We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing trip on Ichobezi house boat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ichobezi River Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Impalila Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ichobezi River Lodges
Impalila Island | PO Box 68630, Impalila Island, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing trip on Ichobezi house boat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We spent 3 nights in April 2013 on the Ichobezi houseboat and had a great time. Staffs were helpful and charming. During our daily trips with the small motorboats David, our guide, gave us many interesting and valued information about the flora and fauna of the Chobe river and the national park.
Eustace, the chef, was so nice and we loved his proud presentation of the menus he served us, even if it was too much for us, as we are not used to each 3 full meals per day. He adapted the menu for me as a veg and prepared really great and taste food.
We loved the individual service even if from Elephant Bay to Silondela and back we were not alone on the houseboat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

After travelling through the Okavango Delta in Botswana and Mana Pools in Zimbabwe this was our absolute highlight. We spent a night on the Ichobezi Houseboat and two nights at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge. Both the boats and the Lodge are owned and operated through the same company. We found the combination of both gives you a great experience of the whole area. The staff were amazing! Nothing was too much trouble and the food was excellent. The game viewing was excellent with sightings of elephant, buffalo, lion and leopard (all from the tender boat on the river). Game viewing from the river allows you to get closer to the animals and provides great photo opportunities. Ralph, you are a great host and well done on providing a truely magnificent product! We look forward to returning in the future. Kind regards, Denise Bruhin, Zurich, Switzerland.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsville
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

After staying at the lodge for 3 days we then moved onto one of their house boats for a few nights what a wonderful experience. We were spoilt rotten by all the staff and it was just so relaxing . Adrian my husband went fishing again this time with our guide Harris who was great very exciting dodging hippos down the river. On returning in the late afternoon they raced over to pick me up to show me a lioness that had come down for a drink we cruised up to with in a metre of her sooo beautiful. The chef on board did a brilliant job the meals were lovely. The second night on board we were parked up against the bank and at around 2am we were woken by a huge elephant standing outside our balcony looking in at us awesome feeling.
If anyone is looking for that unique african experience I can't recommend these enough our only regret not booking long enough. Their is even a spa on deck. This would be great for group travelling together .

Room Tip: Their is only one room aboard that has a balcony but I don't think it matters as you are never i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsville
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a must do if you are heading to Africa. The most amazing lodge and it is totally catered to each guest personally. My husband is a keen fisherman so our guide Raphael took us tiger fishing and we caught 6 in one afternoon. Amazing. I chose to do some game viewing so Raphael took us cruising up to river and the abundance of animals was excellent (hippos,lions,giraffe,elephants,buffalo ,and birds of every kind.).
It gives you a whole different view of the wild life as you are on the water and the animal come down to you so they can drink an unforgettable experience .
In the lodge we were in 5 star tents with ensuites looking down over the river. Coffee was served on our balcony every morning so we could sit and relax with the tiny monkeys in the trees above us. All our washing was done for Us. We ate dinner with Ralph the owner and the other guests which was lovely as everyone reflects on what they got up to during the day .
The food was amazing and plenty of it as was the wine after a busy day out there was nothing nicer than coming back to the lodge sitting on the deck with a glass of wine and having a cuddle with the resident cat and just taking in the wonderful surroundings.
We will definantly be back love love loved it.

Room Tip: All rooms are great you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IchobeziRiverLodges, Director of Sales at Ichobezi River Lodges, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear FedBatz,
Thank you so much for your recent review. I am sincerely delighted that you had such a great time at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge and on the Ichobezi Safariboats and we hope that we get to see you again soon in our beautiful part of the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We (3 couples) spent 3 day on Ichobezi SafariBoat II last week and were absolutely happy: clean cabins, spacious and comfortable lounge zone on the upper deck, small pool, 3 motor boats at your disposal at any time, great food, all drinks from SA wine to whisky and other spirits are included.

I have to mention the crew: Ernest and his guys (John, Morgan, Iustas and Vasco) provided world class service which we, to be honest, had not expected from local staff. Very very friendly and always willing to help! The managed to offer their help every time even before we asked them to: you are thirsty - drinks are already here; you see a hippo - the already give you a binocular; you liked some certain food at breakfast - they noticed it and will cook the same for tomorrow, etc. The chef Iustas, by the way, is just great!

The views from the deck are stunning; the crew are always ready to jump into the motor boat and take you closer if you see smith interesting. They are very proactive.

Border process seems a bit complicated but in reality appears to be quick an easy; the crew facilitates.

By the way, the photos you can see here are 100% true!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had the pleasure of spending 2 nights at Inchingo River Lodge and couldn't have been happier. The tent accommodations were clean and comfortable, and the staff was exceptional. We had our own private guide, Felix, who was personable and knowledgable. Our small fast boat allowed us to pull right up to the shore and get very close to all of the wildlife. So much better than the large resort boats loaded down with people that had to stay in the middle of the river because of their size.
Ralph, the owner of Inchingo, was a delightful host and joined us for dinner each evening for fascinating conversation about life in Namibia and on Impalila Island.
The hike through the island villages was very interesting and made us insight into the difficult life of the island inhabitants.
Our only regret was that we didn't stay longer and spent a couple nights on the Inchingo River Boats.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

been to ichingo at the end of a three week trip to namibia, and this was the best!
superb accomodation, a private boat and guide as long as we were there, marvelous food, friendly staff, no surprises on the negative side, astonishing boats trips to chobe national park (from the water), and to the zambezi river through the kasai canal.
if we are back in het neighbourhood, be sure we will go there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ichobezi River Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ichobezi River Lodges

Address: Impalila Island | PO Box 68630, Impalila Island, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Caprivi Region > Impalila Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Impalila Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ichobezi River Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ichobezi River Lodges to your Saves list