We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“glad to find en route to the wilderness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinlochewe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kinlochewe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kinlochewe Hotel
Save
You added Kinlochewe Hotel to your Saves list
Garve | Wester Ross, Kinlochewe IV22 2PA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochewe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“glad to find en route to the wilderness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Had one night's stay here on a long-distance walking trip and felt it was worth the money. Single room was easily spacious enough for one, bed was soft, shower was hot and there is an interesting set of Highland-related books in the downstairs lounge. Sorry, I didn't dine here (rule of travel no. 23 - never dine at the hotel if there is an alternative restaurant to try out) but the hosts made me feel welcome and genuinely glad to have my business. In brief, I'd come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. We hope your long distance trek was successful and enjoyable.

We have found that many hotels do not cater for the single traveller so we made the decision to make two of the rooms in our 9 bedroom hotel into single rooms and they have proved very popular. Our single rooms are often booked well in advance. I am glad you liked the wide selection of books we have for guests to enjoy. I must confess to being a bit of a bookaholic - so need no persuasion when it comes to buying books! It is good to know that you appreciate them too.

We hope that you will return again soon - and perhaps we will be able to persuade you to enjoy our homecooked, locally sourced food - i am sure you will be glad to break your "rule of travel no. 23" if you do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    42
    19
    13
    12
See reviews for
11
59
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A wonderful family run hotel situated in the heart of one of the most beautiful areas of the UK. Great well maintained beers, a fantastic range of some of the finest whiskeys Scotland has to offer, delicious home cooked food, clean, tastefully decorated, very friendly staff what more could you ask for?? A home from home, thank you Andrew, Gail and team!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Ooooh how lovely - thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit here.

We do try to make our guests feel "at home" and take time and care to provide a homely and welcoming environment where guests can relax and enjoy this wonderful area. We are very proud of our lovely staff who do such a great job for us. We are gaining quite a reputation for our real ales, whiskies and home-cooked food and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel when travelling around Scotland as it was a stopping point between Inverewe gardens and the Isle of Skye. We had a pleasant ground floor room with a glassed in area that would have been lovely except for the heat wave. The bed was comfortable but the ensuite was quite small. The woman serving at the bar who greeted us on arrival was very pleasant. Unfortunately the host (owner?) who was there at dinner time was quite dour. For a hotel with 75 malt whiskeys it would seem a sacrilege to declare that they are all made the same!
We ate at the hotel -not many choices in town- food was ok, pity a 3 cheese platter only had 3 biscuits for a lot of cheese.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us after your stay.

The room you had on the ground floor has a delightful little sun room with a private entrance and overlooks the garden and the spectacular mountains. Many guests specifically request this room because of this lovely room. Unfortunately (??) you were in residence during the "heatwave" early in the season - not something that we are often affected by in Kinlochewe! so the sunroom did get a little hot. Usually it is a comfortable, warm, bright room where guests enjoy the peace and quiet and the wonderful outlook, birds and wildlife.

The en suite shower room is rather small in this room - but we don't often get complaints about it as the room does have the added benefit of the sunroom. Being a Victorian buiding (in fact, this part of the building is pre-1800) en suite bathrooms did not come as standard ! and so the rooms have had to be adapted to accommodate showers/ensuite facilities. The room houses a very comfortable 6 foot wide "superking" bed, and, of course, the additional sunroom, leaving less room for en suite facilities. Perhaps you would have been better in one of our rooms upstairs which have larger en suite baths and showers - but without the added benefit of a private sunroom.

I am sorry if you found Andrew "dour" (he really isn't) and he does know a great deal about whisky. You state that "For a hotel with 75 malt whiskeys it would seem a sacrilege to declare that they are all made the same!!" - well actually they are and it seems that you have misunderstood! What he was trying to impart was the fact that despite all whisky being made using the same basic process (as is the case) the end results can be so varied and have such different characteristics. The variation depends on the water used; the amount of smoke; the amount of time it is aged; the type of barrel it is aged in ... etc ... but the actual distillation process is basically the same.

Our cheese platter of Scottish cheeses is very popular and includes 3 large oatcakes which is usually more than enough for most people (often one or more are left uneaten) but if you wanted more you only had to ask!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden of England
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

You can tell when you walk into this hotel that areas have been updated and made appealing but others arent quite finished. Our bedroom was a prime example of this, where the bedroom itself had nice furniture in it and the bed was very comfy, but the bathroom whilst everything worked and was clean, certainly needed some updating (see pictures below).

Equally the residents lounge is lovely, and comfortable and welcoming but the stairs up and down are not quite to the same standard.

When you read the information it has been bought a few years back and the owners are gradually improving it bit by bit, which I am sure is an expensive process, and have a desire to get there in the end, which is good to hear.

You can tell this from the staff who are always friendly and welcoming.

The hotel is also the main pub of the village, but you certainly dont get any disturbance in your room despite it certainly being a popular place to come. So if you want to eat here, I would recommend you book a table. When we were there, which was May it was absolutely full in the bar and restaurant.
And it is worth booking a table as the food is very good and reasonably priced, plus you dont have to wait too long either.
Also if you did want a bit of peace and quiet there is a lounge just for residents you can use, which doesnt have a TV but does have books and games to relax in and pass some time in.

