We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Wonderful Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rawley Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rawley Resort to your Saves list
Rawley Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2900 Kellys Road | P.O. Box 189, Port Severn, Ontario L0K 1S0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Severn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Thornhill, Ontario
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Another Wonderful Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We visited for a second time in Aug 2013. It is just a comfortable venue to relax and enjoy the setting and the great food. The prices are reasonable and I don't think you can get a better quality property in Muskoka. The only drawback is the fact that there is not a lot of local activity but Bala is a small community worthwhile visiting with a great bakery. Also, the Trent Severn Big Chute Marine Railway Lock 44 is close by as is Lock 45 right next door. This is a great property to visit and relax and enjoy the Spa Services.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerRawleyResort, Owner at Rawley Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
First of all, we are truly happy to receive a second great review from you regarding your recent stay. To be able to share in making your second stay with us delightful couldn't have pleased us more. Hopefully we can carry on the tradition for many years to come and soon I hope.
On the other side about your comments on things to do in the area please do not hesitate to contact me directly for some suggestions as to venues nearby Rawley. (even more bakeries)! I would be more than pleased to hear from you and we can discuss in more detail the following:
some uaint shops in nearby Coldwater which is close by.Very nice clothing store. Local activities include the Martry's Shrine (where Pope John visited) St. Marie among the Huron's, Discovery Harbour, Kings Wharf theatre, a boat trip on the day "Tripper" to Beausoleil Island in Georgian Bay (our kitchen can prepare a picnic lunch. Cycling and walking trails, horseback riding. Or you can sit back relax, visit the spa, sun at the pool, sip a refreshing beverage on the patio, maybe a banana split and sit on our waterfront Muskoka chairs, enjoy watching the boats go by on their way to Georgian Bay.
Looking forward to hearing from you and again thank you the staff are going to be so pleased to read your very thoughtful and kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    23
    8
    8
    4
See reviews for
17
64
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had a friend visiting who wanted to take us out for a special dinner. Two of us had the Lobster Pasta dish. On first appearance it look like the dish contained lots of coral and white pieces of lobster meat. Upon tasting the food we realized it was carrot and cauliflower! After we complained the chef brought out a 3-4oz tail that he split between us. At $30.00 a plate we would have expected lots of lobster... The chef did the right thing and did not charge us. The dinning room is wonderful, and the waitress was great! This is a great venue and could do very well, but this isn't the first disappointment we've had here with what comes out of the kitchen.

Room Tip: We did not stay at the hotel which I believe to be very good. We ate in the hotel dinning room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerRawleyResort, Owner at Rawley Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
I would have preferred receiving your feedback personally and I know you hae my phone number. You know me and you could have spoken with me.
I don't feel giving Rawley a poor rating as you did is fair given the fact that we have all tried so hard to please you and make the situation right.
There is always service hiccups in any business. It was a very embarassing siutation, not only for our staff, but for the other guests sitting around you. The Chef was very insulted by your other comments that you shared with him and others around you. You casually dismissed the server and Chef's feelings. You can offer constructive criticism about a problem with kind words. Kind words produce positive results.
It stings, but we have done all we can to try and please you and nothing has worked. Along with the two Trip Advisor reviews submitted from you we have received many verbal complaints on everyone of your past visits. This is not an isolated visit to Rawley, and each visit you have complained. We feel we are being a good neighbour. We provide a beautiful asset to the community, a fine place,excellent fare and a fair value for the prices we charge. With the lovely atmosphere, beautiful landscaped grounds, wonderful staff, and entertainment the majority of our guests are very pleased. We strive to offer the best of service to ensure a great stay and dining room experience for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We just returned from a 2 night, midweek stay in a premium, one bedroom, waterview suite. From the moment we arrived, to when we reluctantly departed, this boutique resort provided us with an exceptional experience...........our suite was outstanding, the decor quiet but elegant, the view serene, the service excellent, the food gourmet quality (thanks Andreas!). The dining room staff, MaryLynn, Kaci and Carly made every meal a pleasure. Evening entertainment provided by a guitarist (Adrien) and a pianist during dinners was very enjoyable.

The owners, Liz and Barry, were visible and it was a delight to have met them and shared our experiences with them.

We have stayed at Deerhurst many times, but as far as we are concerned, Rawley Resort is now our first choice in the Huronia/Muskoka region.

