We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tres tres Bon !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Penalolen

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Villefranche-de-Conflent
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Penalolen
Save
You added Casa Penalolen to your Saves list
3, Domaine Sainte Eulalie, 66500 Villefranche-de-Conflent, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Yackandandah, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Tres tres Bon !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

What an amazing find for three couples travelling together. Just perfect. Do yourselves a favor and go through this amazing town and stay with the amazing Marielle and her husband in in their incredible B&B. when I wrote to her originally Marielle said " yes the rooms are reserved for you . No deposit required" such old fashioned trust and faith is not to be found anywhere now. And such a welcome when we arrived, we were very later after spending time in Foix and traveling down the steep steep road to the village. Warm comfy beds, fantastic continental breakfast and the added service of posting a jacket which had been left behind, on to us at our next accomodation.
Thankyou so much for an absolutely wonderful stay at you home.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing, different comfortable and the ambience is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Stayed for 2 wonderful nights in this B & B. Esteban and Mireille couldn't have been nicer and the house is spotlessly clean. We were lucky enough to have a room at the back of the house with a view of the fort, so did not hear any of the road noise. Do not hesitate to book here, you will not be disappointed. You just feel as if you are staying with friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Lovely home right on the river but it is also right on the road. However, the road noise was minimal at night although I did sleep with earplugs. The location is great for the train station. It's not stated anywhere, at least not that I could find, but not all rooms have attached bathrooms. We were in Room 1 (per the website) and the bathroom was down the hall; on the plus side, we were the only guests using it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here in between campsites - and it was a superb and civilised break! Esteban and Mireille treated us like royalty in their home; the pool was opened when we arrived, our room was lovelyand spotlessly clean, we were instructed how to walk up to Fort Liberia which we could see from our bedroom window and we could walk into Villefranche -de-confluent for our evening meal. Our daughter and her husband stayed another night and ended up picking plums and making jam.
But visit quickly because they are trying to sell up and retire...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix en Provence
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

My husband and I were visiting Villefranche-de-Confluent for a day and we found this wonderful house. We're very grateful to find this great place after having a very bad experience in the Auberge du Cedre. Casa Penalolen is a charming and beautiful house. It's very clean with very nice decor, with a big beautiful garden, a large rectangle swimming pool for summer and the river passes just right next to the house. It feels good to hear the river, very relaxing place. Mireille and Esteban were excellent hosts. They are very friendly people, who like to meet new people around the world and share ideas. They make you feel like in the family in minutes. Our room was on the top floor with a very nice view of the river, mountains, the village and the Fort Libéria. The room smell really nice the minute we walked in, everything was very clean and has nice decorations. Location is also great, within walking distance to the station for the Yellow Train, to the village and to visit the fort. The breakfast was also wonderful, again everything was neat. Attention to details was to the top, very very much appreciated it in every sense. We will RECOMMEND it 100%. Our experience was beyond perfect!!!! Enjoy your stay. We will recommend for couple, family or alone.

Room Tip: Next to
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

Nobody could find this little hotel less than perfect. The verdant gardens roll down to the edge of the river, the views are lovely - and oh so restful - and you can enjoy the swimming pool or just relax on the balcony or in the sitting room. It's about a two minute stroll from the station (it's the same station for the Yellow Train too) and Mireille and Estaban are perfect hosts, who insisted on driving us there at a very early hour as we wanted to be sure of tickets for the little train. It's a five minute walk into Villefranche-de-Confluent, a fantastic village and the area is also popular with walkers.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights in Aug 2010. It's a great chambre d'hote. The house is huge and really lovely. The rooms are very clean and airy and on the top floor. The swimming pool is also a big plus, the hosts were very happy for us to use the pool and sun loungers/parasols. The hosts were extremely friendly, helpful about local information. Breakfast included. We had a car, but it's literally right next to the train station, so if coming by train this would be ideal. It's also ideal for getting the train jaune early in the morning. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Penalolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Penalolen

Address: 3, Domaine Sainte Eulalie, 66500 Villefranche-de-Conflent, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Pyrenees-Orientales > Villefranche-de-Conflent
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Villefranche-de-Conflent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set beside a river in Villefranche de Conflent in the French Pyrenees, this lovely old granite building once housed a power station. Today, it has four comfortable and pleasantly furnished bedrooms with attached baths. A beautiful private garden and swimming pool provide hours of relaxation. The UNESCO protected town of Villefranche de Conflent is within walking distance from the house. Plenty of cultural and sporting activities. The hosts are happy to help you tailor your visit: restaurants, activities. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Penalolen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.