Sadly the food at breakfast wasnt so quick, where they seemed to only take one rooms order at a time, and so if you happen to arrive just after a few others then you may have a bit of a wait. I guess you could ask if you were in a rush, but that seems a bit cheeky as everyone wants to get out and enjoy the scenery! It was good quality and you have to wait for fresh food, but it was the wait to get the order taken which was the bad part.

The hotel is very conveniently located on the road to the west coast, and two tips for anyone coming this way.
1) Fill up in Inverness first as despite there being a fuel station here, it is expensive.
2) Go and visit Loch Maree in the evening when the sun and the reflection of Slioch in the water have a lovely glow to them

Overall the staff are nice and the food was good, but for exactly the same price you can stay at The Torridon Inn which is 10 miles down the road, which is the finished article and is therefore at the moment a better choice in my opinion.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Thank you for your review and for the many lovely comments you have made about the hotel.
We are certainly located in a wonderful spot and agree that Loch Maree is absolutely spectacular. The views are constantly changing and always stunning.

We are a small, family-run business: we work hard to try to ensure our guests have a friendly welcome and a comfortable stay with us. We are very proud of our local staff, who, as you say, always try to be friendly and welcoming. You are absolutely right about us making, and continuing to make, improvements and generally upgrading the hotel – and you are also right about it being an expensive process! we aren’t part of a “chain” of hotels and, like most small businesses, we don’t have unlimited funds!

When we took over the hotel a few years ago it was graded one star by VisitScotland. We set about improving and updating the hotel and were delighted to be awarded a second star within a year, followed by a three star grading the following year. We had to concentrate on what we considered the most important for both the comfort and the safety of our guests. Some changes are very obvious: one of the first things we changed was to install high quality – and VERY comfortable beds. We also updated the fire and safety systems – not obvious to guests but essential for peace of mind. We have since upgraded the public areas: the bar is now warm and welcoming (and well stocked with real ales and malt whiskies!) and the lounge has squishy, soft leather seating. More recently we have spruced up the exterior of the hotel and also installed new oil and gas tanks and renewed all the underground pipework – not very glamorous – or indeed obvious to guests, but again, essential for safety and peace of mind. We will continue to work, improving and upgrading the hotel, in the quiet season.

I am sorry that you had to wait a while for your breakfast. That morning every one of our guests came down at the same time! We obviously had to serve guests in the order they arrived in the breakfast room and, as every breakfast is cooked fresh and to order, this does take some time. I think we did explain and apologise for the wait. We don’t pre-cook food and keep it warm, as some establishments do –nor indeed do we put trays of food out under hot lamps – ugh! So I am sorry that you had to wait – but I hope you enjoyed the fresh, local food when it arrived. If guests are in a particular hurry and they let us know that they need to get away promptly then we are happy for them to order their breakfast the previous evening and we can have it ready for them, freshly cooked, as soon as they arrive for breakfast.

We hope you will come back again soon and enjoy our continuing improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This hotel is well positioned for touring the area however there are many bed and breakfast places that would do the job better and be less expensive.

Room Tip: Note there is no T V in your bedroom. Bedrooms are adequate but for £98 you can do better elsewhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review us and we are sorry that you thought us too expensive. Being a hotel with all the facilities that entails of a well-stocked licenced bar/restaurant/professional kitchen/ staff/ etc. etc. we are, of course, not able to compete with the rates charged by bed and breakfast establishments who obviously do not have the overheads that a hotel has. Most bed and breakfasts in the area do not employ staff, do not offer evening meals, nor a licenced bar and can open if and when they choose.

We are, as you are aware, situated in a beautiful but remote and unspoilt part of the world. Our pricing structure is on a par with other three star hotels in the area. Of course we are also unable to compete with city centre hotels who offer cut price deals – many of whom charge extra for breakfast and offer “cut price” ingredients. Like all the food we prepare and offer to guests, our breakfasts (included in our room rate) are highly praised and include a wide variety of freshly cooked, locally produced choices: home-made muesli; home-preserved fruit; home-made jams and marmalades; sausages and black pudding hand-made by our butcher in Gairloch etc.

Some visitors prefer to stay in hotels; others prefer to stay in bed & breakfast establishments. It is really down to personal choice, budget and availability. There is certainly room for us all to trade successfully and we often suggest that people try the B&Bs in the village if we are full or if they find our rates too expensive for their budget. The B&Bs also send guests to us if they are full, or closed, or to eat in the evening.

You comment in your “room tips” that we do not have televisions. We actually have a “peace and quiet” policy, as recognised by VisitScotland, and find that most of our guests appreciate being able to escape from television and having the opportunity to relax in our comfortable lounge, chatting to other guests about their day or reading the eclectic collection of books we have available. We do state quite clearly on our website that we do not have televisions in the hotel.

