We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of a kind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Agrapidos

Taverna Agrapidos
Pano Apo to Limani Tou Porou, Poros 28086, Greece
+30(0)26740 72480
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Poros
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dallas, North Carolina
1 review
“one of a kind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a great little restaurant, with excellent service, fab views from the balcony and terrific food. It is also really good value. We went twice: The food is traditional in style, very fresh, really well cooked and very tasty. You don't feel rushed through the courses. If you are in the area you should give this place a go!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    15
    4
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Become one of the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This family run tavern perched high about Poros harbour became one of our favourite places to eat. We were staying in Skala but preferred to drive to Poros in the evening as it was less commercialised. Taverna Agrapidos is run by a lovely family and there young daughter makes it very special and will help to look after you.
The food is very good particularly the large meze, beef stew, souvlaki and mousaka and the bill extremely good value about Euro 75 for 6 people including drinks. Go in the evening to watch the sunset.
You don't have to climb the steps - you can drive up and park right outside.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth the many steps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We drove past this Taverna on our way from Skala to Sami one day and on returning to Poros in the evening decided to make a visit after the restaurants in the main harbor area didn't really impress us.
First of all, don't be put off by the climb, its up high on the hill side and you will climb up 50 or so steps. There should be a free glass of wine to make it to the top.
Once there we were greeted by the family warmly and given the choice of any table we liked, we were the only ones there at this point.
The view over Poros is amazing so its worth going if only for a coffee, but you will miss out if you don't eat.
We wanted a mixed meat meze but this wasn't on the menu (Hand written in school exercise books, brilliant) however this wasn't a problem as the chef came out and said we can have whatever we liked.
So we had a small mixed meze, which consisted of various specialties, the char-grilled pepper was lovely and the tzatziki was especially good. They asked if we wanted some bread which we did and out came 5 huge doorstep slabs of toasted bread with olive oil, oregano, salt and tomato. It was really really good. Then the meat meze arrived, which probably could have fed an entire village. There was lamb chops, chicken souvlaki, pork souvlaki, local sausage, beef, and all piled on top a large portion of chips. It was delicious but we struggled to finish it. Not that this was a problem as it was boxed up and we took it away with us. Enough for sandwiches for the next 3 days.
When we left the whole family was at the top of the steps and stood up to say goodbye, which was a really nice touch.
If you want a genuine traditional Greek meal with homegrown produce that is ridiculously cheap then make sure you pay this place a visit, its well worth the climb.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Made to feel like one one of the family!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

What can I say? If you're looking for the perfect Greek traditional hospitality, atmosphere and amazing fresh food you have to visit here. We stumbled across Taverna Agrapidos on our way out of Poros on the Skala road. It's up on the right as you leave Poros and the views are amazing!! We stopped there for a coffee but couldn't wait to return and sample the food in the evening. That night we were the only people there but don't let this put you off you have an amazing view and a lovely family for company who can't do enough for you! The restaurant is run by Mikey and Maria assisted by their beautiful daughter Francesca (aged 3) who might bring your bread to your table for you and give you a flower if you're lucky! Mikey works on his farm during the day which produces the food and wine for the restaurant, hence the fresh tasty ingredients. The history and scene is set in the Menu which is a hand written school exercise book which tells of how the Restaurant has been run by generations of the family. The food is fantastic and is very reasonably priced. We had the Meze which had a combination of fish, cheese, salad, home grown beetroot, olives and dips. Together with the chicken in wine special and chips and a gorgeous Greek salad. All the food was outstanding traditional food and was fantastic value for money. After our meal we were then invited in to sit and watch the England quarter final with Mikey and Maria where we sat for the game chatting and drinking like old friends!!
The bill, well this came to a shameful 32 Euro which, after all the food and hospitality I would have paid double!!
Mikey if you're reading this thank you for the best night!! We left you feeling like we'd made new friends and we'll definitely be back! Kisses for Maria and Francesca xx

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Agrapidos also viewed

 
Poros, Cephalonia
 

Been to Taverna Agrapidos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Agrapidos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.