilli casserole with rice, Duck in orange sauce with potatoes and broccoli, Vegetable lasagne with green salad, Wild Boar & chorizo casserole with potato and carrots, Cod with crumb crust with potato puree and carrots, Mushroom Stroganoff with rice, Duck in blueberry sauce with peas & dauphinois potatoes, Hake in breadcrumbs with peas and potatoes, Goats cheese and spinach salad, steak with potatoes and carrots, whole cheese cooked in the box with salad and potatoes.
DESSERTS (a few different ones each evening) with jugs of vanilla sauce/custard, cheeseboard with three cheeses, and whole fresh fruit. You help yourself, so can have as much dessert as you like!
Chocolate tart, Rhubarb crumble, Ile Flotante(Floating Islands), Bakewell Tart, Apple Tart, Orange Panacotta, Cocolate cake, Chocolate Brownies, round chocolate cakes with warm liquid chocolate centre, Vanilla tart, Rasberry tart, Apple crumble, chocolate in glass pots, sliced fresh fruit selection – kiwi, melon, pineapple, orange.
The cost of dinner if not included in Half Board package is €28.

The hotel has a good choice of wines, with Reds from €15 - €78, White wines from €12 - €32, and Rose from €14 - €30. Champagne from €22 - €50. We had the same red wine that we had last year, Beau Mayne Dourthe, €18, which we liked, but we had to try a different one at the end of the week as they had none left. Obviously popular. The only complaint that I have about the food is that even with 6 days of skiing I put on weight and am still trying to get rid of it!
-----
The hotel has its own heated ski/boot room with lockers for each room, on the lower level. It is only about 5-10 mins walk to the main base with cable car and chairlift, crossing the main road or using the underpass, but we found it easier to hire a locker near the lifts for the week for €35, rather than using the hotel store. You walk a short way downhill from the hotel to the main road, where there is a zebra crossing. There are then steps down which bring you to the ski base, with shops and a large indoor centre. We found this route quicker than using the underpass. The indoor centre has 3 floors, with ski school booking office, equipment and lockers hire, ski clothing, supermarket, gift shops, an amazing sweet shop, Irish Bar, La Taniere restaurant, and a bowling alley. Next to this Centre is the chairlift and cable car which take you up to the main ski area and two restaurants. People who wish to ski back down have a choice of the Luc Alphand black run or an easy green which winds through the trees, crossing the black at intervals.
-----
The Station Bar is popular for Apres Ski with live music every day from 5pm and Happy Hour, with an outside terrace with views of the slopes, and La Taniere also has outdoor piste view seating with a cover in bad weather. There are more restaurants and shops around the Centre, and also along the main road near the Plein Sud, including a Tabac for cigarettes/tobacco, Italian Restaurant, Delicatessen, ski equipment & clothing, and gift shops.

Chantmerle is a good base village for skiing the Serre Chevalier area with Briancon to the left, and Villeneuve and Monetier to the right. Ski buses go along the road quite frequently between the resorts for those who don’t want to ski all the way out or back. There were no French school holidays on our trip, so the slopes were nice and quiet on the weekdays.
We also had a day’s skiing in Montgenevre, arranged by Crystal for €20 each, which is worth doing if you don't mind getting up early. The journey was only about 30 mins. Depending on demand they can arrange one day trips to Alpe D'Huez as well, and possibly Les 2 Alpes, but they are a longer journey of about 1 1/2 hrs. Our Crystal Rep Sarah was very helpful and friendly, coming to our room with information and to check that everything was going well.
Our pickup time on departure day was 6am, from the bus stop on the main road opposite the Plein Sud, so much closer than on arrival. The hotel provides a packed breakfast for people leaving very early, with orange juice carton, cereal bar, a cake, and a Satsuma.
-----
Last year we had extremely cold cloudy weather the same week in February, but this year we had a lot of sunshine which was great, even though still very cold especially in the wind on the high lifts. We both really enjoyed our skiing holiday, and thanks again to Lynne and all her staff in the Hotel Plein Sud. We highly recommend this hotel and will certainly book here again if we decide to return to Serre Chevalier for a third time.

