We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place and so friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabanas Brasserie

Cabanas Brasserie
Rua Ilha da Abobora no 01 | Behind the new church of Cabanas, Cabanas, Tavira, Portugal
966 314 848
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 51 Restaurants in Cabanas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $13
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A little off the beaten track, but you'll find it was well worth the effort after enjoying our food.Outside dining in the summer months.Vegetarian and childrens menu available.Main courses between 7.50 - 12 euros.Daily specials of starters and maincourse.Homemade desserts,or call in for a nightcap and delicious homemade dessert on your way home.....
Yorkshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely place and so friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Lovely food and reasonable price. Made a real effort to make sure we enjoyed our meal - excellent company and entertaining hosts. Definitely worth finding, look for the flyers on bins and lamp-posts.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    27
    8
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chalais, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden gem.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Lovely food, well priced, well cooked and well presented. Lovely people, Fernando definitely makes you feel very welcome. Hidden away amongst apartments so probably rely on word of mouth .... only downdside is the surroundings, feel a little cafe-ish, but don't let that put you off.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, UK
1 review
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My partner and me were in Cabanas recently for the first time. We were given recomendations for several restaurants. We had our first meal at Cabanas Brasserie on the monday, as it is closed on Sundays.

Both my partner and me were blown away by the quality of the food we ordered and ate, for us it was truly a taste extraviganzer! So much so that we ended up eating our evening meals there for the rest of our stay, working our way through the menu, and we were never dissapointed by the quality of the food or the service we received.

We got to know the owners, Gill and Fernando, quite well. They are a superb couple who clearly work well together to provide a very relaxed and homely experience to their customers. No pretentiousness here, just friendly, good, down to earth quality service and quite outstanding food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A proper restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have visited this restaurant several times every year for the last 12 years.
It is a proper restaurant, not a snack bar with all the food freshly prepared by English chef Gill.
There are specials every day and if you give a days notice Gill will prepare items to order such as Skate wings, Rabbit casserole and even birthday cakes! She does not prepare large amounts of portions prefering to have fresh every day. Often Fernando, her partner, will say there is only one portion of this or that left, or that some items are all gone, but that is the price you pay for fresh cooked food.
The prices are very reasonable and do not reflect the quality.
My favorite starter is grilled chicken livers and of all the super desserts I love the cold cream pie; my wife usually goes for the Chocolate mouuse.
Fernando has a wicked sense of humour and loves a bit of friendly banter with the customers.
You are not rushed though your meal but allowed to take your time, which is my idea of a pleasent evening out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Didn't quite do it for us - not "Always Great"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This restaurant is worthy enough but, tellingly perhaps, was the only restaurant we visited in Cabanas that didn't seem to have any local customers.

The food was quite average. Starters were ribs and a salad which were OK. There wasn't a great amount of choice for mains but we visited because lamb was on the menu which my wife enjoys. She ordered lamb but was told it wasn't available because it was "out of season". That's funny because it seemed to be available everywhere else... We had a Normandy Pork and a Steak - again Ok but that's all - nothing at all special.

The service (from the owner) wasn't brilliant either. We started off with a bottle of wine but had to wait several minutes for the waiter to realise (my eyes followed him around the room) that we had no glasses to drink from. The guy was friendly enough though. All in all I suspect that this restaurant is largely patronised by the people who live / visit the apartments in the immediate vicinity (Brits and Dutch) and I doubt we will return.

The people running this place are very nice but anyone who things food is wonderful here needs to try some of the other restaurants in town maybe.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabanas Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to Cabanas Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabanas Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.