We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs an Upgrade” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Royal Hotel to your Saves list
The Royal Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Hotel
Main Street, Bolton le Sands LA5 8DQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Bolton le Sands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Needs an Upgrade”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Stay here for bonfire, rooms ok need of a makeover! Tv didn't work and plumbing in bathroom not the best food ok but very small portions . Rooms do the job bed was comfy apart from
Headboard that didn't go with bed and rattled at every move! Ok for money

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    11
    6
    8
See reviews for
11
29
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LANCASTER
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

As regular visitors to the pub we have eaten there several times and been satisfied with what is, after all, pub grub.However we ate there last night and took advantage of the '2 for 1' deal on fish 'n' chips. We have had this meal previously and been very satisfied but when the meals arrived one plate had 7 small chips and the other had 8! The fish appeared to be half portions and was of poor quality. We left very disappointed and will not eat there again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bolton le Sands hotels

Morecambe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Had a nice Sunday lunch here. Food was fresh and the beef was from a very nice cut and melted in the mouth. The staff were very helpful and accommodating and came to check we were happy with our food. The pudding was nice and they had a nice selection of ales. Other reviews seem very harsh on this place. For the money it is very good value and i would be happy to recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnforth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We live locally and last ate here in the beer garden earlier this summer. Our last visit was fine, our meals were all fresh and the service good. This time however was a very different story.......

I ordered a 3 course meal from the Sunday lunch menu. My starter was the pâté - 2 VERY thin slices of pâté with some burnt, cold brown toast and a side salad slathered in coleslaw.
This had taken quite some time to arrive and then it took ages for the staff to remove this plate to bring the main courses.
Obviously the main courses had been sat waiting as the gravy was congealed on the roast dinners.
The roast dinner was very poor indeed - 2 slices of tough, dry beef, 2 new potatoes, 2 roast potatoes, 1 Yorkshire pudding and some carrot batons and peas. No seasonal veg etc.

We also ordered 2 kids meals - the burger meal consisted of a tiny thin and dry burger in a hard crusty bun (I suspect from waiting under a hot plate). There were a grand total of 5 (yes 5!) overlooked chips on the plate and a side salad slathered in coleslaw again.
The second kids meal was a steak pie, which was a few pieces of meat on a plate with some gravy on top and a puff pastry lid sat on top, this time with 7 chips and some peas.

We had waited a long time between each course and after finishing our mains and getting fed up of waiting for someone to take our plates and bring our desserts we eventually asked at the bar for the desserts. We received a less than satisfactory reply (really quite rude) and we went back to our table unhappy.
Another member of staff then came over and said that the other waitress (who had now gone home) hadn't informed anyone that we had ordered desserts!
The desserts arrived and were horrible, there was some kind of sickly sweet sauce on the plate, it was like sauce that you put on ice cream. I had the jam sponge and custard and my husband the jam sponge with ice cream - his ice cream was melted and warm! I left all of mine after the first mouthful!

There was another table of customers opposite us that we're having the same issues with their meals that we were. The restaurant was not busy so there was really no excuse for such poor food and poor service.
Not once were we asked if we were happy. We made several comments about the food in front of staff to no avail.

We have in the past eaten many meals the and have recommended it numerous times to the many visitors to the area, however I shall no longer be doing this.

A huge disappointment and waste of hard earned money.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We went for a meal here in August 2013, it was only for a quick meal so we weren't too bothered where we ate which is just as well.

The Royal Hotel is a pub/hotel but the pub area is quite dated and the tables were sticky and clearly had not been wiped down properly. If I was paying pub prices I would be willing to let this go, but the average price of a mains is £9.95 which is a lot to pay when you don't have the ambience to go with it, essentially just a pub table with no separate eating area. We had the 2 for £10 fish offer which is good value but you get what you pay for.

Not altogether unpleasant but I would not pay more for food than I did. You also have to order food at the bar, which again you don't mind for pub prices but for the price of their mains I would expect table service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Called for lunch. Had to wait over half hour, but were informed on ordering. We had roast beef dinners, they didn't have any horseradish sauce!
When questioned I was told because it was Sunday yesterday it had all gone!!!
The meat and vegetables were in good supply but apart from the potatoes and Yorkshire pudding the meal was quite bland.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Ate here on friday evening 9th Aug 13 with my wife and 11 year old. Arrived at 7.15 pm to be told that there was around an hour wait for food. As it was a nice night we decided to wait and have a drink. We took a seat and booked our meals. The bar was quite busy however the restaurant didnt seem to be over busy. I thought that the hour wait that we were told about may have been wrong and that we would be given our meals within that time. After 15 minutes waiting the waitress came and placed the cutlery on the table. How wrong was i to think that we would be served soon. At 8.45 pm, yes 8.45 our meals arrived. I had ordered 2 lasagne and 1 scampi. The scampi was nothing special and the poor attempt at a side salad was just that POOR. A little lettuce, 1/4 of a tomato and a slice of cucumber with a spoon full of coleslaw on the top. The lasagne initially looked nice, however once taken out of the bowl, there was more lasagne sheets than anything else. It was very stodgy. Same salad as per the scampi.
I would have complained but it was nearing 9pm and we decided to just eat it and leave. Our concern was that if we had complained it would be 10 oclock before we ate.

I would not recommend this for food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Main Street, Bolton le Sands LA5 8DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Bolton le Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Bolton le Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.