We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE HOTEL TO BEAT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Le Zagare

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Le Zagare to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Le Zagare
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Visitazione 68, 80054 Gragnano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gragnano
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
168 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“THE HOTEL TO BEAT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Oh my goodness! We are driving through Italy for one month and we booked here for one night and loved it so much we stayed another. Now, every other hotel cannot compare to the beauty and service of Le Zagare. All the staff were friendly and helpful, especially Pina. Our balcony was very large, the bed linens luxurious, and the food and service in the restaurant outstanding! The staff were continually cleaning and polishing this spotless gem! We hope to return one day!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    41
    16
    5
    7
See reviews for
61
45
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

What an amazing hotel with a "cream de la cream staff" (especially Ms. Ana and Ms. Teresa). We spent three nights in the month of November and we loved it. Our experience was very positive. The grounds meticulously manicured with water fall, fountains, Palms, lighting and many architectural features in contrast to the surrounding run-down community, a perfect oasis. The staff treated us like family, very attentive to our needs. The room was very clean with a beautiful view of the garden from the balcony. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and recommend it highly to those visiting local sites.

Room Tip: With a view of the Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed in Villa Le Zagare for 4 days 3 days, We arrived to the very warm welcoming receptionist, who was also our waitress at the restaurant. The restaurant was very nice, Food Quality was good, price was okay.. The breakfast had a lot of choices and friendly chefs!!
The room was spacious, we had 2 twins and 1 king bed and still extra space.. We had a nice sized terrace area with a table and an okay view.
The bathroom was a nice, big! just around the corner from our room was a large patio space with a viewing tower, which had view to Vesuvius and the ocean! The area had deck chairs, a cold jacuzzi.. just around the corner from our room was a large patio space with a viewing tower, which had view to Vesuvius and the ocean! The area had deck chairs, a cold jacuzzi... hotel had many rooms for parties such as weddings, sweet 16's etc, which made it very easily noticeable that is their specialty. The garden is beautiful! Big, spacious, calm & peaceful space! The pool is small & cold, although I did not swim in it, I noticed it was not heated nor had been cleaned in quite a while.. The location is amazing! 15 minutes from Pompei, 30 from Herculano, 45 from Naples, 40 from Amalfi and 1h approx. from the Naples Int. Airport.

But... the bad thing about the amazing hotel was that we where alone in the hotel. Staff always asking if and when we will have our included meal. The hotel was very quite and we so was the restaurant when we ate/ had the whole restaurant to ourselves, other than the 1 CD that kept on playing on- and-on all through the hotel! We also had one of the residents of Villa le Zagares dogs barking ALL NIGHT! Which was a downfall to the 4* rating!

Not my type of hotel, if you feel like it's your type either I wouldn't go for Villa le Zagare

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor will be farther away from the dog bark and street noises-- Facing the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Super clean and elegant hotel,very nice staff and the view from our room-202-I will never forget it!!!
Very rich breakfast,good value for money.
They received us with an welcome drink and gave us a little present when we left.
Garden was spectacular,reception like in movies.
Yes,it is true that surroundings in Gragnano are not so nice,but all that zone -including Napoli the town of contrasts and contradictions-are something spectacular.For us it was the 3 time to visit all region and I can say it is not enough.
I hardly left it.
I will be back again for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna C, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Le Zagare, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you so much for your comment!
We're always satisfied when we become positive comments! We really hope to have you again as our guests.
Best regards from the staff
Villa Le Zagare****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We as a family of four stayed for 4 nights. On arrival the staff welcomed us, speaking good English. Our bags were taken up to our rooms for us, and as ore requested we got rooms at the side of each other. Rooms were clean, roomy and had fantastic air conditioning. Towels were cleaned daily, the room cleaned and the bed made. The hotel is a must if you want to visit Pompeii, versuvias and sorrento. The only down falls are the water in the room is not free and at €2 a small bottle could be expensive. The hotel does serve evening meals but again these were expensive and not a lot of choice. Do drive out to eat because there is a pizzeria less than 5 mins away with stunning views out to Vesuvius and delicious pizzas, at a bargain price. I would recommend this hotel to couples and families alike its, warm friendly and the staff are very helpful. Thank you for a great stay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna C, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Le Zagare, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear guests,
thank you for having commented our hotel!
we always want to make the best for our clients.
We're sorry for the comment about the restaurant service: we think that € 25.00 for a complete menu is a fantastic price!
We hope to have you again in our hotel!
Best regards from all the staff
Villa Le Zahare****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a quad/family room for 4 nights as a base for family visit to Pompeii, Vesuvius and Herculaneum. Firstly, the hotel is quite isolated unless you have a car but that shouldn't be a surprise based on location. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly - from waiters to housekeeping to front desk. The rooms are clean, roomy and comfortable but not luxurious. It is a very popular wedding venue (2 weddings every day throughout sept we were told!) and fireworks are popular with the newly weds. Breakfast was ample and served up until 10.30. Felt like pretty good value and recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna C, Direttore at Grand Hotel Le Zagare, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you for your comment!
We're honoured that you liked our service.
If there were little problems, we hope to have you again as our guests to have the possibility to offer you wonderful days.
Best regards from all the Staff
Villa Le Zagare****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights. Very good value. lovely rooms and food, but area around generally downmarket residential. There were 8 weddings while we were there, so some late noise in our friends room at least one night. Two evenings they tried to put us at the back of the room where the wedding reception was. loud noise etc so refused and had lovely table on the terrace. English speaking Waiter called Charlie looked after us really well. No where locally walkable to eat apart from a fun cheap Pizza place. However food in hotel was god and well priced.

Room Tip: get one at front with balcony overlooking the roof Jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna C, Direttore at Grand Hotel Le Zagare, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guests,
we would like to thank you for having spent time to write a comment for us!
We're sorry if you had some problems with noises, but you know, normally our weddings end at least at 09.00 p.m.
We always try to make our best for our guests.
We're happy that you liked the rooms and the food!
We hope to see you again in our hotel!
Best regards from the Staff
Villa Le Zagare****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gragnano
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel La Sonrisa
Grand Hotel La Sonrisa
#1 of 1 in Sant'Antonio Abate
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa
La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa
#1 of 14 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.5 of 5 stars 911 reviews
157.6 mi away
Hotel Parco
Hotel Parco
#3 of 3 in Gragnano
3.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Coast
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Co...
#5 of 14 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.0 of 5 stars 804 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#2 of 14 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa Cimmino Hotel Restaurant
Villa Cimmino Hotel Restaurant
#4 of 14 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Le Zagare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Le Zagare

Address: Via Visitazione 68, 80054 Gragnano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Gragnano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gragnano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Le Zagare 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Le Zagare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Le Zagare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.