We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of I Colori Del Sole

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added I Colori Del Sole to your Saves list
I Colori Del Sole
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   via la farina 15, 95013 Fiumefreddo di Sicilia, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Il Colori del Sole did not dissappoint. The rooms were spacious, very clean, comfortable. Towels were changed daily which was a lovely surprise but unexpected. The location was very convenient and in a quiet street. Two minutes down the road were many little shops full of local foods and merchandise as well as supermarkets. The breakfast was your traditional italian breakfast consisting of just baked warm crusty italian bread (which Marco would go and buy every morning, dried toast, butter and jam. There was always percolated coffee and warm milk to fill the breakfast room with a beautiful aroma. He also had cereals and cakes. Marco, the proprietor was very polite. helpful and knowledgable and always had time to have a chat. His english is very fluent as he is well travelled. It was a pleasure to have stayed there and would have no hesitation staying there again. It was our home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Marco Vadala, the owner, made us feel like at home away from home. We had a spacious, comfortable and quiet room. It had an air conditioner but we didn't use it, we just opened the windows in our bedroom and in our bathroom thus creating sufficient draft to keep us comfortable through the night. We used Fiumefreddo as our starting point of our travels around Sicily and returned back to it at the end of our one month's travels as to our home. We traveled around Sicily by trains and buses, we found Fiumefreddo as a perfect and tranquil base for such travels. Marco even offered us to pick us up at Fiumefreddo's train station which we did not need as we are seasoned hikers and Marco's B&B is only a pleasant 15 minutes' walk from the train station. We especially enjoyed conversing with Marco (Marco is fluent in colloquial English) over his gourmet breakfasts in the little garden at the back of the house. We appreciated tremendously Marco's help during Italy-wide strike of public transportation pinko commies. The sight of erupting Etna from Fiumefreddo is out of this world. If you are lucky enough, you will also experience a rain of volcanic sand over Fiumefreddo. In short - we will come to Marco's place again when we are in Sicily next time!

Room Tip: The room in the back is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

The host, Marco, helped us way more than I could have hoped for. Since I only speak English, it was a huge bonus that he was completely fluent and conversational in English. He was so social and generous with his time that he repeatedly helped us with many of the problems we encountered even though none of them were related to him or his B and B. He helped with our itinerary, figuring out our telephone, finding a place to eat and use the internet, and then when we lost something there when leaving, he even searched his house twice and mailed it to us. Especially with the fun conversations we had in the mornings over good breakfasts (after we invited him to join us), it really felt like we were staying with a very gracious long-lost cousin. The room, etc. was all good also, but Marco was exceptional.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

I Colori Del Sole has excellent location to visit Etna (south and north) and Taormina whereas Fiumefreddo is a very typical Italian town, not so crowed/touristic as Taormina.
Rooms are very comfortable and price/value is much more reasonable than in Taormina.
So as essence, we would come here every time again, when passing by the Etna region.

Burkhard Jaeger & Paul Louis

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

We spent two nights at I Colori Del Sole in Fiuemefreddo in February and had a wonderful time. Marco the owner couldn't have been more helpful and gave us lots of information about the local area and the best places to visit. We were travelling around Sicily by train with another couple and because it was raining when we arrived Marco picked us up from the railway station in his car and drove us to the B&B. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and there is a kettle and tea tray for guests to use. As we were there in February the top of Mount Etna was covered by snow and looked beautiful. We had a day trip around the base of Mount Etna by train, and also visited the town of Taormina which has lovely buildings and great views. We will definitely stay at I Colori Del Sole if we visit Sicily again, and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

After a long trip from Germany through Italy we, my boy-friend and I, arrived in Sicilia and drove through Fiumefreddo, where we saw the friendly-looking B&B with the nice name "I Colori Del Sole". We were lucky to find a vacant double room there. The owner is very likeable and communicative, speaks English very well and told us many insider tips ref. sightseeing and restaurants. The room is cude and colourful, spacious, very clean, there is even an air conditioner. The bathroom belonging to the room is very big and also hygienically perfect. Breakfast is typically Italian, sweet, with good coffee, bread, fresh fruit from the island. You eat it in the nice little garden behind the house. Parking is no problem in the street, at no charge, most of the time directly in front of the B&B.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

We spent 3 wonderful nights in I Colori Del Sole. The B&B is located in the centre of Fiumefreddo, the rooms are roomy and airy, the breakfast was plentiful with fresh fruit included. Marco's wife even made yeast free flat bread for me as I am on a yeast free diet. Marco was a perfect host and enjoyed sharing his knowledge about the local area. We hired bikes and rode to the Fiumefreddo Reserve, Cottone beach and them along the water. It was a fun day and highly recommended. I Colori Del Sole is just a great place for couples and also families.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to I Colori Del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Colori Del Sole

Address: via la farina 15, 95013 Fiumefreddo di Sicilia, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Fiumefreddo di Sicilia
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fiumefreddo di Sicilia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — I Colori Del Sole 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B is situated in the center of Fiumefreddo of Sicily (CT), Town to the slopes of the Etna and 2 Km from the beach of Marina di Cottone. Opened all the year, the structure has three pleasant and comfortable double rooms with bathroom (equipped of climatizzatore and TV), a delicious garden where breakfast is served. Our structure is far 15 km from the famous Taormina, 35 Km from Catania and its aereoporto, 13 Km from the throats of the river Alcantara, 20 km from Aci Trezza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your I Colori Del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Colori Del Sole Hotel Fiumefreddo Di Sicilia
I Colori Del Sole Fiumefreddo Di Sicilia, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage I Colori Del Sole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.