We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps the best in Kefalonia? A gem to discover, with fabulous views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Agrapidos

Taverna Agrapidos
Pano Apo to Limani Tou Porou, Poros 28086, Greece
+30(0)26740 72480
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Poros
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perhaps the best in Kefalonia? A gem to discover, with fabulous views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We drove all the way from Argostoli to experience Agrapidos located just beyond the Poros Port, tucked away atop a hill. Indeed, it was well worth the drive, even for a light lunch. We were greeted by Gerasimos,the owner, who took our order, cooked it for us and then served it- you cannot get better hospitality and genuineness than this.

The food was prepared with the freshest ingredients, olive oil and oregano that you can truly taste, and the meals were exquisite. We had an appetizer of grilled vegetables, and our main dishes were sea bream fish ( Tsipoura in Greek) , sardines and a fresh batch of greens
( "Horta") drizzled in olive oil & lemon. Out best meal in Kefalonia in years, even as a light lunch.

Gerasimos has worked here since 1981, where his late grandfather taught him the tricks of authentic Greek island cuisine. Gerasimos mentions that he is actually open all year round, so clearly the local love him as well.

Prices are also very reasonable and this was just an extra bonus.

As for getting there: it is atop a hill directly facing the Poros Port where the large ferries dock, so it is West of the port. Just follow the only road out of the port, leaving for Argotoli, going west. You can park at the port then walk, but it is a good 15 minute hike up the road going west- just follow the well placed "white with blue writing" signs for Agropidas. The first is large and located at the port and reads, "Agropidas, 500M" with the arrow pointing you to the direction. If you drive- 2 minutes. Again, just follow the signs and pass the steps on your first hill driving up, and then shortly thereafter you will see a sign to make a sharp right, then keep following the signs for Agropidas up a steep, but easily passable narrow road. Park anywhere on the side of the resto when you arrive on top.

Enjoy the fabulous hill top views of Poros Port, the mountains, Ithaki and the Greek Mainland; but of course, enjoy Gerasimo's warm hospitality and fabulous food. I am very glad we came here during the quit season, however, I am sure the experience is juts as exceptional during the peak season.

Enjoy this gem, especially during this quiet time of year. I have proved some pics for you to fathom.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    15
    4
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Astonishing taverna - best in Cephalonia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I just happened upon this place while exploring the island - we were looking for somewhere to eat, saw a stairway up the mountain with a little sign, and thought we'd give it a go.

So glad we did. The view is breathtaking, and there's no way I can do it justice here - 270 degrees of view, halfway up a mountain, overlooking the port and the village, with mountains, and sea, and islands and forest as a backdrop. Even if the food was bad, we thought, we'd have gotten our money's worth from the view alone.

The food, however, was spectacular - quite simple, not at all fussy, but the freshest ingredients, prepared beautifully. We started with toasted bread with tomatoes, olive oil and herbs and a large plate of mezze, and spent the next 15 minutes groaning. Absolutely awesome. My girlfriend ate a rooster pasta dish for main and promptly declared it one of the best things she'd ever put in her face.

This was by far the best food we'd eaten on the island, the owners were incredibly friendly, and it has the greatest view I've ever seen. If you go to Cephalonia, make sure you go here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patras, Greece
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Greek as it is Eaten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

In its class of traditional 'no frills', well-cooked Greek food this 3rd generation restaurant is excellent. Most of the produce comes from their own local farm just up the hill (not the fish, naturally) and is beautifully fresh. I particularly enjoyed the rabbit in lemon sauce and the fried whitebait. The availability of large fish (sea bream, etc.) varies - we once had swordfish steaks.
Of course, you can go to Skala and pay a lot more for a plusher location and more artistically presented dishes, but that's another story.
The house white wine is very drinkable, the red is also nice. I didn't get round to the rose!
The atmosphere is friendly, verging on the hilarious swapping quips with Makis - who will also talk you through the menu in detail. And my Greek wife much enjoyed chatting with little Francesca - a very lively child!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Greek home cooking, the real thing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

3 of us dined here at sunset and this place is well worth seeking out if you want to try some traditional Greek food, as it should be served.

Home made wine, fresh seafood, meat and pasta are all excellent and you really get the feel of a traditional taverna, unspoilt by tourism.

Situated up on the side of a hill in the harbour, it is well signposted from the main road, and the hand written menus only add to the charm.

It is places like this that really make your trip worthwhile and you feel you are seeing some of how food on the island really is served.

Worth a visit and I would definitely go again, the next time I am in Poros.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great greek food in great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is just the best place to eat in Poros! lovely family of Micky and Maria to look after you and great views over the harbour. I have travelled all over Greece but this restaurant and town is just the best place to be! Definitely worth the visit as I have many times

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Agrapidos also viewed

 
Poros, Cephalonia
 

Been to Taverna Agrapidos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Agrapidos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.