We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muskey's Landing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Muskey's Landing to your Saves list
Muskey's Landing
P.O. Box 76, Port Severn, Ontario L0K 1S0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Severn
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The location is not the best, since it is really close to the highway, giving the impression of being a motel, not a resort, as the name says.
After a few minutes there, we could feel otherwise. Being close to the water and having firepits, a voleyball court and a peaceful environment, we forget about the location. We cannot even hear the sound of the traffic.
What missed, for me, was the cleaning of the room after we spend the night. Some friends had their room cleaned and tide, but mine wasn't. They told me that I should have asked for it, but no hotel that I've been before was this way. Apart from that, the staff is really polite. :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    8
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed with two 20 year old boys for three nights. It was planned to be four nights but we had an emergency at home and had to unfortunately leave a day earlier than planned. The staff was very understanding, and helped us by refunding the last night.
The room was very clean, with soft beds. Had a kitchenette with everything we needed. Hot plate with two burners, full size frig (which was great for all the food we brought up). Had a great BBQ on the deck with patio table and chairs which faced the water. Great to watch the boats go by.
We brought our 17 ft fiberglass bow-rider to fish. We launched at Muskey's and docked there. One dock had bumpers all around which was nice. There is a nice cleaning station there too should you keep your fish. Word of caution, when leaving the dock by boat, drive slowly and carefully between bouy's. We hit a rock with our prop and there's a sunken old bouy cement holder right out front of Muskeys.
Muskey's have ice at their little store to purchase, and ice cream, t-shirt and hats etc.
The fishing was great. Our first day we caught 13 Pike.
The lock is right there if you wish to explore other Lakes. Either side you go on, plan on having maps though.
We played volleyball with some nice people we met there. The boys used the canoes one day, they had a blast. We were only sorry we had to leave so soon. We will definitely will be back.
Thanks to owner/operators, Shirley and Dan. Great job guys.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Four families of us visited the area with kids during the past weekend. We had so much fun in the area, fishing, swimming, sunbathing and mostly relaxing. When we were there, the entire resort is booked up. It means it must be very popular. The first floor is all kitchenettes, with BBQ, fridge and other utensils equipped, the terrace is open with chairs and table. It made friends gathering so easy while maintaining each family privacy well. It has a soccer field and slides for kids to run around. Fishing boats and canoes are also available to explore the area. Excellent service!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My wife just had a baby and told me to take a boys weekend - me and my friends went up to Shirley and Haps for the day .... well not only were were treated amazingly but he caught his first Muskey - 20lbs! I have been their guest before and want to say not only is their place great, but the hands on service (Hap helping him debone that muskey!) is amazing.
I recommend this not only as a family place to take the kids, but as a place that you get the family treatment regardless. Cottages are spotless, totally loaded with everything you need, and the whole community there is outstanding.

Thanks again Shirley and Hap!
Here's to another Muskey next season!

Steve and Jay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have stayed here a couple of times. The pros are it is lake front with boat rentals great fishing with decent size rooms that are clean. The cons I have found the people at the front desk a bit cranky. It seems as if everytime we ask a question it is an inconvience for them. It also sits right of the 400 hwy and can be a little loud with traffic noise on a busy weekend. All in all I would recommend this location, just don't expect a Hilton. It is a small family run resort and they do that fairly well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We planned a boys fishing weekend and were very pleased with Muskeys. Dave and Sandy are great and the rooms have everything you require to be comfortable. Fishing, Horseshoes Firepit, hot tub, BBQ and great owners. We will be back and hope to take advantage of their ice fishing package,.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

If you like camping and are not looking for everything to be upscale and are budget minded this is the place for you. I have always wanted to stay at this place as I have driven by it 100 times when heading down HWY 400. We do very much like camping and took a room with a kitchenette.
David and Sandy are friendly hosts. The room had a double bed and a twin with a flat screen TV, a sofa (I am presuming it's a pullout), air conditioning (none in the cabins) small table set, fridge, microwave and a hot plate (no stove per se). Just outside the garden doors facing the water we had a deck with table and chairs and a BBQ. This we found quite uniqe and suited us well. The internet we were able to get because we were in room #3 close to the office. You must go to the office for your internet if you do not get a signal in your room. There are few channels to watch and no phone unless you use the outdoor payphone. The bathroom was quite spartan and the ceiling above the shower needed care but hey it's like camp remember. The room was clean enough. Ice is available at 3.50 a bag. We could have gotten our own cottage closer to the water for just 10$ more a night but were not prepared for full out camping so we took the room. You can bring a pet in a room that is for pets and owners only. There are also boat rentals and such so you can pretty much get your camping experience on pretty fast if you like. There is no beach.
We did a day cruise on the 30,000 Island Georgian Queen in Penetanguashine. The tour was $27 a person (65$ for families) for 3.5 hours. Also if you are staying try Foodland as the best buy for groceries and such.
One of the few disappointments we had was that due to our visit being close to a long weekend the 3rd day 49$ special was denied. If we were able to stay the extra day we could have done the last Jazz dinner cruz of the season on the Georgian Queen. Now that would have made us happy and have made our stay really special. Unfortunately our request was denied which left us feeling a little short changed.
We travel to the Toronto area every month and are always looking for a place to stay that we can really feel good about and pass along to others we know who pass that way alot as well.
In all there are many really fancy places in the area if that is what you want. Muskeys does offer an affordable alternative.
However if you are the type that are freaked out by anything less than perfect keep in mind that what you find here will be just like camping at a cottage, nicer camping but camping. If you can't deal with that you are likely looking for something different.
Oh yes, On the other side of the 400 there are 2 stores. Do yourself a favor and go to the one that has the freshly cut meat ( see the sign).
We love to cook our own and very much enjoyed the BBQ outside our door (not all cabins have one). The meat at that place was indead fresh and reasonably priced to boot. The other store had outrageous prices for frozen meat as well as other items you will need.
In all we would check first what to expect pricewise before booking at Muskeys and ask for what you want because they do have some quite a few options from which to choose.

Room Tip: If you want internet get a room near the office. If you want the 3rd day at 49$ as advertised make s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Muskey's Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muskey's Landing

Address: P.O. Box 76, Port Severn, Ontario L0K 1S0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Port Severn
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Severn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Muskey's Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muskey's Landing Port Severn, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muskey's Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.