We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderspot and Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artichaud

Save Saved
You added Artichaud to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Artichaud
Castel et Merlarie, 81140 Castelnau-de-Montmiral, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Mountain View, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderspot and Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We spent two nights at Artichaud in July 2012 and highly recommend it. A nicely converted old farm house has three guest rooms. Ours was very spacious, with antique furniture and a nice new bathroom. The house is in the beautiful countryside very near to one of the picturesque bastide towns. Parking is on the grounds and very easy.. Although the area does not have a lot of tourists, it should. The area is beautiful, and there are very interesting historical places to visit nearby. We particularly liked Cordes and Albi with its amazing cathedral. The owners are friendly and very helpful in planning excursions. We organized our overall trip around excellent restaurants, but the food we had at Artichaud was among the best. It is served family style around a big table. We ate outside in the beautiful garden. The owners speak English (and two or three other languages) fluently which makes for interesting conversations with them and the other guests. All in all, this was our favorite place to stay on a trip full of wonderful places.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We were staying in Artichaud for 8 days in summer, with our 2 sons of 15 and 17 years.
Artichaud is an ideal holiday accomodation for individuals, couples or small families who like to discover this wonderfull region, for example by walking, biking or canoeing. After a hot day of activity it feels heavenly to swim in the pool, to rest in a hammock and to enjoy the local drinks and food.
Liliane and Jos are excellent hosts who are very respectful towards nature and environment and who help their guests a perfect choice for activities and visits. The meals prepared by Liliane are really outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We visited Artichaud for a long weekend in May. We were very thankful for the warm welcome we received (particularly since we arrived so late at night)! The grounds were covered in beautiful rose bushes and the smells of rosemary and lavender filled the air alongside the pool. The owners pay attention to every detail - from nicely appointed and clean rooms to homemade organic jams at breakfast. They were also very helpful in guiding us to spots around the region that we hadn't yet seen. We can't wait to visit again, which we hope to do very soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We picked Artichaud on spec from the internet and we were not disappointed. Three nights in a lovely converted farmhouse with an extensive library and an interesting and personal art collection. Meals were beautifully cooked by Lilliane using locally sourced ingrediants along with the surprisingly good Gaillac wines. Lilliane and Jos were excellent hosts and the conversation flowed. On Lilliane's night off we visited the nearby beautiful town of Castelnau and had a wonderful meal in the hotel restaurant. All in all a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: all rooms very well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011 via mobile

This B and B was a great find. The B and B has lovely spacious bedrooms and bathrooms. The meals were wonderful and prepared by Liliane from home grown or local produce. There is a delightful outdoor area and swimming pool. Jos was very helpful in explaining the area, what things we could do and see. Without his help we could have missed seeing the Albi Cathederal which is a must see.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed with friends for three nights and would recommend the house and the area. Very comfortable and well appointed house in lovely countryside and near a number of beautiful small towns and villages. The owners are very helpful and even rescued us when we missed a turn on a walk and ended up in the wrong village. Excellent food prepared by Lilliane.

Ray and Chris Dublin

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carcassonne, France
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed only one night but have only positive things to say about our visit. We received a warm welcome by Liliane, who lent me a bathing suit so I could swim in their beautiful pool. We loved our spacious bed/sitting room which was comfortably furnished and had many interesting pictures and art works to enjoy. The room was fully equipped with everything needed for a very comfortable stay. The house is very close to the main road but, fortunately, with the shutters and windows closed there was no problem with road noise.
We enjoyed a delicious meal, all home cooked by Liliane and enjoyed the great local Gaillac wines served with the meal. I am sure we will stay here again - with pleasure!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Artichaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artichaud

Address: Castel et Merlarie, 81140 Castelnau-de-Montmiral, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Tarn > Castelnau-de-Montmiral
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Castelnau-de-Montmiral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three spacious and comfortable guest rooms in a beautiful ecological renovated farm, located in Castelnau-de-Montmiral, a beautiful bastide-town near Gaillac. Unspoilt landscapes, charming medieval villages, forests and vineyards. Good starting point for walks or bicycle tours. Toulouse, Montauban, Cordes-sur-Ciel, Albi and other cultural sites are nearby. Nice garden, terrace and swimming pool. Special arrangements & walking holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Artichaud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artichaud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.