We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Tour Taganga - Day Tours

Magic Tour Taganga - Day Tours
Calle 14# 1b-50, Taganga, Colombia
+57 574219429
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 10 attractions in Taganga
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Magic tour Tagaga is a tour operator to Lost City as well know like ciudad Teyuna. Since 6 years, we offer our services to all the visitors who are looking for the best trekking in South America. We also offer tour to Parque Tayrona, La Guajira, Minca and much more !!
Brugg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We booked the trek to ciudad perdida - the lost city - at Magic Tour in Taganga. On the day the trek started, we got picked up at our hostel in Taganga and brought to their office where we could leave all the luggage that we didn't need during the trek. The trek itself then was brilliant, absolutely great experience.. Tough, but great! After the trek we got brought to the office again where the staff checked for available rooms in Taganga for us, really nice! and after that, they even drove us to the hostel which they had booked for us. Magic Tour Taganga in my eyes are a very well organised company with friendly staff and I can only recommend them to anyone!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lost city trek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We went with Magic for the trip to the ciudad del perdida and were by glad we did. Nice sized group - 6 of us plus guide and cook. Our guide Gabriel was fantastic and although spoke no English we all got by and he proved helpful, knowledgable and very funny. We stayed at some great sites, especially on the first night when at a separate camp to the other merged group doing the trek at the same time as us.

We opted to do the trek in four days which is very doable in the dry and not too strenuous. It's the same route, you just trek in the afternoon rather than sit around playing cards. A no brainier really. It is the same cost regardless though.

Food was great, really surprised at quality and quantity. At no point was I hungry. Started and finished the trek at Gabriel's family home for food and they were friendly and cooked up some grand food.

Equipment and transport as to be expected - well used but functional although always amused at just how many people will fit in a land cruiser in South America!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Enjoyable, worth the money & the walking!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Well organised, things were generally done at the times stated
Excellent food & lots of it
Very friendly guide & cook
Organised us to talk to the local tribespeople
Guide explained a great deal along the way and at the lost city itself
Be prepared that you're in the jungle. Blankets do smell, we brought sleeping bag liners
Your clothes won't dry overnight so best to bring one set to wear in evenings and one for the day. It can get cold at night. I wore a thermal top to sleep in
Lots of repellent is needed and a guy in our group brought repellent coils to burn as well
We did lots of swimming

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Disorganized Operator, Beautiful Trek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

First of all, I loved the trek. Hard but worth it. Magic tours had problems, although I am not sure if other operators are any better.
They oversold the number of spaces. Many people in our group had to share beds with their partners, which wasn't the end of the world but what was unpleasant was the guides basically letting us fight it out rather than organizing it. Fine if you have reasonable people in your group. We did not. Further, if they tell you you will have a bed, half a single bed (or a hammock every night) is not ok. At they very least they could reimburse you part of the cost- this trek is not cheap.
The blankets stink. I don't think there is any way around this though, humidity is crazy high (you are wet all day!).
Our guide was nice. The food was totally fine. We did love the beauty and difficulty of the hike, but remember:
Mosquito repellent, lots of it.
Headtorch
Swimsuit
One pair of clothes exclusively for night time use- everything else will be wet from sweat.
Playing cards
Flip flops
Good shoes (runners dry faster than hikers so I think these are better if they get wet)..
Pack light as you carry your own belongings!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Tough but rewarding trek, very enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I did the Lost City trek in January 2013 with my girlfriend and some friends. We went with Magic Tours and our guide's name was Herman.

Pros:
- It's a really enjoyable hike and we met some good people on it.
- The food was really quite good, considering it was being cooked in small shacks.
- We were given fruit snacks and smoothies during the day.
- The ruins are fantastic, really interesting and well-preserved.
- We were given a talk by a native Kogi leader which was very insightful.
- The scenery and swimming holes were beautiful.

Cons:
- Lots of biting insects, take DEET.
- Guides don't speak English, although there will invariably be a bilingual trekker to translate.

A fairly tough, rewarding hike which was our highlight in Colombia.

Tips:
- It's a tough hike with lots of elevation changes. We did the four day option; if you are less fit you can take 5 or 6 days over it and the cost will be the same.
- Dont overpack. A couple of sets of dri-fit gym gear will be fine to wear during the day. One set of warmer clothes to wear at night. Hiking boots are a better option than trainers - the trails are rocky. Flip flops or sandals for nighttime. Head torch is a must. Sleeping bag liner recommended as the beds are a bit skanky. A dry bag will come in handy due to humidity, your own sweat and river crossings. If something gets wet, it won't dry in the jungle, so bring a pair of socks for each day.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magic Tour Taganga - Day Tours also viewed

Santa Marta District, Magdalena Department
 
Taganga, Santa Marta District
Taganga, Santa Marta District
 

Been to Magic Tour Taganga - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Tour Taganga - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Magic Tour Taganga - Day Tours to your Saves list