We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service - Just when you need it!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dog Inn and Cottages

The Dog Inn and Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chipping Sodbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dog Inn and Cottages
Save
You added The Dog Inn and Cottages to your Saves list
Old Sodbury, Chipping Sodbury BS37 6LY, England   |  
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brackley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Service - Just when you need it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

What a lovely friendly bunch of people, we broke down on our way home from Cornwall (traveling to Oxford) and this was fortunately near by after "just" making it off the motorway to a garage. The landlady let us use her phone to call the rescue service and gave us a card to give them all the info to find us and the telephone no. for them to call back on. During the wait we decided we would order some food and wow it was yummy :o), not a scrap was left by any of us including our 8 yr old Daughter. All we can say is thank you so much for your kind hospitality and yummy food. Shame your not closer!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    16
    2
    4
    6
See reviews for
15
16
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Giethoorn
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

During our walking holiday through the Cotswolds we stayed in the Dog Inn.
The staff was very welcoming, the food was excellent and the atmosphere marvellous. We even joined in the weekly pub quiz.
The Dog Inn is a pub which also has a number of rooms behind the building. The rooms are situated behind the pub in such a way that noise from the pub does not disturbs those using the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

On arrival the setting was very pleasant, and ideally placed as we were attending a wedding at the church just 2 minutes up the road. After dropping our bags off in the room, which was room 1 on the ground floor of the cottage we decided to go for a meal in the pub. I ordered a steak baguette for £7.95, the waiter came over to tell me the steak was now beef and is this ok, having agreed to this we waited a little while longer and then a waitress came over to inform me they had ran out of baguettes and would bread be ok. IFeeling £8.00 was a little excessive for a beef butty I decided to change my order to Garlic chicken and chips, which was fairly nice but certainly nothing to be amazed by. This set off the tone for our 2 night stay at the Dog Inn. Our double room consisted of 2 single beds pushed together and 2 single duveys, I found myself waking up several times in the night having lost a leg through the gap between the beds. We were then woken up at 6.50am by what sounded like a tumble dryer in the utility room which is right behind the wall at the head of the beds, this lasted for a good hour. We later got out of bed and drew our curtains to find a conservatory of people eating breakfast who could see right into our room.
We returned to our room after the wedding at midnight and managed to get an hours sleep before the people staying in the room directly above came in and decided to walk around causing all the floorboards to creak and bang. After finally getting back to sleep the good old dryer started up again at 6.50am on a Sunday morning for an hour. This topped with the cobwebs and spiders living in the bathroom made for a dull experience of the Dog Inn and I certainly wont be staying there again.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 1 at all costs!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

we popped in when we had snow very welcoming we had small puppy... Log fires burning was a nice experience staff were amazing .. we have been back with dog for drinks several times.. b&b looks nice and evening meals are varied and mmmmmmmmmmm 100% recommend nice stop over friendly staff excellent food and good beer wine etc

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I was looking for a place to stay one night for a wedding, and this Inn stood out on TripAdvisor.

Needless to say, it was worth the visit. The rooms were clean (I mean, *really* clean!), the staff were friendly and helpful, the bed was very comfy - and the cooked breakfast in the morning was delicious.

They also took the effort to go out of their way to buy some gluten-free cereal (for my wife), as I mentioned her dietary requirements on the phone a few days earlier. Top stuff!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warks
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The hosts were absolutely charming. The pub grub menu was extremely good. the food arrived very prompt and was excellent value for money. Reasonable accommodation and cosy friendly breakfast.
We would not hesitate to return.
P&B. Stratford upon Avon

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Rock Cottage is delightful. Ask for a room away from the busy road.
The Cottage and the Inn shake each time a large truck goes past.
wifi is available in the Inn, but not in the cottages.

The Dog Inn has an extensive menu of fish dishes. My wife ordered parsley and garlic mussels and a bowl of white rice. The mussels arrived with no noticeable parsley or garlic and the rice was dyed yellow with turmeric. My wife was then told that white rice could not be provided. This should have been said when the order was initially taken. The rice was refunded.

I ordered cod and salmon bake from the specials menu. This was acceptable. Others in our group ordered chicken and mushroom from the specials menu. It was overly basic, just fried chicken and mushroom with no sauce.

The breakfast provided in the cottage was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dog Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dog Inn and Cottages

Address: Old Sodbury, Chipping Sodbury BS37 6LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Sodbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Sodbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
The Dog Inn And Cottages Chipping Sodbury, Cotswolds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dog Inn and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.