We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great get away!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rawley Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Severn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rawley Resort
Save
You added Rawley Resort to your Saves list
2900 Kellys Road | P.O. Box 189, Port Severn, Ontario L0K 1S0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Severn
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great get away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Rawley is easy to get to from Toronto if you want a few days away. Neat location just across from the Severn Locks, so boat watching is the most stress you'll encounter. The people, food and accommodations are excellent. Yes, the piano player was there...and very talented indeed!
Our only nits, one which is in the design and the other easily fixed......the AC units are in the bedroom, (rooms have living areas, which is where the units should have been placed)so you have to get used the noise. The other was the bread with dinner. With the chef being European, were expecting something a bit more interesting.
Can't forget the Spa.....very welcoming, clean and great services!
Overall, awesome spot.

Room Tip: We had 2nd floor in main building...corner unit looking out to water, with huge but cozy veranda. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerRawleyResort, Owner at Rawley Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your remarks on the staff, food, piano and accommodations. These comments will be shared among our team.
It is clear that we have not lived up to your expectations and I can assure you your experience is not consistent with the majority of the feedback we receive in regards to our suites. We want our guests to have a pleasant stay so we strive to do our best to make that happen.
It is extremely important to all of the team here to know that our guests are leaving happy.
I have addressed your displeasure regarding the buns with Chef Andreas and I know he will make every concerted effort to improve on the buns.
Some of our suites, not all, have a/c units in the bedrooms. For the couple of guests that the sound bothers we recommend that they leave the fan running all the time. This way the sound is consistent and not turning off and on.
I hope that this did not have a negative influence on you so you will return for another stay at Rawley Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    21
    8
    8
    4
See reviews for
17
63
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ingersoll, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have long been looking for a really decent resort north of Toronto. We have just returned from the Rawley today after spending 5 days there. The resort is beautiful and clean. The room we had was a suite and spacious, very nicely furnished and sooooo comfortable. The bed was great and the sheets perfect for a good night sleep. The food is very good. The chef has a style all his own, his offerings are tasty and perfect, the dining room is lovely and serene with a piano player each evening. We took our boat with us and this spot is absolutely gorgeous for touring the Trent-Severn.
The very best thing about this resort is that the staff are really happy to be there and it shows, they are friendly and went out of their way several times to make our stay more pleasant. I had a spa and the lady in charge looked after me. I had a peci-mani and I believe this was the best mani-pedi that I have ever had.
All in all, this resort is probably the best we have ever stayed at and we travel quite a bit. Kudo's to the owner for having this gem and making it available to others to share.

Room Tip: We stayed in a king terrace room which was lovely, huge balcony where we could sit and watch the bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerRawleyResort, Owner at Rawley Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. It is a pleasure knowing our guests are leaving with such a good feeling of fulfillment and then taking the time to send such a wonderful and positive review.
Your kind words will be shared with all the team who have endeavored to make your stay an enjoyable one. They will be so pleased to know they made your stay the best it could be.
We hope that your experience will entice your to return to us and we truly look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Rawley Lodge is a beautiful spot with a lovely dining room and bar. We literally wait through the winter to get back to Port Severn to sing at the bar with piano player par excellence Eric. Tonight we came in, and NO ERIC! What a huge letdown. The replacement piano player was just so-so and no singing along. Our cousins came in to listen and sing but we were all so disappointed. We do like the Rawley, rooms are great, the food is quite good, and the setting at the beautiful Trent-Severn waterway is sublime, but where is Eric?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerRawleyResort, Owner at Rawley Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
It is extremely important to us that the services we provide are appreciated by all our guests and we are pleased that we met most of yours.
Eric plays here 95% of the weekends, however the one weekend he took off for a family function, was the one that you stopped by to see him.
Thank you for taking the time to send us your review. Every review is valuable to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have been to this resort before for a dinner in their lovely dining room and thought what a great place to celebrate my husbands surprise 65th birthday. I had called and made a reservation three weeks earlier and asked if they could bake a birthday cake at their facility for a party of six. Was told they were be happy to do this for me. I had called the morning of the birthday just to check if the cake was done and was assured it had been taken care of and ready for the evening. Our guests arrived and we had a lovely dinner and our waiter Dennis was wonderful and very attentive. We had asked the entertainer Adrien who was singing that evening if he could sing happy birthday when the cake was presented, which he did. The cake was presented and beautifully decorated however it was all for show. The cake was awful.....the cake itself was dried out like cardboard. We called Dennis the waiter to taste it himself. He immediately removed it and apologized.. I was so embarrassed not only for spoiling the night for my husband on such a special day but for our guests..no one from the kitchen came to speak to. We just sat there stunned. No sorry, we apologize..nothing. I called the manager the next day and she assured me that she would contact me after speaking to the chef and the waiter later that day. Well I have not heard from anyone. Absolutely disgusting way to treat customers who will now never return to our resort for either a stay or a meal. You should be ashamed of your customer service....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerRawleyResort, Owner at Rawley Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We strive to make our guests experience in all aspects of our resorts services outstanding.
We were pleased to see you and your guests enjoyed your meal and you found the service to be wonderful.
I am sorry about the delay in responding to your disappointment with your cake but the Chef along with the server were off and I wanted to speak to them both in regards to this matter.
After discussing this with our resort Manager she contacted you and we are pleased that the matter has been resolved to your satisfaction.
Should your travels bring you our way again in the future we would welcome the chance to change your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed for two July 2013 nights in one of the terrace rooms. We ate dinner in the resort's restaurant on our first night. The hotel calls itself a resort, a title that caused us some consternation prior to our arrival. We had visions of children scurrying about in loud pursuit of organized activities, tipsy young males spilling beer down their chests while they snapped towels at each other, and overweight middle aged men smoking cigars while their wives lolled about waiting to take out their curlers. None of this came to pass. The resort is, in fact, a tasteful inn where one can sit peacefully on a water facing terrace, look over a large lawn, and watch the world go by. Part of this world is the passing boat traffic but this too is quiet since the waterfront appears to be a no-wake area. Killdeers, robins, doves and the occasional Canada goose flit about on the lawn. Is there room for improvement? Yes. The live music is too loud at dinner. We did not eat in the restaurant on our second night for this reason. And don't get me going about the heavy over sized wine glasses. That being said, the food was fine and we appreciated a visit from the chef during our meal. We visited the inn because we wanted to hike in Georgian Bay Islands National Park. It would have been helpful if the inn had information about the ferry to the park.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerRawleyResort, Owner at Rawley Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased you enjoyed watching and relaxing on the terrace patio. Your review was passed on to the Chef and I am sure he would be happy that you liked his meeting you at your table.
The piano music played during and after dinner is one our guests highlights, however once in awhile there are some guests that find it loud. . I truly wish you had of brought that up during your meal and we would have done our best to move you to a quieter table farther away from the music. The wine glasses I cannot change but we do have smaller ones we use for tastings that if you had of mentioned that you found the glasses too heavy I know they would have looked after you immediately.
If you return, and we hope you do, please bring any concerns up to us when they happen so we can ensure your stay and service is up to Rawley standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at the rawley resort sat 22 June .. we checked in everything was perfect & ready .. we had terrace 1 .. fudge waiting soft music playing .. as it was 3 o,clock we were anxious headed to the pool for a nice relaxing swim .. while lounging at the pool Barb came thru to test the water .. and we struck up a nice conversation .. she asked if we would like a tour of the waterside lofts .. well we fell in love .the views and the bed ...... she said would you like to stay in one of these ..I will be right back she went to talk to liz and within minutes came back offered to move us over .. and in a matter of minutes .. we were in our new luxurious suite..2 levels .. spectacular view .we fell in love ... dinner that night was also perfect .. the dining room is so quaint and cozy .. service and chef top notch .while being seranaded by the piano playing soft beautiful tunes ...as we were heading out Eric the piano man .. yelled at us to join in on a sing along .. well what an enjoyable fun night that was about 15 of us . singing the night away .we felt like part of the family .breakfast that morning was also outstanding .. from the appetizer surprise of banana bread and fruit and a strawberry banana smoothie .all the beautiful little touches simply make this resort stand out from all the rest .. we will certainly be back .. also while taking pics outside Tom gave us a little history lesson on the hotel itself .Everyone is so friendly . Thanks Barb .. Thanks Liz and Tom .. looking forward to returning .Jocelyn Newman

