We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only one drawback - only stayed one night!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cresthaven By The Sea , A Waterfront B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maitland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cresthaven By The Sea , A Waterfront B&B
Save
You added Cresthaven By The Sea , A Waterfront B&B to your Saves list
19 Ferry Lane, Maitland, Nova Scotia B0N 1T0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Maitland B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Only one drawback - only stayed one night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Seriously, only one thing wrong with our stay at Crestaven - we'd only booked the one night. A beautiful property in a stunning spot, plus delightful, welcoming hosts made our one night's stay in this B&B more like staying with friends. Our first time in NS and we would thoroughly recommend staying at this peaceful, relaxing spot. Spotlessly clean and very comfortable, made all the nicer by the girls' muffins and a fresh jar of coffee by the log fire in the evening, the stunning view accross the water and the easy convdersation with Warren and Catherine (the owners) and our fellow guests (who, it had transpired, been on the same flight to Halifax as us). Would definitely go back.
If you're not sure about staying here then check out the Facebook clip of the piper on the porch. Sums the place up to a tee.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
31
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
victoria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011 via mobile

This was our first stop in nova scotia, it is very close to Halifax and was very easy to find. The host are lovely and offered to make us a pot of tea and loaned us a cutting oard to cut our food. The location is just FANTASTIC and the breakfast yummy. Very warm and easy going hosts. The rooms are spotless with very roomy bathrooms There is only one restaurant in town which close early so bring a nice baguette and cheese
and sit outside and watch the tide do it's magic on your
soul. The pictures on the web do not lie, if anything it
does not do justice to the place.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hyde Park, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Excellent Inn, accommodations were clean> Room with view was bright and reasonable size. Hosts were wonderful and made us feel at home.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

The Yull's were gracious hosts. The Inn sits on a quiet knoll high above the river. We had a nice view of the tide going and coming, the eagles fishing, and remants of the Acadian dikes. We loved the fire in the evening and the warm hospitality. Our room was clean and modern with nice views from the room Two days in Maitland was right. Don't miss the opporutnity to surf the tides and try to go when they are high. Save time to sit on the lawn and watch the river. Haddock in Nova Scotia is wonderful. Read about the Adadians before you arrive.

Room Tip: we liked the large up stairs room for three
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Quiet, picturesque location, comfortable, lovely. Warren was a great host and a good cook. He was a wealth of local knowledge.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

Cresthaven is a lovely B&B. It is situated on a beautiful piece of property with a great view of the tidal bore. The rooms are well decorated and comfortable. We stayed in Eagle's View - the bed was very comfortable and the view of the outside was nice. Catherine and Warren Yull were great hosts. The breakfast the next morning was very good. For dinner, there is nothing available in Maitland; we drove about 20 minutes to a local Tidal Bore boating place that served dinner, which was not very good. There is a convenience store within walking distance of the inn with a few staples. Overall, we had a very nice visit, comfortable stay and would recommend this in to anyone looking for a quiet, beautiful place to enjoy the area and the tidal bore.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

Lovely view across the river, great for watching the tidal bore. Lovely lounge with open fire. We enjoyed a lovely seafood evening meal and great breakfast. Rooms are great - nice mod cons. Large bathroom. One or two aspects need a bit more attention in terms of cleanliness. Apart from that it is great! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cresthaven By The Sea , A Waterfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cresthaven By The Sea , A Waterfront B&B

Address: 19 Ferry Lane, Maitland, Nova Scotia B0N 1T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Maitland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Maitland
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cresthaven By the Sea, a spectacular 4 star waterfront bed and breakfast is the jewel of the Fundy Shore. An 1850's ship builder's home meets modern luxury and comfort. Each suite is complimented with a queen bed and full, private ensuite and spectacular views of the worlds highest tides. Our guests are invited to relax and mingle around our wood burning fireplace in the greatroom, or watch the tidal bore and eagles soar while sitting in our adirondack chairs at the water's edge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Nova Scotia
Nova Scotia Country Inn
Cresthaven By The Sea , A Waterfront B&B Maitland, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cresthaven By The Sea , A Waterfront B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.