Ted & Sandy

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerRawleyResort, Owner at Rawley Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. You stayed in one of our most popular one bedroom suites and we are pleased that you enjoyed it. The staff and Chef and going to be so pleased when they receive a copy of your review. We have a great team here so It's very rewarding for everyone when they work so hard and enjoy their job so much that guests like yourselves let them know their hard work is appreciated. We want you to sit back, relax, laugh and enoy yourselves and from my observation you did. That's the goal we strive for.
We truly look forward to welcoming you back and we hope that will be very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Rawley Inn this past Saturday in May. We were so pleased with the whole experience.
The room was ready upon our arrival and it was beautiful. Our balcony allowed us a lovely view of the water and the property. It was a great weekend weather wise for May. We met some nice people at pool side and enjoyed their company later that night sitting around the piano with Eric as he led us all in a sing song. What a blast.
My gluten free dinner was outstanding. Chef Andy was right on top of things. He came and talked to my husband and I and made sure our meal was everything we ordered. Mary Lynn was a super server and we had a good chat with her.
The staff on the front desk were very nice and efficient. Always it is nice to see Liz and Barry the owners. What a great experience. We were happy to have been back at the Rawley after a couple of years. It is still our favourite spot to relax and enjoy some quality time together. Thanks Rawley staff for making us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: A suite facing the water with a balcony is our favourite. They have lovely lounge chairs and it is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerRawleyResort, Owner at Rawley Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
All of us at Rawley thank you for your nice review. We are pleased that we made your stay so enjoyable....from check in, suite, to weather,singing around the piano to the service and the food. We are very conscious of our guests food allergies from the time you make your reservation with front desk to the Chef being creative we try our best to make sure your meals are to your liking if we can.
It is such a pleasure to have you here with us. Please know that I am going to share your review with all the Rawley team. They'll be so pleased to read it. Thank you for taking the time to send this review we really appreciate it.
Come back to us very soon !! We'll be waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torontoq
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Me and my wife had honestly one of the best weekends ever. The rooms were magnificent. The furniture is gorgeous and the service is amazing. The staff were just awesome from the front desk to the wait staff even the chef! He came out to talk to us to ask us how our meals were...which were the best plated and tasting meals ever!! There was nothing bad to say about the Rawley resort. I would highly recommend this place to any one looking for romance and luxury

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerRawleyResort, Owner at Rawley Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review of your stay with us. We are all pleased that we made it the best
weekend ever for you both!! Extra special is what we like to hear. Everyone here enjoyed both your company. You put a smile on everyone's face here. Thank you for that.
I know the Chef will certainly be happy that you enjoyed your meals.
It's great to hear you are coming back .... we hope soon. I will make sure all the staff reads your kind words. Again, thank you from all of us at Rawley Resort & Marina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

The owner needs to butt out and let the employees do their job. I remember when they first opened after rebuilding and wanted the walk in business from the area. Last time we where there we waited at the bar for our table for 6 when we over heard the owner tell the staff " no more walk in's, the tables are for hotel guests" We had been patronizing the restaurant regularly since they opened and this is thanks they extend to not just us but the other regulars from the area. Good luck with the tourist crowd in the off season

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerRawleyResort, Owner at Rawley Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Please know that your situation had nothing to do with the owner or the Manager. This is a normal restaurant way of doing business. If the dining room reservation book is full then we cannot accept walk-in business. I am sure you would not be a happy customer if you had a reservation and arrived here to find out that we took a walk-in group before your reservation and you had to wait to be seated.
The majority of our in house guests book their dining room reservations in advance when they book their suite reservation. This way between call in reservations and guests reservations we know in advance how many walk-ins we can sit without overbooking or keeping guests waiting.
You obviously were the last walk in seating for the evening. I don't feel because I informed the dining Manager that we were at our limit for the dining room seating that I did anything wrong.
I am sorry that you were listening to my conversation and took it the wrong way. It was a business decision not something that was meant to offend anyone.
Please know that we appreciate walk-in business, and always have. We try our best to look after everyone. I realize it is not always convenient to make a reservation, but we highly recommend it especially in the busy season. Of course we do not want to disappoint anyone.
I notice that your last visit here was in June 2013 so it appears that you didn't dine with us in quite awhile. I am concerned that there is more to your story than what's in your review so if you would like to discuss this further with me I would be more than pleased to sit down and discuss it with you. As you live close by then you can call me and set up a time for a meeting. I would be more than pleased to speak with you.
Hopefully yourselves, and as you say other residents in the area do join us for dinner all season long. We appreciate your business and look forward to greeting you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSalle, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Lovely facility, even in the cold, snowy weather we had this Christmas season. Our suite was done to a T! Fireplace was on, soft music- what a first impression after an easy check-in done with a smile. The suite was very nicely appointed, bed very comfortable, scented pillows a luxury touch.
Dinner was a tasty, eye appealing affair. A little disappointed that much of the wine list was not available; however, we were not disappointed with our final choice. Breakfast was equally delicious, served piping hot. The mango slush was a fun, tasty add-on. Service for both meals was excellent. Thanks Mary Lynn!k
Overall, a delightful experience and I have raving about it, will definitely be a guest again.

Room Tip: Suggest waterfront for summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barryhoneyman, Owner at Rawley Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
we appreciate you taking the time to write such a nice review of your stay with us. You are so right about the cold, snowy weather we're experiencing this winter. It's nice to view the white, winter scene from your warm and comfortable accommodations.
We apologize for our wine list. Your review was shared with the right departments and the wine list was updated as quickly as possible. Our staff have a keen interest in making sure food allergies are noted and they advise the chef of the allergies right away. This way he can put together a menu ahead of time..
We are always delighted to know we can assist with any requests our customers ask to ensure their stay is the best it can be.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Think Spring ! !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rawley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawley Resort

Address: 2900 Kellys Road | P.O. Box 189, Port Severn, Ontario L0K 1S0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Port Severn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Severn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rawley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique all one bedroom suite waterfront hotel. Fine amenities compliment our upscale furnishings and fine linens. Some suites have hospitality kitchens to prepare light lunches. Spa on site. Piano bar. From rain forest shower head to superior personalized service we look forward to entertaining you and yours. Free Wifi. 1-1/4 hr. from 401 off 400. Easy off highway. Perfect for Corporate events, wedding,private parties,families, and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Rawley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rawley Hotel Port Severn
Rawley Hotel Muskoka
Rawley Resort Port Severn, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rawley Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.