We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but some things could be better!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Roald Dahl Museum and Story Centre

The Roald Dahl Museum and Story Centre
81-83 High Street, Great Missenden HP16 0AL, England
01494 892192
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This great little award-winning and family-friendly Museum contains two fun and fact-packed biographical galleries, the fantabulous interactive Story Centre and a sunny courtyard. Situated in Great Missenden where Roald Dahl lived for over 36 years, it was created as a home for the author’s archive (which visitors can see on our regular tours) and as a place to inspire creativity and a love of reading in children, about which Roald Dahl was passionate.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Not bad but some things could be better!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My partner and I visited during February half term during a short break in the Chilterns and we both thought the museum was very interesting. You can't miss it from the road, being painted lilac, with charaters and quotes from Roald Dahl's books. It was lovely to see the writers hut in which so many wonderful stories were composed and also the gates from the Charlie and Chocolate Factory movie of 2005.
The cafe was nice, with more memorabilia and good selection of food and drinks but my main problem was the shop. I know it was half term, but it was way too small and was hard to look at anything because you were carried along in the queue. I was also a tad disappointed because at other similar museums (Beatrix Potter/Agatha Christie Greenway House) they stamp your book as a souvinear of your visit. I asked if they did something similar here and was told no, but its a good idea! Its a shame because books sold like you would buy at WH Smiths, especially for foreign visitors.

There is a Roald Dahl trail you can do around Great Missenden and see his Grave in the Parish Church (a good walk or 10m drive from Museum), the petrol station which inspired "Danny the Champion of the World", the Post Office, The Library where Matilda went when her mom played bingo and Dean House (inspiration for the norphanage in BFG). Great Missenden is a pretty village and lovely to have a walk around and has some nice small shops, including an old fashioned sweet shop opposite the museum!!

Parking is limited to the station, a small car park off the main road in and on-street. Watch out that you put enough money on on the pay and display as traffic wardens were active! We did though.

Enjoy sampling a bit of the real and fictional Dahl and take your camera too!!!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    78
    35
    24
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Glad I didn't pay more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is probably better as a school trip rather than a family outing. Well laid out but not much here. could easily do it all in an hour. Best bit is the cafe

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brimfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Dahl as Ditchwater”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

You'd think that with this sort of raw material it'd be a whizzpopper of a museum and not a damp squib but.... Having visited several years ago with younger children who were pretty much enthralled by the sight of a cartoon of the BFG we hoped that a new visit with the relocated original writers hut would inspire the now older children to literary rapture. Unfortunately as their appetites and interests have grown the same can't be said for the museum. The staff told us on our arrival that much had changed since our last visit but, other than the admittedly fascinating writing hut, you'd be hard pushed to notice anything other than the relocation of Willy Wonka's film costume! Disappointingly short of the mark as a celebration of one of the finest writers of the Twentieth Century and a better legacy lies in the hearts of readers than in bricks and mortar.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An Enjoyable day out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Visited here on the february half term so was really busy and long que, but this is expected giving that it is half term. Cost about £11 for me and my 6 year old daughter and i would say this is about right,woudn't want to pay anymore. The musuem is quite small, but there is alot of information considering its a small musuem, If you are a Roald Dahl fan then this is a must. The cafe is a little expensive as these places always are, there is a nice seating area in the courtyard so could take your own food/picnic. there is a room where children can do arts and crafts, a quiz while were walking round and you get a little prize at the end if you complete the quiz/correct answers. Story telling takes place too. Overall a enjoyable time and great for children of the age where they are reading in school and enjoy reading.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Better than I expected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We took the kids here and came away feeling very satisfied. We learnt a great deal about an amazing story teller and had a great time overall. Only watch outs were that parking was a nightmare, we had to use the local train station car park and the cafe was very busy and not very well organised. Didn't detract from a good day out!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Roald Dahl Museum and Story Centre also viewed

 
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Roald Dahl Museum and Story Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roald Dahl Museum and Story Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.