Room Tip: For the best views request top floor South facing room with balcony. For similar view but lower, wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were very well looked after by Llynne and her staff.
The hotel is really well run and the breakfasts were great, with lovely strong coffee.
Comfortable beds and rooms, we had a north facing room just above the reception area, and wifi was good, about 2 MEg.
Endless hot water, and all the facilities we needed.
We were able to park outside, and the "DogBar" pizza restaurant around the corner, was our preferred après bar, but the hotel's bar served the best vin chad I've ever had.
I would happily return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is that it is clean, for me that is the most important. In addition to that the staff are friendly and the beds are fairly comfortable. The rooms are basic but have everything you need. It was very amusing watching my husband trying to have a bath as it was absolutely tiny but the shower was fine.

The breakfast was ok. Again, I would say perfectly adequate but nothing special. It's a buffet with a choice of boiled eggs, croissants, various breads, one type of ham, one type of cheese in small packets, cereal, a limited fruit salad, whole banana and apples etc and plenty of spreads.

One big dissapointment for me was the wifi. You only get 1 or 2 bars of signal in the room which means you can't really do anything as it keeps timing out and takes about 5 minutes to load a page. This is really frustrating. It works in the bar, hence quite a few people sitting in the with laptops.

Ive stayed in similar places which I have given 5/5 but this was because they were £20/£30 a night and hugely exceeded my expectations. We paid about £180 a night for our room here and so I had hoped for a bit more. Having said that I'm not complaining, I just think you should know what to expect, which is a basic room in a basic hotel with friendly staff and limited wifi.

Room Tip: We had a piste facing room which cost more. Not sure it is worth it as these are not rooms you want...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wembley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed here with family and friends in March 2012 and had a great time. the hotel is close to the ski lift with good ski runs for all abilities.Food was excellent. playroom for kids so they can play while you are in the bar. Very happy with cleanliness of room. Had a balcony so relaxed on terrace in the afternoon. Staff and owner are top rated and make you feel so welcome. Will return without any hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Directeur général at Hotel Plein Sud, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for your comments it is very much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I stayed in the Plein Sud the second week in March. All the reviews are correct this is a fantastic hotel. True the rooms are basic but this is more than compensated by the ever friendly staff who are always on hand to help with any query or request. I am a non skier and Kim was very helpful informing me of activities to keep me and my daughter occupied. Also the food is of a high standard with kids meals available if you want them. The location is good you can travel to local villages via the ski bus which runs at regular intervals.
Thankyou to all the staff at Hotel Plein Sud for a very relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 631 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Plein Sud from 5th - 12th February 2012. We had a day's skiing in Serre Chevalier a few years ago from Les Deux Alpes, and were very impressed with the ski area. I chose this hotel after reading very good reviews here, and booking with Crystal we could fly from our local airport to Turin. As others have said, this hotel is owned and run by an English lady named Lynne Laurent, with her small team of staff, some also being English.

I booked a South facing room with balcony, as I read that these have a good view of the Luc Alphand black run, and sent an email to the hotel requesting a room on the top floor for best view. Lynne kindly replied saying that the top floor rooms were fully booked, but the middle floor would still give us a good view. South facing rooms on the lower level would not see the pistes as the hotel has fir trees around the rear, which would block their view. North facing rooms also do not have piste view, overlooking the front of the hotel and quiet road.
Lynne also offered assistance with booking lift passes or ski equipment at a discount price if needed. We have our own equipment and had added a lift pass / ski carriage package to our Crystal booking already, but I appreciated the offer.

---

Although we left Bournemouth airport on time at 06.10, arriving at Turin around 08.30, after being taken to our coach by the Crystal rep we then waited for other flights to arrive for 2 hours!! They were delayed following snowfall in parts of the UK, but to keep us waiting on a very cold coach for this length of time was appalling. Not a good start to our holiday.

We finally arrived at the hotel around 12.30pm and were given a very nice room on the middle floor, which is the same level as the pool, bar, dining room and reception, so very handy. I did not see a lift, so I think people on the top and lower floor have to use the stairs. The sun was shining on our balcony and we had a good view of the piste above the trees. It was extremely cold though, as they had been experiencing temps around minus 15 deg. It was so cold at night that the swimming pool heater has packed up but Lynne got this repaired very quickly and the pool was soon open again. We didn't use the pool or steam room, but I spoke to someone who did and they said it was nice and warm. I took a photo which I will add to my review.
The swimming pool is enclosed in winter months and open from 8am until 8.30pm, or until dark.

