We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by exterior. Very good cafe with a few minor niggles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whistle Stop Cafe

Whistle Stop Cafe
Old Village Hall | Kinlochewe, Kinlochewe IV22 2PE, Scotland
01445 760423
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Kinlochewe
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by exterior. Very good cafe with a few minor niggles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We called in for coffee and cake on a quiet raining weekday. It doesn't look great from the outside but with trust in TA we gave is a go and it's a good find.
A nice looking menu and plenty of seating available. The cakes we had were very good and l did overhear other people praising their food.
I appreciate this is my own opinion from a one time visit. I didn't find the service all that warm and welcoming and with only a few other customers there wasn't much atmosphere to fill the hall. I thought the menu was expensive but I have no reason to doubt the quality. This may be the angle the owners are going with which I can appreciate.
This is subjective criticism but based on a few cafes we've visited on holiday I found it lacking in the overall experience.
Ultimately I would return if in the area (I'm not sure there's much alternative) and would recommend it to others.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    12
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a fabulous place to eat in a beautiful location. We made a couple of visits while in the area ..... once for coffee and cake and then for a full cooked Scottish breakfast. Both were excellent. The latter cooked to order and served by efficient and friendly staff. I would certainly recommend this place. By the way, if you want to eat in the evening it's best to book and take your own bottle!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higher Kinnerton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected fabulousness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Holidaying in the remote village of Kinlochewe, we (me, husband and children 9 & 11) were not expecting to find a cafe/restaurant of this standard. Although the outside is modest (although neat and well kept), the food was excellent. I visited for coffee and cake on one occasion and for a full meal on another. We were lucky to get a table for the meal as hadn't booked in advance and a number of later visitors were turned away. The menu is varied and full of local ingredients. My son had a burger and my husband a home made beef pie both made with locally sourced meat. I am a vegetarian and had a number of delicious options. There is no child menu but it is possible to order smaller portions of the pasta dishes which was perfect for my 9 year old. The cafe has not license but customers are welcome to bring a bottle. The venue is beautifully decorated with local art and there are some quirky artefacts in toilets. Apparently the mens toilet has a Margaret Thatcher nut cracker! We received great service on both occasions we visited.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polmont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tribute to Liz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a regular stopping off place en route to the west coast, but not often enough on a Friday, when the scallops arrive. The last visit was unplanned and unannounced (on a Thursday evening so no scallops) The café was full apart from a table set for 6, but I was seated there anyway, enjoyed a beautifully cooked steak followed by the unbeatable sticky toffee pudding, and was on the road again within the hour. Can't wait to get back there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Food all day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Any kind of delicious food at any time of the day. There is no standing on ceremony. Come in as you are. Steaks for breakfast or whatever you want. Good food, reasonable prices, lovely setting. What more could you want.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whistle Stop Cafe also viewed

Torridon, Ross and Cromarty
Achnasheen, Ross and Cromarty
 
Poolewe, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to Whistle Stop Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whistle Stop Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.