We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere/great service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Dam Grill

The Dam Grill
3279 Port Severn Rd, Port Severn, Ontario, Canada
705-538-1234
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Excellent freshly prepared meals served in a warm, friendly setting with outstanding waterfront views. Also enjoy a large over-water and boat-up patio open May-Oct with tropical drinks, great service and a Caribbean vibe. The Dam Grill is open year-round and is also a terrific fall and winter destination with large hearty meals and front row seats for the parade of migrating wildlife stopping off for a rest in the open water visible out every window in the Grill.
orillia ,on,canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere/great service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Food was not the greatest...but plenty of it ! Ordered ribs, chicken wings, and 1/2 chicken dinner...ribs (certain parts) were cold with warm sauce poured over it...chicken dinner and chicken wings were not very good...it all tasted like boiled chicken....nothing was crispy!

Even with all the negativity regarding the quality of the food...the atmosphere, the excellent choice of beers, and above all else...the QUALITY and the FRIENDLINESS of the waitress made up for everything else...to the point that we will go back ....hopefully the cook had an off night that day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    50
    28
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I ate here on my way to one of the local hotels and i very much enjoyed the food and atmosphere. The view is beautiful and there is a nice patio for customers to enjoy on a sunny day. The staff were very friendly as well. The food was good, reasonably priced, and relatively healthy (they make a point of indicating they don't use deep friers). Perhaps its a woman thing, but what I noticed most about the Dam Grill was how clean it was - it was very, very clean - that's nice to see in a restaurant. I would definitely go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So so food. Nice view, good service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

The setting is quite nice, especially on a nice evening. The food was lackluster. I doubt anything is made on sight; it all tastes like it comes from a food factory. Some nice beer choices.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDamGrill, Owner at The Dam Grill, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
We're sorry to hear you found your meal lackluster. However, I can assure you that our food is prepared ON SITE every day. In fact this was one of our family's core values when we built The Dam Grill: great food, freshly prepared to order. This is why we don't allow deep fryers here (we use ovens for 85% less fat!), why we can offer low sodium, allergy free and gluten free choices on-demand. We prepare your meal when you order and made to order!

Our kitchen staff are very experienced and we pride ourselves on the incredible volume of fresh food we prepare every morning to meet the day's demand. We wash and prepare literally truck loads of fresh fruits and vegetables every week. We're constantly roasting chickens, filleting pickerel, trimming fresh steak for the next order to go on the grill, sautéing fresh garden vegetables and preparing an endless array of soups, salads and sauces to accent our menu.

I will admit we have been accused of preparing meals so fast that it's hard to believe they were made-to-order. Partly that's because we have a state-of-the-art kitchen that makes this possible, but ultimately, it's our team here truly putting their heart into making great food, freshly prepared to order.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke-Alvinston, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food And Beautiful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Beautiful!! they have great food. The beautiful water veiw Sunrise or sunset. And stop by to get your ice cream too right acrossed. Inside or out beautiful and a great atmospher.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gowanda, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Waterfront dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Nice atmospher right on the water. We had the ribs and the were most suprizingly good just like we were told. Definately would recomend!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dam Grill also viewed

Port Severn, Muskoka District
Port Severn, Muskoka District
 
Honey Harbour, Muskoka District
Coldwater, Ontario
 

Been to The Dam Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dam Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.