---

Our room ( 258 ) was a triple, with one double and one single bed. Two bedside cabinets with drawers and a desk with 3 drawers with small flatscreen TV. We could not get any channels in English though, so not able to watch CNN or BBC World News as you often can in European hotels. It might be worth taking a DVD player with some DVDs to watch in the evenings, or if you are injured and have to stay in the room ( which sadly happened to me last year ). A door opened onto our balcony which was quite large with a table and two chairs. We only used the double bed which was very comfortable with good pillows. Despite the freezing cold temps our room was nice and warm with a radiator by the window. We did not need the extra blanket provided in the room.

There was not much space around the beds for moving around, but we didn't find this a problem. We used the single bed to lay our ski clothes on which was useful. We had one long mirror on the wall, hanging rail with 8 hangers, 3 large drawers and shelving, and a minibar / fridge. Minibar prices were -
Bottle of Champagne € 23.00
Bottled water € 2.00 or € 3.00
Coca Cola € 3.00
Bottle of Perrier € 3.00

Our bathroom was quite small, but good size bath with overhead shower, loo and sink with mirror, shaver point and hairdryer. I tried the hairdryer but after some time it got rather hot to hold, so I used my own. My hairdryer and straighteners cables only just reached the long mirror from the plug I found by the room door, so worth taking a small extension plug if yours is not very long. Locations of plug sockets in different rooms may vary of course. Toiletries by the sink included shampoo, bars of soap and also a soap dispenser on the wall. We didn't have shower or bath liquids but always take our own anyway.
Large and small towels and white towelling robes provided, but not flannels or slippers. There was a small safe on the wall above the loo, which is an unusual location! Use your own 4 digit code. I am not sure if North facing rooms have a safe as I believe they are slightly smaller.
Overall we were very happy with our room for a 3 star hotel, as we did not go expecting luxury. It was very clean with beds made neatly every day.
---
The hotel has double doors at the entrance, with stairs going down to the boot room which has individual lockers for each room. Nice and warm, although we found it more convenient to hire a 2 person locker by the cable car / telecabine/ chairlift at the base of the slopes, from the Ricquet Sports ski shop for about € 35. This is inside a mall-like building that has shops, ski hire, supermarket, kiddie rides, Ski School booking desk, bars including an Irish Bar, and restaurants. Also a 10 pin bowling alley.
The hotel boot room is locked, and the key is kept on the same board as the room keys. Your locker key is on your room key keyring. There is no charge for the hotel lockers.
---
When you enter the hotel reception desk is on the right, along with the entrance to the small bar. There is no separate lounge in the hotel, and no armchairs, but the bar has bench type seating with cushions, and a higher table with chairs. Large flat screen TV on the far wall. The bar is open from 8am to midnight. There are leaflets and other tourist information in one corner and piste maps at reception desk.

The bar is not very big, and sometimes quite crowded with non guests calling in. Friendly casual atmosphere though. Some bar prices -
Pot of tea € 2.00
Cafe Creme € 3.00
Hot chocolate € 3.00
25cl 1664 beer € 3.00. 50cl € 6.00
Vin Chaud € 3.50
Bottle Beau Mayne Dourthe Rouge € 14.
Glass of wine € 3.00
Spirits €7.00
Happy Hour pint € 4.00
---
On the left of the hotel entrance is the small cosy restaurant, with the breakfast and desserts buffet at the far end. Dinner consists of three courses plus cheeseboard. There were three choices of starter and main course each evening, which is waiter served, then you help yourself to desserts and cheeseboard as you like. The food is nicely presented and delicious. They ask you to book a time for each evening, so we booked our table for 8pm the following day after each meal.

Starters included soups, pates, salads, cold hams/ charcuterie, mushroom risotto, bruschetta with cheese & tomato ( like a pizza ), warm goats cheese parcels, and others.

