We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga to your Saves list
Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga
Calle 9 # 1 - 33 | Taganga - Santa Marta, Taganga 470002, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Taganga
London
Top Contributor
878 reviews 878 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 207 cities Reviews in 207 cities
767 helpful votes 767 helpful votes
“Such a pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Located at the far end of the beach, this hotel is still close enough to all the action and is excellent value for money. The rooms are spotlessly clean, the bathroom pristine but be ready for the shower which is lukewarm water only. Sheets and towels are changed daily, the wi-fi is free and of excellent strength and there is also an LCD TV with cable. The breakfast is extra but well worth the cop8000 or just outside the hotel door you can buy delicious street food from the local ladies. The choice to install fans rather than air conditioners may not have been the best decision as on a very hot night those fans just shifted the hot air rather than cooled the room. And it can be a bit noisy - but this is a party town - everywhere is a bit noisy. What really makes this place is Hector. He was everything a guest could want - nothing was too much trouble and his local knowledge was invaluable. Plan to spend an hour or two on the terrace - chill out with that view.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the first floor - easy access to that view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    33
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
84
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

This is the best place to stay in Taganga - Casa de Mer is an oasis at the far end of the beach in the sometimes party-central village. The two owners, Hector and Wilmer (hopefully I've spelled their names correctly!) are as helpful as can be without ever making you feel pressured. They had checked before I made the booking that I was aware there would be building works going on during my stay, although to be honest I didn't hear a thing from my room. But it was a lovely show of concern. My room was new, clean and comfortable, with a very nice en suite bathroom. The is no air-conditioning - just fans - but this is for environmental reasons, and suited me fine. The breakfast was about the best I've had in Colombia. All in all, I can't recommend Casa de Mer highly enough. Come and stay here. 

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

You can do a whole lot worse for 40 bucks a night that this hotel. Rooms are probably the cleanest we have seen in 5 mths of traveling in South America (and cleaned everyday). Rooms have fans and LCD TVs with cable. Breakfast for 8000 pesos is a bargain, and very tasty (fruit salad, pancakes, scrambled eggs). The 2 guys that run the hotel are also very friendly and happy to help.

Room Tip: Upstairs is probably cooler due to the breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Well located, this small hotel brings the simplicity and care of a family house that makes the difference, with helpful staff who can provide us with a very comfortable stay in Taganga.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

The title to this review says it all. The rooms were very clean and a flat screen t.v. The owner, I believe his name is WIlmar, was very helpful in helping us get to Tayrona National Park from here. He called us transportation and got us a discounted rate because I guess he knew the guy that ran one of the local bus companies. The location is great, it's a few blocks away from the craziness that is Taganga, so, you can still get a good night's sleep. The rooms were extremely well priced too. For a small charge, you can also get breakfast in the morning. Unfortunately, I didn't get to try it, but I wish I would have. I would definitely go back to this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Taganga.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Nice rooms... good value and great staff.

Great place for couple travel. Not a great place to go if you want to party as you need to ring the bell when you arrive late at night but all in all a good option.

Very clean rooms!

Room Tip: I stayed in two different rooms and both good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
2,063 reviews 2,063 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 390 cities Reviews in 390 cities
1,095 helpful votes 1,095 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I discovered this hotel in Trip Advisor but I didn't have any expectation about it.
It was great surprise!
The rooms are basic but very clean, everything smells fresh!
Casa D'Mer is run by a family and all the members are very polite and SUPER helpful.
I think this was the best place we ever stayed in the Latin America.
You have to try the breakfast, the eggs one is delicious, comes with fruits and coffee with milk.
This is one of the few places in Taganga that accepts credit/debit cards and doesn't charge any fee, which is precious since there is only one ATM in Taganga, and it is always broken. The hotel also has an ice cream shop, the peanut flavor is very good. We stayed for a few days and the staff helped us in every way possible, calling to several places for our enquiries and they didn't even charge the calls! If you need a laundry service they also have an efficient one.
I strongly recommend this place.

Room Tip: 204 is a good one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga

Address: Calle 9 # 1 - 33 | Taganga - Santa Marta, Taganga 470002, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Taganga
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Taganga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa D'mer is ... "Finally an alternative to backpacker hostels and expensive hotels in Taganga" we have a friendly and attentive staff. Our location is privileged, we are close to everything but in a quiet area. After a day at the beach or hiking you can enjoy the pleasant terrace on the top floor. At Hotel Casa D'mer we do everything for you every day think "We want to live here" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.