We hope that you will enjoy coming to this beautiful area again soon; we would be happy to recommend an excellent Bed and Breakfast establishment in the village who may better cater for your budget.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

On arrival, I asked the lady who checked me in if a friend could join me for breakfast the following morning at my cost, she said NO.
We arranged for our dinner to be at the last order time of 8.30pm, we were not even offered a desert as it exceeded the kitchen closure time, approx 9.00pm
I asked for a coffee while sitting in the bar at 9.30pm I was refused as the kitchen was closed & informed that I had my own kettle in my room. The thing that really made me angry was the lady who refused me sat at the next table for a couple of hours with other people doing nothing.
The room was substandard like something from the mid 70's with the standard mould on the bathroom roof and the silicone around the shower tray. The decor was bland with the ceiling paper hanging down, all poor for my £98.00.
Next morning I had breakfast which I must say was very good, but got a shock to find more drinks on my final invoice than expected, they removed the cost after a little fuss and the barman uttered the majical words " I must have slipped a couple of drinks on your room by mistake " Yeh Yeh.
Anyway, they kind of have you as there is no other hotel near and as we were cycling, it was difficult to push on after a hard day.
It makes me sad when I invite guests from another country & let down by rude staff and poor facilities.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
We are very lucky here that, by far, most of our guests are lovely; friendly, pleasant and polite and who are here to have a wonderful time in this wonderful area. Very rarely do we get guests who are rude, arrogant and disrespectful of us and our staff. However, on the odd occasion that we do, we are expected to put up with their rudeness and arrogance without a murmur. Guests have the facility to go on to the internet in forums and websites such as this and vent their ire, whereas hoteliers are restrained by rules and etiquette that mean they cannot make personal comments about guests, no matter how unpleasant they may have been.

First of all, I utterly refute and reject your implication that I or my staff would EVER deliberately add items to a guest’s bill. We try very hard to be careful, honest and respectful in our dealings with our guests. Of course we are not infallible, and mistakes do sometimes happen but most errors are in our guests’ favour when we forget to add an item such as a bottle of wine, or a round of drinks. You fail to mention in your review that you spent a substantial amount of time insisting that we had added several of our specialist Scottish gins to your bill – until your companion arrived and told you that they had indeed had them the previous evening. As a gesture of goodwill we agreed to waive the other two pints of beer that you disputed. I was present when you claim the barman “uttered the magical words...” and can most strenuously refute that any such statement was made by him. As I said, we are very careful and honest in our dealings with our guests and resent any implication to the contrary.

I do not understand why you are making an issue about your friend not joining you for breakfast as you had already stated that he would not be in the area at breakfast time anyway so the point is irrelevant. As it happens, and as I explained to you (I did not just say “NO”!!) we do not serve breakfast to non-residents. We often get people coming in wanting breakfasts but we feel it is important to keep this mealtime just for hotel guests. We only have seating capacity for hotel guests in our breakfast room and we firmly believe that they are entitled to a relaxing breakfast, freshly cooked to order, without having to jostle for tables with people who are not resident.

I also do not understand why you consider your room “like something from the 70’s” – an era of gaudy colours and patterns if I remember rightly! The room was decorated only a couple of years ago, in neutral colours, with a neutral carpet and finished with bright touches of colour in the artwork, the curtains and the cushions. Okay, it does not meet with everybody’s taste but it is fresh and clean. I have checked the shower room and, yes there is a little mildew on the ceiling due to the en suite room being an internal room and reliant on an air ventilation system. This has now been dealt with. Thank you for bringing it to our attention, although it would have been helpful if you had mentioned this on departure - along with your other issues. I cannot, however, find any ceiling paper hanging down anywhere in the room – perhaps you are muddling us up with another hotel you have stayed in? All our rooms have been decorated since we took over the hotel and we try to ensure that the décor is kept fresh – and certainly very clean.

In response to your complaint regarding your meal and the lack of desserts or coffee: you had been absent from the table for around 30 minutes after you had finished your main course and we assumed, obviously wrongly, that you had finished your meal and did not want anything further from the kitchen which was then cleaned down for the night and the chef and kitchen staff stood down. I apologise for this misunderstanding. We have taken your comments on board and are now able to provide coffee after the kitchen is cleaned and shut down.

I am rather upset that you suggest that I sat at the next table for ”a couple of hours doing nothing”! I actually spent around half an hour saying goodbye to some regular customers who were leaving the next day. Socialising and chatting with our valued customers and guests is an important part of being an hotelier. Our guests are important to us and we do try to ensure they know that they are valued and important to us. We are also very proud of our staff who go out of their way to try to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay. We have obviously failed in this instance and I am sorry that you feel as you do about your stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I've known this hotel for 40 years, and am delighted that it's now light and airy with very pleasant owners and great service. A realistic price for accommodation and they do have single rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and like the ambience of the hotel. Our single rooms are very popular as we often have guests travelling alone or perhaps friends who prefer to stay in separate rooms.

We hope you will enjoy coming to Kinlochewe Hotel for another 40 years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kinlochewe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinlochewe Hotel

Address: Garve | Wester Ross, Kinlochewe IV22 2PA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Kinlochewe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochewe
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Kinlochewe Hotel Torridon
Kinlochewe Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinlochewe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.