Mains included lamb shanks with winter vegetables, fish with vegetables and sauce, tartiflette with salad, duck in red wine with veg and potato gratin, boeuf bourguignon, duck confit, vegetable lasagne with salad, veal in cream sauce with rice, game casserole, steak au poivre, pork steaks with sauce, blanquette de veau ( veal in sauce ), vegetable gratin, duck slices in blackcurrant sauce, among others.

The dessert buffet included apple tart, vanilla custard, blackberry crumble, fruit tarts, melon, fresh pineapple, chocolate tarts / brownies, egg custards, with variations each evening.
We had a few bottles of the Beau Mayne Dourthe Rouge wine over the week costing € 14 each which was perfectly good. The waiting staff are friendly and will describe dishes to you in English, as the menu on the table is in French. There were always choices for vegetarians.

I didn't meet the chef ( as far as I know! ) but he has been working at the hotel for many years and is very highly regarded. Definitely deserves the praise that has been given in reviews.
The hotel information said that in school holidays early dinner for children can be served from 6.30pm to 7pm.
---
Breakfast is continental cold buffet but there is also a machine for cooking boiled eggs and a toaster. Croissants, cheese, ham, jams/ honey/ marmalade/ nutella, flavoured yoghurts, fresh fruit salad, three cereals, bowl of natural yoghurt, fruit juices. Tea and coffee pots are waiter served. Breakfast is from 7.30 to 10.00. Certainly enough for me and my husband, and set us up for the day.
---
I saw three dogs in the bar during our stay which I think belonged to staff or visitors, and they do allow guests to bring small pets as long as they are kept on a lead in communal areas. There is a daily charge of about €8.

Wifi is free in the hotel, but the signal was quite poor in our room. It was better in the bar or dining room. Staff will give you the hotel code to access the internet on your own laptop.

The hotel is close to a small parade of shops including a chemist, newsagent, tabac, souvenirs/ postcards, ski shops, pizzeria, and a lovely shop selling souvenirs and foods like biscuits, sweets, chocolate, toffees, jam/ honey, nicely gift wrapped in cellophane with ribbon. Nice shop for browsing.

There is an underpass near these shops for crossing under the road to get to the ski lifts and mall/ lockers, which takes about 5-10 mins depending on your walking pace, and if wearing ski boots!
If the road is clear it is quicker to just cross the road opposite the hotel and walk left.

A free bus service goes along the road between Briancon and Monetier Les Bains, which we caught one day after skiing to the bottom of Villeneuve, back to Chantmerle. It was actually a coach, and you take your skis/ board inside with you which is unusual!

We did not do much apres ski outside the hotel, but some people told us that The Station is a popular bar for live entertainment and where many people go from the slopes, as close to the centre and lifts.

We had a great holiday with good piste conditions even though it was extremely cold, and also spent a day skiing in Montgenevre booked with our Crystal rep in the hotel. It was covered by our lift pass, so we just paid for the coach transport which I think was € 20 pp. We quite liked Montgenevre, but prefer Serre Chevalier. The slopes were very quiet which helped me regain confidence after my bad fall last year, when I was hit hard from behind by another skiier.

We are planning to return next year and highly recommend the Plein Sud.
Our thanks to Lynne and her staff.

Room Tip: Sunny South facing rooms have balconies, and piste views from the top and middle floors. North facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serre-Chevalier
1.2 mi away
Rock Noir
Rock Noir
#1 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Grand Aigle Hotel
Le Grand Aigle Hotel
#2 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#11 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel La boule de neige
Hotel La boule de neige
#3 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Mont Thabor
Le Mont Thabor
#2 of 5 in La Salle les Alpes
4.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
3.5 mi away
Parc Hotel
Parc Hotel
#3 of 17 in Briancon
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plein Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plein Sud

Address: Allee des Boutiques | Chantemerle, 05330 Serre-Chevalier, France
Location: France > Provence > Hautes-Alpes > Serre-Chevalier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Serre-Chevalier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plein Sud 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bedrooms are south facing with a private balcony overlooking the mountains. Rooms equipped with bathroom, hair dryer, mini-bar, TV, direct-dial telephone and a safe. Dressing gowns and swimming towels are provided. Our heated open-air pool has direct access to the garden for sun bathing and our terrace which overlooks the pool and has a panoramic view. Lunch and dinner can be served on the terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Plein Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plein Sud Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plein Sud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.