We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Commercial Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Commercial Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Commercial Hotel
420 Main Street, Wishaw ML2 7NG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Wishaw B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Great price stayed in sept 2012 for 3 nights
Room modern clean staff brilliant
Yes it has night club an it's busy but we slept sound an our room had a balcony next to it
Overall a really great hotel an will stay again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    16
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
10
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Decided to go here for some food with the wean and as there was a christmas craft upstairs thought it would have been busy but i was wrong it was empty lucky if there was 5 tables and i think we were the only people that turned up. The upstairs could have had some air freshener as it was stinking the carpet was sticky and smelt really bad. But first time ive seen it in the daylight.

Went down stairs for food when walking in the football was on and managed to get a booth we ordered food and it was lovely.

But heard there holding a Christmas party for the children this year and i was like your kidding the last children s party they had was Halloween and it was in downstairs and they were showing football at the same time, there was no music for the children and when they children were noise they were told to be quite. Just hope the Christmas party will be worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

i stayed at this hotel when away with work, the checking in area and breakfast area are both in the bar which is a bit different. the room however was spacious and clean, the bed comfy, staff friendly and breakfast tasty. i didn't experience any problem with noise, but it was a sunday night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012


Nice room, great shower, big LCD TV, smoking balcony. Good cheap food in Pub.
Very grumpy staff, when we arrived, we had no welcome apart from its not one o'clock yet !! They did however get us in the room early, but not a Friendly welcome. We paid extra for breakfast, and had to give an exact time when we were to go to breakfast. Every morning we were treated as though we were Aleins, "oh so do you want breakfast ?" on Sunday there were no chairs available as they had taken them away from the Mothers day Lunch, some 3-4 hours away ! Every morning a woman mopping the floor in the bar where the breakfast was served, and strong fumes of bleach. Breakfast itself not bad, three different chefs, and three totally different cooked breakfasts !! Had to walk outside in the rain to get to the room. On the whole the most unwelcoming hotel I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillicoultry, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My family consisting of two adults and two small children made the big mistake last night of staying at the hotel!
Having returned to the hotel after a night out we were confronted with the music levels so loud in the room from the bar below the room that it was impossible for any of us to get any sleep,
We ended up having to make the call and pack up and leave at about midnight and head home frustrated and tired! The entertainment was due to go on till three in the morning so there was no choice.
Having now the day after got off the phone to the hotel to complain, it would appear it is our fault for not using our common sense to realise this would be the situation, therefore I would strongly suggest to any one wanting to use the hotel to actually sleep, to look else where and use their " common sense" ! Yours tired annoyed and let down,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thecommercialho... W, General Manager at The Commercial Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Firstly many thanks for taking the time to post on your review.

As you can see from previous reviews here at the commercial we pride
our self on exceptional service and customer care and can I apologies if
you feel this has been found lacking on this occasion.

I have investigated the points below and have already taken steps to
ensure such scenarios are not repeated.

We do have music on at the weekends however the music levels have been
restricted to ensure that the sound of music is not heard in the bedrooms.
On this occasion this seems not to be the case I can assure you that this
is an isolated incident.

Regarding the point noted about you contacting the hotel I have personally
spoke to the staff member that took the call. They have advised me at no
point did they say that it was your fault and that you should have used
your common sense. If you would like to contact myself directly I will
personally assure that your complaint is handled in the correct manner.

Once again many thanks for your feedback.

Adele (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton, uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at the Commercial for 2 nights last week due to my Dad passing away. We arrived on the Sunday evening and had more family arriving on the monday morning. the staff were absolutely brilliant in sorting everything out for us. rearranging rooms and accomodating anything we needed. The rooms were spotless and had plenty of fresh towels and toiletries, ample tea/coffee and biscuits etc, breakfast was lovely, made fresh to order. You could hear the music from the bar on the first floor in the evening but it was turned down at midnight so didnt bother us at all. We had the wake(family get together) in the bar of the commercial and again the staff were brilliant. the food was of excellent quality very reasonably priced per head. We will definetaly be back to stay at the commercial in the future and will recommend to everyone. I would like to come when the club is open too. I would like to thank all the staff for making a very sad time more bearable and easier. you were all smiling and friendly and the housekeepers also, thank you from all the family.

Room Tip: all rooms were very good *****
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selby
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed 7/8/12. This is a good location if you in the area for business. Wishaw is not a tourist site! Please don't book this hotel with your partner for a romantic stay!! My room at the hotel very good, the staff were excellent. I'm more than happy to return...
TOP TIP! Before I booked, I made sure it was NOT when the Commercial Hotel has one of it's Disco nights (see their website). So my advice is very much based on a NON Disco night. Unless this is what you want?

Room Tip: Top floor at back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Commercial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commercial Hotel

Address: 420 Main Street, Wishaw ML2 7NG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Wishaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wishaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of Wishaw, the Commercial Hotel boasts a bar/restaurant and on-site nightclub. It offers individually decorated rooms, free Wi-Fi and free parking.At the Commercial, rooms are decorated in a blend of wood panelling and stone walls. Some rooms have fireplaces and all rooms feature a plasma-screen TV with Freeview channels, work desk and bathroom.The Commercial Bar serves pub favourites. Snacks and cakes are also available and the food is home-cooked using local ingredients.The nightclub features live bands and boasts 2 resident DJs. It is open Thursday-Saturday until 3am. The bar also provides entertainment including music, karaoke and sports on TV.Low Parks Museum, the Time Capsule Water Park and Chatelherault Country Park are within 20 minutes’ drive. Glasgow and Edinburgh are both 30 minutes’ drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Commercial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Commercial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.