We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Change in ownership, decline in quality” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hostellerie des Corbieres

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hostellerie des Corbieres to your Saves list
Hostellerie des Corbieres
9 boulevard de la Promenade, 11220 Lagrasse, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Lagrasse B&B and Inns
Montferrand, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Change in ownership, decline in quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2007

Since I wrote a review April 23, 2006, the owners have changed. They have a 15 Euro menu at lunch which is so-so (with no choices) and above that, a menu at 25 with 3 choices for entree, main dish and dessert. They have added a vegetarian menu at 20 Euros and there are others in the 30 Euro range.

While the food was good, it wasn't exceptional as it was under the previous owners (where you had 6 choices for entree, main dish and dessert). The service was fine.

One caveat: You can no longer park in front of the hotel/restaurant. It is reserved for permit holders who are residents of Lagrasse. We received a parking fine, even though the hotel still has the "Hotel Parking" sign up and even a copy of their menu posted in the parking lot. A phone call to the "Mairie" (town hall) to complain got no sympathy other than to say the parking restrictions are only for the summer season. Don't count on it!

Finally, the Hostellerie des Corbieres has made it into this year's Michelin Guide, obviously based on the previous owners' accomplishments....

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    5
    11
    0
See reviews for
10
24
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2006

We decided on Lagrasse after visiting Carcasonne. It was a good decision - away from the bustling traffic and city. We found this hotel from the Logis de France directory. There was ample parking opposite the hotel. We paid about 70+ Euros for b&b.

The room was adequate with a ceiling fan and bare board with carpets. The bathroom works but the shower unit could do with upgrading. But all that was easily forgiven for the food was really first class.

I had the fish soup as starter with bits of langoustine meat - one of the tastiest I've had. The quality of cooking went on. Even the cheese was well thought up - the goat cheese had a dribble of honey on it, marvellous.

The service was attentive, good and above all, the meal arrived at a relaxing pace.

I will definitely stay there again, just for the food.

  • Disliked — the grubby shower unit
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
316 helpful votes 316 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2006

We ate here twice during a week's house-rental in Lagrasse. The food is good ("modern French provincial" is the best description I can give), the service is excellent and knowledgeable, and the welcome warm. The restaurant feels pleasantly formal and correct. English spoken.

There is a little terrace at the back overlooking vineyards, which is lovely, but has only a few tables. It was full the first time we went, so we made a point of prebooking a table there for our next visit - well worth the effort.

This is not a particularly cheap place to eat, but the prices reflect the quality, although wine prices can be a bit steep. Our two meals cost 85 euros and 73 euros respectively, including wine and aperitifs.

We tried some other places in Lagrasse - Les Trois Graces, and Les Temps des Courges. These are cheaper more laid-back bistro-ey places, but both well worth visiting. The only place we would not go back to is one of the cafes on the Promenade (forgotten the name, but it's the one farthest away from the Hotel des Corbieres). Dull food and not cheap.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenfarg, Scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2005

If you want the ideal base, within one of the prettiest villages in France, for a holiday in the Languedoc, then this is the ideal place. A 6-bedroom hotel, with an excellent restaurant.

Website is http://hostelleriecorbieres.free.fr/anglais/a_accueil.php

Jean-Marc and Lyndsay are wonderful hosts and have friendly and attentive staff.

If you want satellite TVs, minibars etc, then this is not the place for you. If you want true, genuine French village hospitality and style, then you'd be struggling to find better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostellerie des Corbieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie des Corbieres

Address: 9 boulevard de la Promenade, 11220 Lagrasse, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Aude > Lagrasse
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lagrasse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hostellerie des Corbieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Des Corbieres Lagrasse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostellerie des Corbieres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.