We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pedras da Rainha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pedras da Rainha to your Saves list
Pedras da Rainha
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Cabanas de Tavira, Cabanas, Tavira 8800-591, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabanas
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

I only knew "Pedras del Rei", about 10km from this one, and i really found what i expected from his "sister": a big, nice pool, a beautiful garden, the grass always clean and cut. Also the tennis and padel courts were clean and usable.
It was great to have breakfast at the balcony in the morning.
The furniture wasn´t much but the essential for vacations, it had satellite TV and air conditioning, although we never used them, cause you have so much to do and see outside, the tours, the beaches, Tavira, and so on...
The staff was so helpful when we needed to print some documents, also giving us promotion prices for the summer and helping with the Buggy rental.

Room Tip: Ask to stay near the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    61
    24
    9
    3
See reviews for
50
59
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

Managed to get a cheap deal to Pedras and fell in love with it straight away. Our little bungalow was a home from home and being able to have breakfast on the sunny patio, lunch on the grass and a barbecue outside after dark was such a treat. Wether couldn't have been kinder with 73 degrees each day. We had hired a care and had out own parking space at the bungalow door. If we go back ( highly likely) , we would just use the train which is so handy. A short walk took us to the village where there was still a reasonable number of places open at the end of October. The beach is truly beautiful and reached by a boat trip of less than 5 mins.The complex itself though is just beautiful - and hello to our "neighbours" Simon and Sue who were so lovely and helpful

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

We stayed here in late September/ early October and had fabulous weather. Our accomodation had character and was of a good size with a nice balcony over looking the pool.
The only negative comments I can make was the tiled flooring was a nightmare with a 15month old baby( although we wouldnt have expected any other flooring) and the steps up to the apartment were fairly steep so we had to take great care when carrying our daughter up and down. Obviously this wouldn't be a problem with families who had older children,
The room service was abit of a puzzle! The bedlinen and towels were changed on a regular basis but nothing else seemed to be cleaned. We kept our kitchen, bathroom and floors clean whilst we stayed there. I would have expected the apartment to be cleaned at least once in the 10 days of our holiday?
At the poolside there was always plenty of loungers and space to spread out. The pool was never overcrowded and was of a good sze. The childrens pool looked a little tired though and was in need of a new floor. However this didn't stop our baby enjoying it, along with all the other children.
The staff were always friendly and very helpful in everything we asked of them.
The hotel was in a great location. It was a short walk to all the bars and restaurants, with plenty of places to eat and drink. The boardwalk along the shoreline was great for our baby to run off some energy each evening before we ate. We particularly liked the tapas restaurant, the service was a little slow but the food made up for it.
We enjoyed the short boat trip to take us to the beach, we just wished it could have been a little longer! The beach was superb for those wanting to get away from it all. Very relaxing and not overcrowded.
We found the train station was only a 10 minute walk away so we took the opportunity to venture along the coastline to many beautiful places. There is also a bus stop opposite the hotel. Had we known how accesible and cheap the transport was we wouldnt have hired a car.
We would definatley reccomend this location to anyone that likes to get away from the hustle and bustle but with enough to keep them occupied if they so choose. We had a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila Nova de Gaia, Portugal
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Pedras da Rainha is a 5-minute drive to Tavira and to boats to the beach. It is a typical village with many houses (mostly just one floor) with lots of trees and green. Ideal for families or groups of friends who enjoy a quiet holiday. Almost a photocopy of Pedras D'el Rei

All houses have gardens, a great advantage for resting in the afternoons or hot nights. The swimming pool is at the center of the village. In addition there is a newspaper shop, stores, supermarket, bar, restaurant, playground for the kids, tennis court and even a golf course. The farther from the reception, the quieter it is. You have three kinds of accomodations: just a room, with breakfast, or half board.

I stayed at a T1 with a bedroom, living room and kitchen. TV is charged a part. The house is Algarve style, quite simple, clean and comfortable. Accommodates four people easily. You still have a patio with tables and chairs. I chose to stay away from the reception area, next to the nearest beach.

