We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms nothing special but good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Missenden Abbey Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Missenden Abbey Conference Centre to your Saves list
Missenden Abbey Conference Centre
London Road, Great Missenden HP16 0BD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Missenden
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Rooms nothing special but good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Pros: cheap, very close to Great Missenden, lovely Abbey (main building), well-stocked bar with friendly staff, free internet, great wedding venue, pretty grounds, solid breakfast

Cons: ugly additional building with small rooms more akin to University halls of residence, early breakfast and checkout (though late check-out possible for a fee).

Conclusion: we were there for a wedding and this venue was perfect. The rooms aren't particularly nice but the location and value outweighs this.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    35
    33
    11
    13
See reviews for
11
21
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chesham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had our wedding at Missenden Abbey on the 21st September 2013 and can honestly say we loved every minute of it. Our guests couldn't say enough of how professional and polite all of the staff were. We were advised our wedding co-ordinator 10 days before our wedding that she was leaving, so we were a bit nervous as what to expect, however we were that Cathy would co-ordinate our, and I have to say from the minute of meeting her I knew everything would be fine. We cannot praise Cathy and her team enough, they had absolutely everything under control. from the. food to helping me out of the car, to advising us where we needed to be when. The rest of the staff were polite and funny but respectful. We chose Missenden Abbey as it is a beautiful venue inside and out. And we were lucky to have a good day so made the most of the gardens after the wedding. Nothing was too much trouble, any suggestions we made were noted and acted on. I cannot thank Cathy enough for taking charge before the wedding and setting up all the decorations ect, freeing up my husband time. Yes some of the rooms in the external block, probably could do with a bit of work on them, which I 'm sure will happen in time, but for one night and at the good rate our guests really didn't mind. Our bridal suite was lovely, breakfast in the morning was hot and delicious and plenty of it. We will be looking out to see what events they have in the new year to go back. Had a brilliant day staff wonderful cannot fault the venue.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed here the night before a conference. Room small, no way would two people fit in here. It was very basic but clean. Staff were okay but were nothing to shout about. A good hotel can be determined by three things.
1/ a comfortable bed..this was okay it was a small double. I could here people in the rooms around me, so not good sound proofing.
2/ a good shower - okay, not powerful but towels were at least fluffy.
3/ breakfast - had better, not much choice and staff were no where to be seen.
This is cheap and you get what you pay for, I wouldn't go out of my way to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I did attach this letter to Missendens sales office on Friday 6th September, you have not answered. this makes a total of two emails and two Royal mail letters with no reply.

On the night of Monday 2nd September I went to my room “Abbey 2” to sleep, I had been up since 06:00. At 22:00 when I lay down to sleep I could not due to a constant humming noise which sounded like a cross between a deisel engine/vaccum cleaner/a shower fan.

I wrapped myself a large white towel and left my room to see where the noise might be coming from, The electricity room behind my headboard was unlocked so I entered to see if the noise was coming from there. There was no noise from there. I was aware of the ducting adjacent to the electrical cabinet. I switched the fridge in the room off momantary to see if that could be the solution to stop the noise. It was not, as doing so made no difference to the humming. I knew the hum was more intense than a domestic refrigerator.

I returned towards my room and towards the fire extingisher station next to my door. I opened the door above the fire extinguisher and the noise was clearly audible within the brick void.

At this point I was so fatigued I decided to pack my case and leave the room for the reception as I could not stand to be in this room knowing I would need a full nights sleep for my next full working day of training at Missenden Abbey.

I arrived at the reception at 22:20, the security guard asked if I lived local, My journey had taken me 2 hours to travel to Missenden Abbey that very morning. He then phoned who I presume was his mamagement? To ask what to do as there were no available rooms to move me to. I even asked if you had any ear plugs.

An Irish Manager came to the reception and followed me carrying my own bags and case back up to my room to try and work out what the noise was. I said that it sounded like a vaccum cleaner and he said that staff were finishing off in the restaurant below and this could be the issue of the noise. When we entered the hallway, outside my room the noise was completely apparent. He then said that it could be the fans in the kitchen and he would go and ask the chef to turn them off.

This noise did not cease all night long. This noise could still be heard with my head under the water in the bath in the morning.

In the morning the receptionist took my key from me, she did not ask me if my stay was pleseant or comfortable or even thank me for the custom!

The stay at Missenden Abbey had made me feel unwell, through exhaustion and lack of sleep.

I would say that Missenden Abbey Management have purposefully ignored my letters, - in return I will make sure that I will make every opportunity to not say a good word about Missenden Abbey!

Room Tip: Not Abbey 2!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Great Missenden hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

If you are disabled check the exits they are to small for a wheelchair to get out off, so you can only use 1 door to get out off
They say they can have up to 300 people attending check your fire route
Toilets are another matter only 2 for the men's told there was only three for the ladies.
And no baby changing area.
Reception staff are not interested in what you say.
The only person interested
Was the night porter What a very nice man !!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights for a conference. As previous reviewers have said, it's okay for single delegates as the 'double bed' was squashed against the wall and no space for bedside table. Bed was comfortable but room was very warm despite having the window open all night. Bathroom was small and dated. Shower was feeble. Yes corridors were dated and in need of updating perhaps but everything was very clean.

Breakfast was usual cold or hot buffet and plenty of it. Had a bar meal first evening - typical bar menu but was very good VfM and sit down dinner second evening - very good. All the staff were helpful and friendly but I think they could do with some customer service focus training. Little things like clearing tables in the conference room at lunch time and refilling water etc. small points but would have made a difference.

Overall a good stay but some improvements could make a big difference.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Missenden Abbey is a conference centre. As such, the majority of the rooms are cubicles for single delegates staying overnight while attending a conference. The rooms are too small for a couple to stay in for a comfortable weekend break. Beds are three quarter doubles. We also found the room and corridors quite scruffy with marks on walls and scratched doorplates.
We were attending a wedding and asked why we had been put into a single room. We were told that this was a standard double room and no other rooms were available.
Most of those attending the wedding felt the rooms were too small. Those with children were given blow up airbeds to put at the foot of their bed. Guests had to ask for extra towels, pillows, etc.
Though the centre is pleasant enough, the food good and the building is set in attractive grounds, we felt we should warm others who may be considering booking the venue for a wedding event with guests staying over.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Missenden Abbey Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Missenden Abbey Conference Centre

Address: London Road, Great Missenden HP16 0BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Great Missenden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Missenden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Missenden Abbey Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Missenden Abbey Conference Centre Hotel Great Missenden
Missenden Abbey Conference Centre Great Missenden, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.