Room Tip: all rooms are beautiful... waterside lofts suites have a spectacular view..and are very luxurious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerRawleyResort, Owner at Rawley Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
The staff joins me in thanking you for your much appreciated review. One of the highlights in the hospitality business is being able to please our guests. "Simply Perfect" is so great to hear. To us that makes us feel that we are doing a good job.
Our close team here at Rawley works together and strives hard to create the best environment for a happy and relaxing stay for you and yours.
Eric does enjoy playing to the dinner crowd and I am sure you saw how much he likes to entertain the guests. Many people have shared some fun hours around the piano singing along to familiar songs and at the same time making new friends.
I have shared your kind reviews with Barb. Tom, Chef Andy and Eric. They were very pleased to find out you were happy and thank you for taking the time to share your stay with Trip Advisor
We look forward to welcoming you back upon your return, which we hope will be very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Ontario
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at the resort June 14-15, 2013 and this was our 5th stay. We thoroughly enjoy the property. All of the amenities are great. The rooms are large and comfortable and the beds provide a great night's sleep. We stayed in a one bedroom suite overlooking the water with a balcony and comfy lounges. Everything is well maintained. The property is spotless. The service is just great. Everyone is cheerful and attentive. There is a lot of attention paid to decorating and the small details add to the home-feeling of the resort. The food is plentiful and very good. The small treats in the room are delightful. We enjoy it enough that we have already booked 2 additional stays this year in August and October and in fact we cancelled another Muskoka 5 star reservation to stay again at Rawleys. We find Rawleys very relaxing and that is what our small getaways are all about.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerRawleyResort, Owner at Rawley Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Your awesome review is now posted on our staff board and everyone of us truly appreciates your kind words.
We strive to make Rawley's guests experience the best it can be. When you stay here we want you to sit back, relax, and enjoy yourself and it sounds like you did. So we exceeded and that makes for a happy team here.
We take great pride in the service that everyone of us provides to our guests and we are so glad that you were able to experience their genuine service ethics first hand.
Thank you for sharing your visit with us on Trip Advisor and we look forward to greeting you upon your arrival in August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rawley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawley Resort

Address: 2900 Kellys Road | P.O. Box 189, Port Severn, Ontario L0K 1S0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Port Severn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Severn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique all one bedroom suite waterfront hotel. Fine amenities compliment our upscale furnishings and fine linens. Some suites have hospitality kitchens to prepare light lunches. Spa on site. Piano bar. From rain forest shower head to superior personalized service we look forward to entertaining you and yours. Free Wifi. 1-1/4 hr. from 401 off 400. Easy off highway. Perfect for Corporate events, wedding,private parties,families, and couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rawley Hotel Port Severn
Rawley Hotel Muskoka
Rawley Resort Port Severn, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rawley Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.