We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Royal Hotel to your Saves list
The Royal Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Hotel
Main Street, Bolton le Sands LA5 8DQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Bolton le Sands
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We travelled to the royal for a family event and unfortunately we had a poor experience of the hotel and it's rooms. We were allocated the family room which was based above the kitchen and stank of fat. With a new baby it was overwhelming and too much to bear. We changed rooms on our second night and finally had a good nights sleep.
In general the staff were friendly but the rooms were of sub standard and didn't contain the basic hotel requirements which you are paying for. I wouldn't recommend staying here unless it's your last option!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    11
    6
    8
See reviews for
11
29
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Nothing fancy but nice clean rooms and a good breakfast with pots of hot tea and coffee for the asking. We had an evening meal on the Friday and it was first rate - good pub grub, again no frills but big portions served on hot plates with a smile. While the pub is lively little noise finds its way up to the bedrooms.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

The hotel was very good, the room light and very clean. The staff where very attentative and helpfull and the meal we had in the evenong was first class and again good service. Sadly the breakfast was very disappointing a hot water flask to brew your own and the cooked breakfast must have been cooked ages before and just warmed, sadly would put us off going again in what is a well plced hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Booked for one night (Sat), Staff very attentive when booking in, kept our bikes safe overnight locked away, came down late for Breakfast 9.30am, left much to get on with it! Food ok but could be better presented, Tea and Coffee water from a flask, brew your own, Seems you get what you ask for rather than being offered, Basic rooms, Hot rooms but fan supplied, noisey from kitchen extractors untill 10pm, did us for one night. Not sure on the price for the whole experience!! For a stop over OK.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Nothing flash, just an honest local pub with B & B facilities. The Royal is very much the fulcrum point of the village, and when we arrived on Friday afternoon, it was reasonably busy with locals kicking off the weekend with a few jars.

Helpful & friendly welcome at the bar, and after a few minutes we were shown to our room. The whiff of polish, confirmed that their was an attention to detail, and although the room had seen better days, it was clean and functional. No freebies in the bathroom ,which is always a disappointment.

The only food that we consumed -apart from an adequate breakfast- were a few sandwiches at lunchtime, that were fine. We were staying at The Royal for a family engagement & we were delighted with the quality of service from the staff, who without exception, were friendly and helpful. We did note that the hotel was very busy serving evening meals, which would suggest that the quality of food was high.

My only gripe concerns the radiator in the bathroom, which pumped out excessive heat well into the night. We did raise this matter with the manager? but nothing happened. This led to two rather fractious nights sleep. There was some noise from departing drinkers, but nothing excessive. It is a pub after all.

Do try the Chinese restaurant across the road, which was excellent value for money, although the service was somewhat laboured. We plumped for the set menu for 6, which absolutely finished us!

Would be quite happy to stay again; preferably during the winter months when the bathroom radiator was not so much of an issue!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

We haven't stayed there as we're local, but we often go to the Royal for our tea. The food is always excellent and very good value for money. I had a vegetarian option last night and was impressed at the flavour and presentation of the dish. Staff always interested and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Last minute break with October sun. Chose this Hotel as it is close to Lancaster, Lake District and the Coast. From arrival to when we left ,the staff were friendly and professional. The room was clean, comfortable and adequate for our 1 night stay. The evening menue didnt disapoint, with a good choise and the lamb was exellent. Plenty of local people eat at this hotel and is allways a good sign. We stayed over saturday night and there was a good atmosphere in the bar which the beers/lagers matched! A full english breakfast completed our stay and again no complaints, combine this with nice wallks as the Hotel backs onto the toepath of the lacashire canal and this was a very enjoyable break within 15mins of Morcombe Bay!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Main Street, Bolton le Sands LA5 8DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Bolton le Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Bolton le Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.