We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected fabulousness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whistle Stop Cafe

Whistle Stop Cafe
Old Village Hall | Kinlochewe, Kinlochewe IV22 2PE, Scotland
01445 760423
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 restaurants in Kinlochewe
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Higher Kinnerton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected fabulousness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Holidaying in the remote village of Kinlochewe, we (me, husband and children 9 & 11) were not expecting to find a cafe/restaurant of this standard. Although the outside is modest (although neat and well kept), the food was excellent. I visited for coffee and cake on one occasion and for a full meal on another. We were lucky to get a table for the meal as hadn't booked in advance and a number of later visitors were turned away. The menu is varied and full of local ingredients. My son had a burger and my husband a home made beef pie both made with locally sourced meat. I am a vegetarian and had a number of delicious options. There is no child menu but it is possible to order smaller portions of the pasta dishes which was perfect for my 9 year old. The cafe has not license but customers are welcome to bring a bottle. The venue is beautifully decorated with local art and there are some quirky artefacts in toilets. Apparently the mens toilet has a Margaret Thatcher nut cracker! We received great service on both occasions we visited.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    69
    9
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Polmont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Tribute to Liz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a regular stopping off place en route to the west coast, but not often enough on a Friday, when the scallops arrive. The last visit was unplanned and unannounced (on a Thursday evening so no scallops) The café was full apart from a table set for 6, but I was seated there anyway, enjoyed a beautifully cooked steak followed by the unbeatable sticky toffee pudding, and was on the road again within the hour. Can't wait to get back there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Food all day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Any kind of delicious food at any time of the day. There is no standing on ceremony. Come in as you are. Steaks for breakfast or whatever you want. Good food, reasonable prices, lovely setting. What more could you want.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A treat in a shack!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

As others have said this is a wonderful find in a fairly isolated spot. Yes it looks rather like a shack from outside but do not let that stop you from going inside to savour wonderful fresh food that tastes delicious and served by friendly efficient staff. I had scallop and bacon and asparagus salad today and my husband enjoyed their own cream of tomato soup and both were wonderful. Look out for this if you are in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful discovery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We decided to have lunch here on the last day of our stay in Wester Alligin.
What a find!! Once through the door we were greeted with warmth and beauty. Fresh flowers everywhere and an amazing menu - we had great difficulty deciding what to eat. Lovely decor, full of interest and art of all kinds.
The best thing of all was the warm and friendly welcome and the conversations with the 'lady of the house' quite delightful!! Many, many thanks for making our last day so special.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whistle Stop Cafe also viewed

Kinlochewe, Ross and Cromarty
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 
Achnasheen, Ross and Cromarty
Poolewe, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to Whistle Stop Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whistle Stop Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.