We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the comforts of home in the wilderness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nimpo Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nimpo Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nimpo Lake Resort
Save
You added Nimpo Lake Resort to your Saves list
1595 Nimpo Creek Rd, Nimpo Lake, British Columbia V0L 1R0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Burnaby, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“All the comforts of home in the wilderness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We spent one night in the aptly-named Birdwatcher's cabin and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We slept soundly on the comfortable bed, enjoyed the hot shower and the kitchen was well-equipped for our needs. Waking up and enjoying coffee on the porch overlooking the lake was a delight. Checking our email with the wifi was a shameful perk. Thank you Kerry, it was a treat to meet you and chat in the lovely gazebo. I hope we get to visit your lovely resort in the future -- this time for a longer visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry J, Owner at Nimpo Lake Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hi Marie, Thank you so much for your review of Nimpo Lake Resort. We are pleased that you had a good experience here and we look forward to seeing you again. Your feed back is greatly appreciated.
Kerry and Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    2
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We only stayed two nights at Nimpo, the rest of our time was at the amazing Wilderness Cabin on Wilderness Lake that Nimpo Resort are one of the bookers for. As the previous reviewers have said the owners were very friendly, helpful, accommodating and provided us with invaluable advice for our time at Wilderness Cabin right from the time we first got in touch.
The cabin we stayed in at Nimpo had all that we needed, it was clean and tidy and well prepared. During our short time there we were able to fish from the dock and make use of kayaks which are provided for the guests to use whenever they want.

As Wilderness Cabin isn’t listed on Tripadvisor I’ll use this space to review the place. Its amazing. We visited in mid August and spent three days and nights exploring the area and fishing in the northern of the two lakes there. Fresh water from the glacial streams, fresh rainbow trout from lake, a cosy cabin and the ability to make a make-shift fridge from permanent ice-shelves nearby. It was certainly warm enough to be dressed in shorts and t-shirt at that time of year, the only reason to cover-up and the only negative was the amount of mosquitoes and horse flies, but that goes with the territory and on a day with a good breeze they didn’t cause too much annoyance. The cabin had gas for the hob and lights, and a wood burning stove. We cooked our fish on the fire outside, plus there was the option of the hob. It wasn’t that cold at night, but there was plenty of bedding if needed. The glacial lake water is cold up there, but we did take a dip in the lake albeit briefly.

The flight in is also an amazing experience in itself, landing on the lake in a float plane after six months of planning the trip was a pretty special moment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry J, Owner at Nimpo Lake Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Hello,
Thanks again for writing your review of our resort and outpost cabin. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in 2012, and we do hope that you will be able to return again. We hope you had some wonderful travels in 2013. Regards, Kerry and Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed at Nimpo Lake Resort from July 6-9, 2012. We arrived late and the owners were very accomodating. Lovely set up. We brought our RV and had the campground all to ourselves. Tied up at the dock, no extra charge. Fishing was great and so was the weather. Lot's of mosquitos, but to be expected at this time of year. Even with the bugs, we had a great time. The owners are fabulous and helpful. I would totally recommend this resort for a wilderness adventure with all the ammenities this city girl needs!

Room Tip: Pioneer cabin is right on the lake. Owners gave us a tour, and we plan to return!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry J, Owner at Nimpo Lake Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Hello,
We missed seeing you in 2013! Thank you for your great review of our resort in 2012. We do hope that your travels will bring you back our way in the future. Regards, Kerry and Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, . B.C.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed in the Pioneer cabin for a week, which is right on the water's edge in May 2011. You can fish off the balcony if you want...we had everything we needed. They have boats, canoes, kayaks. Firepit outside the cabin. It was peaceful and the fishing was great. Sitting on the dock, listening to the Loon's, just loved it. The owners Kerry and Ron were wonderful. ( Even knocked on the door one day, offering home made muffins.) It is the perfect place to stay when exploring the area. We loved it so much we went back for another few weeks in Sept 2011 and will definitely be going back this year , as this area really grows on you, and everyone is so friendly.

Room Tip: The pioneer cabin is right on the water, they also have a honeymoon cabin on the hill overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nimpo Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nimpo Lake Resort

Address: 1595 Nimpo Creek Rd, Nimpo Lake, British Columbia V0L 1R0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Chilcotin > Nimpo Lake
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Nimpo Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our full-service log cabins are a perfect blend of modern convenience & rustic charm. The cabins are set on or near the lake, with views of the lake & mountains. Enjoy camp fires outside your cabin or campsite, or in our large, screened in gazebo. Pets are welcome. RV & tent sites available. Rent a boat or bring your own.Great fishing. A great place to relax and enjoy nature, hike or mountain bike.The area also offers horse back riding, & flightseeing. For a really unique wilderness experience, consider a trip to our fly-in outpost cabin at WILDERNESS LAKE. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nimpo Lake Resort Chilcotin, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nimpo Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.