We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just amazing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sacacomie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sacacomie to your Saves list
Hotel Sacacomie
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4000, Chemin Yvon-Plante | St-Alexis-des-Monts, Saint-Alexis-des-Monts, Quebec J0K 1V0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Just amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The food was amazing...the views were breathtaking...the free activities were terrific and the ones that come at an extra fee are worth the money....great staff and rooms...couldnt think of a bad thing to say about the place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viviane G, Sales and marketing assistant at Hotel Sacacomie, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We are always happy when client leave the hotel with a wonderful stay in mind. Summer is also a great season to discover at Sacacomie.
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    164
    94
    42
    21
See reviews for
171
253
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Povoa de Varzim, Portugal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I spent 3 days In this Fabulous hotel. Great view, Fabulous Staff. Love it. I was In a Large group + 150 from Allianz. Take a trip In The hydroplane around The hotel, just awesome. Spent Sometime discovering The outside pools and The sorrounding woods.

Room Tip: Lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viviane G, Sales and marketing assistant at Hotel Sacacomie, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you to take time to write those grat comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay! We'll maybee see you in summer!
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I spent 3 days at Sasacomie and it was a great discovery and surprise to get into this beautiful resort in the heart of nature. It was fantastic to do everything we did: stay and relax on the balcony with the astonishing view of the lake, sit into the room and watch the fire, walk into the wood, sit and have breakfast into the hotel all. we missed the chance for other incredible opportunities such as squat since my wife pregnancy, but it was a very pleasant relax. i do recommend this resort!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viviane G, Sales and marketing assistant at Hotel Sacacomie, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thnak you very much for your comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay.
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great location, picturesque in winter covered in snow! Log build style particularly attractive to this European. Must be equally impressive in other seasons. Stayed two nights.
Basic rooms, but perfectly comfortable and slept well.
Unfortunately we had a back room, not overlooking the lake, but it was a popular period just after Christmas '12
Although it was very busy with children, we only had the odd moment of the uncontrolled ones running and screaming in the corridors, but it does emphasis Sacacomie's suitability for family groups. But not if you're looking for a peaceful break away in nature. That said the surrounding area, the hotel's grounds are massive, so there is escape...easier in summer.
The outdoor activity facilities are amazing for those who want them, I can't begin to list them here, look them up on the hotel's website.
Breakfast was on the busy side, but the self-service choices were extensive and generous, both hot and cold dishes.
Service both at dinner and breakfast friendly and relaxed.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the lake, it's worth the premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viviane G, sales and marketing assistant at Hotel Sacacomie, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay.
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were really looking forward to this trip, the location of which was kept a surprise to me until arrival. I wanted something remote and with outdoor winter activities to enjoy with the kids.

Staff told my husband it was an hour and 40 minutes from Montreal, but it took us 2 hours and 20 minutes both ways (snow and traffic).

From the outside, the hotel looks great. Well kept up and in a fantastic location.

Once I stepped indoors, however, I was astounded and repulsed to see the entire lobby and restaurant "decorated" with the hides and preserved bodies of all types of birds and animals. Shameful.

We were shown to our room which was basic, drab and "rustic." It was clean except for the carpets which should be immediately replaced. The view was of the restaurant, pretty disappointing considering the location of the hotel! Definitely not the kind of room one would want to hang out in. It was also not sound proof... I could hear my neighbours pee.

We went straight to the restaurant where our meal plan was explained to us. A decent kids menu. However, when I asked what the vegetarian options were, I was told I could order a salad. There are two fish choices, but one is covered in cream of pork. The soup and salad were good, but the mains were not cooked properly (his underdone, mine overdone).

It was then that I noticed a leg hold trap on display in the restaurant. I was horrified (for those that don't know what this now illegal contraption is, you can google it). Canadiana style is one thing, but a hotel that celebrates the torture of animals is revolting. This was a deal-breaker for me and I went the the front desk to cancel my stay beyond this first night.

The pool was small, but cute and well maintained. The activities room was tiny, out of date and not even free.

The hotel gets a star for the ease of cancellation (we were not charged for cutting the trip short and leaving the next day) and the variety of activities. They also get a star for the location, which frankly, would be better enjoyed if there was a different hotel to stay in.