Parking is easy because you can take the car to the door of the house.

The employees were always helpful. Walking through the village you always see one of them cleaning and making everything presentable.

There is a nice restaurant whose dishes are recipes are mostly from Algarve but there is also food from other areas of Portugal and Europe. From 0 to10, I would give it a 6.

There is no extra charge for animals.

The resort is located near a village. To go to the beach you walk to the pier (5 min) and take a boat. It is free for guests in the village. The beach is very nice. The water is not always warm but there is a lot of sand and of nature. There are several bars but they are not always open. If you have a car you should take advantage of the long beaches in a 30-minute drive. It is forbidden to bring animals to the beach and you can pay a fine; but if you go to more remote areas you may take your dog. I did it.

Beautiful Tavira is the nearest town. A small town but with lots of great cakes. Don’t miss the two cafes by the fountain. The Don Rodrigo is the king! If you're a fan of ice cream you will also have many choices. Food? Of course it must be seafood, fish and shellfish. A must throughout the Algarve!

Night life at the resort, just the coffee shop and the restaurant. So go to or near Tavira and certainly you'll find things to do and have fun.

Great choice for relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Started on the first day as we we're placed as faraway from the pool and the one shop as you could imagine, having 3 young children (10, 6 ,4 ) made things difficult,asked to be moved in which they obliged half way through the next day.We we're half board, The Breakfast, every morning we had to ask to fill the orange juice , milk, empty boxes of cereal, mouldy fruit. told to pay extra for the toast as it was not included and had to request bacon and egg. there was nothing cooked hot.Evening meal was much the same, food was served outside under very subdued lighting, the cold food was warm and the hot food was cold, nothing for the kids and it was the same food repeated Every day,..... got to pay for sunloungers around the pool, ( never Before ) cracked and missing tiles every where. never once seen a pool cleaner ( honest )....you have to take a road train, which was good then a boat just to get to the beach again incurring further cost. ( Fantastic beach ). MOSQUITO- WOW. everywhere , every night,even the locals constantly swatting and applying repellent of which we spent around 45 euros .Most of the staff are very friendly and helpful, most of them. I could go on and on.All in all it has been the worst family holiday i have ever been on. I will never return

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset england
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

i accually stayed here 14-15 years ago , my boys were 3 and 9 at the time, we all had a great time, weather was 80 degrees,it was october 95, the kids dont remember much about it, unfortunatly my camera decided not to work and all my photos got ruined and couldnt be printed out, my son vagually remembers running round the villa, and running into the villa wall, and cut his head, i thought it might be nice to put together some picturesof the holiday, as it was our first foreign holiday together as a family.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

Stayed at Pedras de Rainha for a week in july arrived late at night , when we went in we were pleasently surprised. The villa was very big, had all we needed for a comfortable stay and pleanty outside space, Had 3 seperate areas outside to sit so we always had the sun. The pool and reception was close enough if we needed them and far enough away when we sat outside we heard no noise and could not see the pool as our villa was very private and quiet. The staff were always nice and house keeping were good and called on a regular basis. Cabanas is a traditional fishing village and lovely and quiet if thats what you want, not for the young party crowd, we just wanted a quiet , sunny place, we were able to play in the garden of the villa every evening . The villa made our holiday as we felt we had so much space, i may not of enjoyed it as much had we booked a apartment. The beach was quirky as the boat trip to it was a novelty for us all, and it is a beautiful beach. A week was long enough as it is quiet but nice, we also went on three day trips , did not hire a car but found it easy to get around as the train into Faro is very near and good value and reception were very helpful with info about transport, our holiday Rep was good and it was worth our while to go to his welcome meeting.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pedras da Rainha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedras da Rainha

Address: Cabanas de Tavira, Cabanas, Tavira 8800-591, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira > Cabanas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabanas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pedras da Rainha 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Pedras da Rainha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedras Rainha Holiday Village Hotel Tavira
Pedras Rainha Holiday Village Tavira
Pedras Da Rainha Cabanas, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pedras da Rainha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.