We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good second time but need some changes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa de Felipe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Casa de Felipe to your Saves list
La Casa de Felipe
CRA 5 A No 19-13, Taganga, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
vallejo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good second time but need some changes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Second time on this hostel.
Like always staff are very friendly and breakfast.. well.. no better on Taganga or around..
Just a couple things don't like us..
It's a hostel for young people.. a night seems like have a party so we cannot sleep... come with the price and the place..
Second.. I really would love they have a place for smoking people separate from restaurant.. really was a flaw eat in the same place were people was smoking..
Last.. bed was so hard on my back.. very very hard... But that's just me..
For the rest, really cheap, stunning place, with safe box on dorms (a very good point) and convenient close to everything.. we're back... next year...

Room Tip: I still think the best is the aparta studio on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    66
    24
    5
    8
See reviews for
6
72
38
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Don't go. On the way to Taganga we were warned by different groups not to go and that robberies happened EVERY night of the weekend. Of course we didn't listen. I was travelling with a 2 metres tall Sicilian bloke so....no one is robbing me. At the hostel (we stayed at casa de felipe - gorgeous but only so you don't have to leave the safety of the property) we were warned by reception not to go out. This is probably because when we arrived a couple were leaving that had been robbed the night before. Their story was frightening yes...but you always think, well, you were probably being a bit silly and someone just took advantage.

6 of us went out, girls and guys 25-35 and we were robbed by 8 men with knives and guns. It doesn't matter how big or brave you are when you are faced with desperate people with guns. It was terrifying and I wouldn't wish it on anyone. We warned others but they thought the same as us. Since then I've had people messaging me more stories about these robberies, and one Irish girl in a group of 4 was dragged down the beach by these boys (with knives) trying to rip off her clothes.

The police know who these guys are. But until something changes in that town - like a stop in the flow of tourism - nothing is going to change. It will just get worse.

Now - wherever you are from. And wherever you have been. Regardless of how 'safe' you think you will feel there - terrible things are happening to people. It is not even a nice place. So please, if you are a REAL backpacker, a person of good heart and good intentions. Please don't go.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Very nice hostel with clean rooms, nice beds and fans. There are plenty of spots to chill in hammocks or have a beer in the garden or roof terrace, big television room and big kitchen which is nice to cook (but you need to do grocery's in santa marta).
The rooms are not expansive so good value for money. The staff did not talk english at all and were not very helpful. But OK, the rest of the hostel was great!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed here for a lot longer than planned, taganga is beautiful and casa de feline is also. The staff were very friendly and helpful and do not miss out on eating at the amazing restaurant there! The food is cheap and delicious! Rooms were nice, lots f areas to relax and nice atmosphere!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hostel is a little walk up the hill from the beach but is an excellent place to stay.
The rooftop terrace is a really cool place to hang out. It has excellent food cooked by a French chef.
We were stuck without a hostel as we came back from Tyrona a day early and Casa de Felipe helped us out with a really nice room and even offered us a discount.
They were happy for us to move to a cheaper room in the morning. The ladies in reception are friendly and funny.
We stayed in another hostel a few days earlier but this one was cheaper and had a better atmosphere.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bocholt
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

La Casa de Felipe is a perfect place to stay...The facilities are very good, the french chef made the best food I had in ages, all the shops and bars in town are reachable within 10min of walking and the staff is super friendly. I booked for three nights and spontanously decided to skip the second night as I went to the National Park and stayed there instead. This wasn´t a problem at all and I didn´t have to pay the night in the hostel. They also helped me out when my bus just left without me and organized another bus for me...Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Casa de Felipe is a really well maintained little compound in Taganga. The onsite juicebar (and bar) and kitchen were great and the staff were helpful and friendly. Very well run.

A good mixture of young fun crazy travelers as well as older travelers staying here.

Tips:
Roosters may wake you up a little early but thats what you get staying in a small Colombian town:)

Instead of taking the staff recommended bus to Tayrona Park - I recommend you take a speed boat into the park. Cheaper, quicker and more fun:)

Hit up El Mirador at night for some fun dancing!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casa de Felipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Felipe

Address: CRA 5 A No 19-13, Taganga, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Taganga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Taganga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel "La Casa de Felipe" is situated in Taganga, just 15 minutes by bus from Santa Marta. It's located in the upper part of the village, seven minutes walk from the beach. It's ideal for relaxing on the terrace after a day of excursions to Tayrona Park, The Lost City, diving, or on the beach. We offer dormitories, private rooms with private bathroom and studio apartments with fully equipped kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your La Casa de Felipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Felipe Hotel Taganga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa de Felipe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.