We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique old Inn with B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fleece Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Fleece Inn to your Saves list
The Fleece Inn
The Cross, Evesham, Worcestershire, WR11 7JE | Bretforton, Bretforton WR11 7JE , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Bretforton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
shropshire. UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Unique old Inn with B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

In the centre of a picturesque Cotswolds village (Bretforton) is this relatively unspoiled gem from bygone days. It's warmly welcoming whether you're drinking, or eating or making music or staying the night. It even has an orchard so I believe there's camping available. There are several stone-flagged rooms each with a roaring open fire, inglenooks, settles. The beer is brilliant as the landlord's a real connoisseur! We were impressed with the lovely evening meal despite it being a busy Saturday night. And the B&B is all you could hope for too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    18
    9
    6
    11
See reviews for
23
49
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We went to the Fleece Inn for the Apple and Ale Festival in October 2012, as we did in 2011. It's a really nice event, good selection of beers and ciders, local cheese, good food, music, Morris dancers and apple pressing demonstration. The place itself is really nice and the grounds are children friendly with a little playground and lots of trees to climb on and enough place to run around while the adults are having a pint or two.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a wonderful historic pub which I have been going to since before it belonged to the National trust. The problem is that the Trust leases it out so the tenant obviously tries to make enough out of it as possible. Gradually this is eroding its unique character. Often tables are reserved for diners so that there is nowhere for drinkers to sit, strange and unsympathetic tables and chairs are being squeezed in, knick-knacks and framed photographs are beginning to proliferate. There are often 'events' taking place which no doubt bring in income but spoil the atmosphere. When the Trust took it over they completely altered the bar area. I can't imagine they would treat any of their other historic properties in such a cavalier way.

I think the Trust should really consider if all of this is appropriate. Their remit is conservation not profit

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our second visit here, and slightly disappointed this time (2nd October 2012, lunchtime). Firstly, though, the beer ( I had 'Village Idiot'- Whitehorse Brewery) was excellent.
Ordered the , f*ggots, mash and mushy peas for myself, and my wife ordered the red mullet. It was 50 minutes before they appeared, and the mullet was such a small portion that my wife - who doesn't have a large appetitie - said that she still felt hungry afterwards, although the meal itself was very tasty. The f*ggots came with tinned garden peas, instead of the advertised mushy peas, and with no explanation. Also, the meal was a couple of degrees cooler than it should have been. No grumbles about the quantity, though.
No question that the pub itself is a gem, with the added major bonus of no instrusive background 'music' being played.
After one good, and now one indifferent, visit, we will give it another try in the future.
By the way, I have had to write 'f*ggots' because if I had included the 'a', it was termed by Tripadvisor as being a 'profanity'. PC gone berserk by Tripadvisor!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, UK
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We live only a few miles from the Fleece and over the years have enjoyed many drunken nights there with friends, at the many festivals and events they run or as a couple sampling the very best local ales and ciders. Today however we visited with some friends over from the USA. We had a light lunch of Stilton and Broccoli soup with a ploughman's lunch to share. The food was wonderful, and while it wasn't as cheap as can be found elsewhere the the service and friendliness our American Friends were shown made us proud to be British. Oh, and the Ales and Ciders were as good as I've come to expect at the Fleece and were far better than our American friends had ever tasted!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK Midlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spent a very enjoyable evening with friends who live locally to the Fleece. They recommended it a a place to have a god evening meal. I have to say that it was all we had hoped for. Delicious baked Camembert starter which two of us shared followed by mains of crab linguine, sausage and mash and a rump steak. Suits were bead and butter pudding, locally made ice cream. All the food was excellent. Service was great. Our friends did say that the place has had a mixed reputation food wise but now seems to have settled down. Apparently a previous staff member who had left is now back and appears to have brought some organisation and quality with them. All I can say is that our experience was great. The atmosphere of the place is all you would expect. Very quaint and cozy. Yes its a local pub so you have to expect that there are relationships that exist that may make an outsider feel like they have walked into someone elses living room but I think you just have to roll with it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My hubby and I travel over 150 miles to go to The Fleece and every time we do we are not dissapointed. Food is always good and staff friendly. The building itself is superb and well worth going to see it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fleece Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fleece Inn

Address: The Cross, Evesham, Worcestershire, WR11 7JE | Bretforton, Bretforton WR11 7JE , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Bretforton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bretforton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fleece Inn is the perfect rural retreat just a stone's throw from the beautiful Cotswold's boasting roaring open fires for the winter months, open garden and apple orchard for the summer sun and a friendly welcome all year round. With real ales and traditional ciders aplenty this historical pub is a favourite with CAMRA members and the welcoming atmosphere and good food attract visitors from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Fleece Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fleece Hotel Bretforton
The Fleece Inn Bretforton, Worcestershire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fleece Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.