Finally the price is absolutely outrageous for the quality of accommodations, regardless of the excellent location. We were quoted $912 for two nights including supper and buffet breakfast. Yikes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viviane G, Sales and marketing assistant at Hotel Sacacomie, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Our decoration is made to expose a part of our history. Furs and trapping objects are set up into the decor with an interpretation minding, as a museum will do in a specific exposition. We also have a trapper activity to learn more about it. We are sorry you felt bad about it.
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

First, let me say that I'm from Montreal so we were not discovering the large Quebec landscape. But even then, we were pretty blown off by the view. The area is beautifull

THE HOTEL
The hotel is really beautiful. The smell when you get in is fantastic. You really get the "wild canadian" feel. Exploring the hotel is fun. The service is excellent and the large terrasse is relaxing.

THE ROOM
That's where everything falls apart. I can understand that you go there to be out of civilization and relax but the room for us was not up to par and maybe the reason why we'll never go there again. Not much in term of decoration, the balcony was so small, the bathroom was small, no TV, the bed were horrible, the carpet worn off. On the bright side, everything was very neat and clean but the contrast between the rest of the hotel and the room is too much to take.

FOOD
The food was good but not really up to the cost of it. This is suppose to be a gourmet restaurant and for the price we've paid..... But for people who wants to discover typical Canadian food, this is the place. The breakfasts are fantastic though.

ACTIVITIES
On summer....THERE IS NOTHING ELSE TO DO than Hiking, boating and Diving. NOTHING! You must know that you're going there to do NOTHING AT ALL. You could go to the expensive motor rides or pole shooting but other than than, there is nothing in the area, there are no entertainment, no TV...nothing. Boats and Pedalo are available but the beach is not much. But in Winter time, you have a little more outdoor activities.

RESUMÉ
The main thing about this hotel is the architecture and the landscape. The main problem of this hotel is its pricing. If it were 40% less expansive, I would say, go and relax. But for the price and the the room quality and the activities you can do, it's waaaaay too expansive. For European poeple, this hotel is fantastic and worth going to. For Canadian...not so much.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viviane G, Sales and marketing assistant at Hotel Sacacomie, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Concerning the summer activities, we offer a large range of unique experience during a vacation. The activities of hiking and boating are offered free of charge. Our guest also have the opportunity to experience horseback riding, bears and beavers observation, ATV rides, fishing and more.
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We spent two nights at the hotel, made all the more enjoyable by snow.

However, despite lake-view rooms having been specifically booked by a family member, a returning guest, they were not available to us and we had lower floor rooms with a restricted view of a couple of trees and what we took to be staff quarters in the near distance. Free access to the spa, offered as compensation, was of no interest to us. The rooms were comfortable, if a little tired, especially the carpets, but the chambermaid service was good.

Service at dinner was charming and the food was quite good - apparently improved from the previous visit. Breakfast was a bit of a scrum, unavoidably so, as the hotel was full, but there was a very wide choice of well-prepared hot and cold dishes and our coffee cups were refilled regularly with fresh coffee which was fine, if a little weak.

We well understood the ecological aspirations of the management, but if WiFi is offered, it should be adequate. In our rooms there was no consistent signal and it was barely possible to download or send a small email. We were unable to check flights delayed by the weather, without searching for a better signal in other parts of the hotel.

We enjoyed our stay: we were comfortable and slept well. Views over the surrounding hills and the lake from the public rooms were stunning, and walks through the snowy woods were a joy, as were visits to the huskies and the horses, although we were disappointed to have to go to another hotel to take a horse-drawn sleigh ride.

This hotel is in a wonderful position. Don't expect an entirely peaceful holiday as the hotel attracts families, but there are many activities and opportunities to escape.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viviane G, Sales and marketing assistant at Hotel Sacacomie, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. I’m happy that you enjoyed your stay. All your comments will be given to the concerned service so that we can improve our global guest services.
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sacacomie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacacomie

Address: 4000, Chemin Yvon-Plante | St-Alexis-des-Monts, Saint-Alexis-des-Monts, Quebec J0K 1V0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sacacomie 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sacacomie is an open door to nature. This enchanting site overlooks a majestic lake whose shores stretch for more than 40 km. The hotel’s log construction blends in beautifully with the landscape –and our hospitality is legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sacacomie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacacomie Hotel Quebec
Hotel Sacacomie Saint-Alexis-Des-Monts, Canada - Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sacacomie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.