We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel - even better restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostellerie des Corbieres

Save Saved
You added Hostellerie des Corbieres to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostellerie des Corbieres
9 boulevard de la Promenade, 11220 Lagrasse, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Lagrasse B&B and Inns
Dublin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“lovely hotel - even better restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

I stayed here with my wife and young son after a two weeks house rental in an area close by.

Our stay at the hotel, which we used as a base to explore Lagrasse and the area, was more than we had anticipeted. When we arrived to check in, there was a large local party having lunch around a large table. The smells coming from the kitchen were incredible. We ate in the dining room on the two nights we stayed and wish we could have stayed longer.

The accommodation was simple but with lovely touches and I felt very happy to be staying in such understated settings. The couple who run the place were warm, hospitable and made every effort to make our stay comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    4
    9
    0
See reviews for
9
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
paris
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

We stayed at this hotel en famille for a wedding in a nearby village. It's a pleasant base for visiting the area, and Lagrasse itself is very pretty with remains of an historic abbey. It's one of those standard family run hotels you find throughout the French provinces. This one is perhaps a bit better kept and charming than the average. Ask for a room on the back, quiter and with a nicer view. The bathrooms are very good, with modern Italian fixtures and tiling. We weren't wild about the restaurant but other diners seemed happy. It's all a bit nouvelle-y with sauces arrayed in designs and spices dusted on the edge of the plate. I thought that died in the 1990's. When I'm in the country I'd prefer have something local and rustic. Frankly, I've eaten better for less in Paris. But as I said, the other diners seemed thrilled at the cleverness of it all. I would note that they do have a vegetarian menu, which in much of France is heresy. There are other places in the village to eat, but we didn't have time to try them. One warning: they have an Ameriacn Express sticker on the door, but when I tried to pay with my Amex, they told me they only take Visa/MC. Beware.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise from occasional traffic (if you are in front rooms)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montferrand, France
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2007

Since I wrote a review April 23, 2006, the owners have changed. They have a 15 Euro menu at lunch which is so-so (with no choices) and above that, a menu at 25 with 3 choices for entree, main dish and dessert. They have added a vegetarian menu at 20 Euros and there are others in the 30 Euro range.

While the food was good, it wasn't exceptional as it was under the previous owners (where you had 6 choices for entree, main dish and dessert). The service was fine.

One caveat: You can no longer park in front of the hotel/restaurant. It is reserved for permit holders who are residents of Lagrasse. We received a parking fine, even though the hotel still has the "Hotel Parking" sign up and even a copy of their menu posted in the parking lot. A phone call to the "Mairie" (town hall) to complain got no sympathy other than to say the parking restrictions are only for the summer season. Don't count on it!

Finally, the Hostellerie des Corbieres has made it into this year's Michelin Guide, obviously based on the previous owners' accomplishments....

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2006

We decided on Lagrasse after visiting Carcasonne. It was a good decision - away from the bustling traffic and city. We found this hotel from the Logis de France directory. There was ample parking opposite the hotel. We paid about 70+ Euros for b&b.

The room was adequate with a ceiling fan and bare board with carpets. The bathroom works but the shower unit could do with upgrading. But all that was easily forgiven for the food was really first class.

I had the fish soup as starter with bits of langoustine meat - one of the tastiest I've had. The quality of cooking went on. Even the cheese was well thought up - the goat cheese had a dribble of honey on it, marvellous.

The service was attentive, good and above all, the meal arrived at a relaxing pace.

I will definitely stay there again, just for the food.

  • Disliked — the grubby shower unit
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2006

We ate here twice during a week's house-rental in Lagrasse. The food is good ("modern French provincial" is the best description I can give), the service is excellent and knowledgeable, and the welcome warm. The restaurant feels pleasantly formal and correct. English spoken.

There is a little terrace at the back overlooking vineyards, which is lovely, but has only a few tables. It was full the first time we went, so we made a point of prebooking a table there for our next visit - well worth the effort.

This is not a particularly cheap place to eat, but the prices reflect the quality, although wine prices can be a bit steep. Our two meals cost 85 euros and 73 euros respectively, including wine and aperitifs.

We tried some other places in Lagrasse - Les Trois Graces, and Les Temps des Courges. These are cheaper more laid-back bistro-ey places, but both well worth visiting. The only place we would not go back to is one of the cafes on the Promenade (forgotten the name, but it's the one farthest away from the Hotel des Corbieres). Dull food and not cheap.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenfarg, Scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2005

If you want the ideal base, within one of the prettiest villages in France, for a holiday in the Languedoc, then this is the ideal place. A 6-bedroom hotel, with an excellent restaurant.

Website is http://hostelleriecorbieres.free.fr/anglais/a_accueil.php

Jean-Marc and Lyndsay are wonderful hosts and have friendly and attentive staff.

If you want satellite TVs, minibars etc, then this is not the place for you. If you want true, genuine French village hospitality and style, then you'd be struggling to find better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostellerie des Corbieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie des Corbieres

Address: 9 boulevard de la Promenade, 11220 Lagrasse, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Aude > Lagrasse
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lagrasse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hostellerie des Corbieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Des Corbieres Lagrasse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostellerie des Corbieres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.