We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bienvenue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Des Consuls

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Des Consuls to your Saves list
Hotel Des Consuls
Place de la Mairie | Place des Arcades, 81140 Castelnau-de-Montmiral, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Bienvenue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Very welcoming small hotel. Very clean and comfortable family run hotel. Proprietor is very friendly and accomodating. This was an excellent location from which to venture forth for day hikes in the St Antonin Noble Val region. Would most assuredly return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    16
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
21
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohoka, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

If you love old historical places which have stood the test of time, this is a great place to stay for a day or so. Walking around the local area is a treat. The rooms in the hotel are quite small, but very comfortable and very reasonably priced. A buffet breakfast is offered which was great value. There are few restaurants close by to tempt your tastebuds. There is a swimming pool availabe. The owners are helpful and offered many suggestions of nearby places to visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

it's not a 5 stars hotel, but very nice and quite in small village.
There are 2 restaraunts near it. It is very fresh inside and no condition required.
Personell is very welcome.
I'd recommend to visit it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here for one night at the start of our holiday as flights were cheaper flying out on a Friday and we wanted to arrive fresh our gite the next day. The hotel is around a 1+ hour drive from Toulouse Blagnac airport. Once you our out of the city the main route is motorway driving so it is pretty easy.

Approaching the village it has a real wow factor. Sitting up in the hills, when you first see it it looks like it may be a walled village. The streets are tiny cobbled affairs and the houses are very old and not one is the same as any other. The views from the village are impressive far reaching panoramas and it is easy to just want to sit and stare.

The hotel is on the main square of the village. It has an attached restaurant and there are other cafes and a patisserie there too. Hotel staff are extremely friendly and our room (number18) was a duplex apartment that took all five of us (2 adults 3 teenagers) no problem. Both levels have their own shower and loo and the room is right next door to a smallish swimming pool- plenty big enough for a cooling dip. The rooms have great views across the roof tops and the lower level has a little balcony.

The room was comfortable and appear bathrooms appear to be newly fitted. Everything worked. The rooms were cool inside despite the 30+ heat outside.

We didn't eat at the hotel as there was a festival on in the square so we sat and watched the entertainment for the afternoon and evening and joined in with the locals with plates if meat, cheese, pizza etc being served around the square by various stalls and restaurants.

The buildings on the square are beautiful, ancient timbers abound - the hotel info say 14th / 15th century - we did sit and wonder if it was all about to fall down as some of the supporting timbers are definitely showing their age - but it is spectacular. Well worth a visit even if you are not staying - it is by far the most traditional village I have seen anywhere on my travels.

We paid €135 plus €15 for an extra bed so it took the 5 of us.

Room Tip: Room 18 is a duplex apartment if you are In a group of 4 or 5. It is also on the back of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Avoid it is very basic does not worth the price. The description and pictures from the web are misleading. Just bad and is an unpleasant surprise when you arrived. the so called studio does not have even a kitchen or a coffee machine. Even a basic hotel like Campanille has more amenites than this one. i could write more but i am still there and i am very frustrated

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We came to this hotel because we couldn't find a place in Cordes Sur Ciel. I was more than impressed by its beautiful location, the warmth of the staff, the combination of good taste and simplicity of the rooms. Everything was perfectly clean and nice. It was worth to find this place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
issaquah, wa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We arrived here by accident - overshot a hotel with a similar name in Sarlat - but were immediately put at ease by the owner, who called the hotel that we were supposed to be at and offered us a room at this hotel. Everything about it was superior, but especially his warm, friendly manner. This "accident" made our trip to France, as we got to experience something unexpected and unique. Waking through the village was like walking back in history, and we also visited Albi's incredible brick church.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Des Consuls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Consuls

Address: Place de la Mairie | Place des Arcades, 81140 Castelnau-de-Montmiral, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Tarn > Castelnau-de-Montmiral
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castelnau-de-Montmiral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Des Consuls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Des Consuls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.