We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Foley House Inn

Foley House Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Foley House Inn to your Saves list
Foley House Inn
11 Cedar Rd, Maitland, Nova Scotia B0N 1T0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Maitland B&B and Inns
New Jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We had great hosts - very friendly people, and clean rooms. The B&B is on a side street, less than a block from the water. There's not a huge selection of things to do or places to eat in Maitland, but the suggestion of the approximately 20 minute drive to Truro was terrific!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foleyhouseinn, Owner at Foley House Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to make it " A Home away from Home."
Thanks once again.

Joan and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
whitewood, sk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

great hosts, well appointed rooms. Ours was a bit small (cant remember teh name but was pink. . .), but had all that we needed. very friendly hosts, and a fantastic breakfast as well. very close to river rafting. no fault of the b+b but there is no where to eat in this town after 5!!!! we had to drive back to truro to eat supper after the 5pm raft trip. . ..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foleyhouseinn, Owner at Foley House Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We enjoyed having you folks and hope to see you again on your next trip to Nova Scotia.


Joan and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elora, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We spent our final night in Nova Scotia at Foley House - the room was very homey, comfortable and well appointed. We wiled away away our evening on one of the spacious verandahs and enjoyed the quiet of small town Nova Scotia. Having wifi available was a nice touch as well. John and Joan were great hosts and very knowledgeable about the area and made us feel at home. Breakfast in the morning was excellent. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foleyhouseinn, Owner at Foley House Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
It was a pleasure to welcome you to our Inn and pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The Foley House was our first stop to our vacation in Nova Scotia - we picked it because of the great reviews on this site. We were in for a treat!

First, the B&B itself was beautiful and we had a very confortable room with a great view (we slept like babies - it was so quiet outside!); breakfast was delicious and copious.

About John and Joan: what a lovely couple! They made us feel at home right away and gave us some excellent ideas of places to visit on their side of NS, such as Noel Shores and the surrounding areas.

Next time to NS, we will definitely go back there!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foleyhouseinn, Owner at Foley House Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
It was a pleasure to welcome you both to our Inn, and hope that you enjoyed the balance of your stay in Nova Scotia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

John & Joan, our hosts at the Foley House, were most accommodating and personable. We felt like we were at home with our own parents. It was a lovely, comfortable home close to tidal bore rafting.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foleyhouseinn, Owner at Foley House Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Glad to see you enjoyed your visit with us and hope you had a pleasant visit to the Maritime s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

This was our second visit to the Foley House, its like going to your favorite Aunt and Uncle's
house! Very relaxed atmosphere. The rooms are very clean and comfortable; the suite was perfect for the family! John is a great resource and can help set up the perfect NS itinerary....
he knows how to get everywhere, how long it will take, and the things to do along the way. Very knowledgeable and helpful! Joan will cook you a great breakfast before you head out. Perfect!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foleyhouseinn, Owner at Foley House Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Great to hear from you and glad your enjoyed your stay here.
Hope to see you again , maybe next year???

Joan and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock B.C.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed with Joan and John while enjoying the tidal bore rafting in Maitland. The warm inviting atmosphere at the Inn makes you feel right at home, right away! Rooms were very clean and cozy, breaky was just what we needed before a busy day. The laid back, quiet atmosphere was just what we needed after we got back. Slept like logs!!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Foley House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foley House Inn

Address: 11 Cedar Rd, Maitland, Nova Scotia B0N 1T0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Maitland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Maitland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We will be CLOSED for the next six months starting from October 22, 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Foley House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foley House Inn Maitland, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foley House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.