We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and peaceful holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avithos Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Avithos Resort to your Saves list
Avithos Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avithos Village | Svoronata, Svoronata 28083, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Svoronata
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Relaxing and peaceful holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in early June with my partner. We stayed for one week in one of the smaller rooms on a self catering basis.

The resort itself is small but perfectly formed- the apartments/rooms are all situated close to the pool area but with a nice feeling of space and privacy. The pool is lovely, get down early to get a good sun lounger though!

The staff are absolutely great, really friendly and helpful.

I'd recommend this hotel for a quiet holiday- there's not much close by, a couple of restaurants 15mins away at the beach and a small shop 5mins walk- but it's perfect for relaxing and as a base for exploring the island.

A car is a good idea, we had one for 3 days which meant we could go and see other parts of the island and stock up at the food shops.

Rooms on the ground floor have very big outdoor spaces, but first floor rooms have a better view and are more private.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    31
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
108
128
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just got back from the resort and have to say it was one of the best stays we could have wished for. If you are looking on Trip Advisor to work out the best place to stay in Kefalonia, you have found it. Customer Service was second to none. We were in a maisonette which has a mezzanine floor with a bedroom and it was fantastic... it had two private balconies! The Kitchen facilities in the rooms are good, its very quiet at night, two air conditioning units, fantastic location, great pool, plenty of decent sun loungers, reasonably priced bar, very easy to get around the island etc etc etc etc! A very special thankyou to Nikos & Christina who were absolutely fantastic from start to finish... those two deserve a hefty pay rise! The value of this superb hotel/resort is in its staff and those two were priceless. It was because of them we had such a marvelous time, so thankyou very much! Lisa & James

Room Tip: our Maisonette was brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Went on the 28th May for a week with my family. We stayed here in 2004 when they first opened, 2005 and 2006. We shall def be coming back again. Wonderful views, perfect accomidation, and the most friendly staff who can literally not do enough for you! There is not a bad word to say about this resort. Everyone should experience this hotel! I can not wait to go back and my family are already looking to go again in August!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Having read all the reviews before we travelled, we went to Avithos resort hotel with high expectations. We were not disappointed. The hotel itself is fabulous. We had a maisonette with a mezzanine floor, perfect for our party (2 adults 2 children). The maisonette was of a high standard, with daily maid service. The pools and gardens meticulously maintained. The staff are so welcoming, you feel like family by the end of the week. Nikos in particular went out of his way to help us during our stay, from recommending local eateries, to arranging for a doctor when my husband suffered a back problem. He personally drove across the island to find an open pharmacy to collect the prescription for us on a Sunday, and would not take payment for it. Outstanding service, we will definately be back next year.

Room Tip: Recommend booking direct with the resort so you can select your preferred room type.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Clean, comfortable, relaxing, quiet.
The staff are great & really friendly. Going out of their way to help guests, offering to give lifts to restaurants etc.
The location is great, close to the airport & many nice restaurants & the coast.
Room service is done daily to a really high standard, even doing washing up in the self catering rooms.
Pool area & pool bar is really nice, they do light snacks too in case you're feeling lazy.
We had the best time & would seriously consider returning.

I HIGHLY recommend Crazy George's bar about 5-10 minutes walk away if you want to have a drink or watch some sport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Having spent a glorious week in a villa in Lakithra I had 2 unexpected bonus days at The Avithos Resort Hotel - it certainly lived up to its reviews. The 2 days were the result of a flight debacle on the way out to Kefalonia - NEVER flying with Small Planet Airlines again. They should be called 'on another planet '. Lost an entire day of my stay and had a 16 hour delay at Gatwick ...... and I couldn't bear the thought of flying back with them so I grabbed a one way Thomson flight back and shifted for an extra couple of days to The Avithos Resort Hotel; what a lovely place and what delightful staff - so welcoming ! Restful, peaceful, calming - rooms were comfortable and the bed was HUGE; a car is a must, but I had given mine back and Nicos very kindly dropped me to the local taverna on Avithos beach for supper and then picked me up. It's a reasonable walking distance, but I was feeling lazy and he said it was no trouble ! The breakfast buffet was good - but the lunch menu was a bit limited, they do offer choice later in the season. All in all - I'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: The rooms beyond the pool are the nicest - the ones at the front of the hotel aren't as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I know I'm somewhat repeating what others have said but I have to agree that this is a lovely place. I went with my boyfriend for a week to unwind and enjoy discovering somewhere new and I'm really glad we chose this resort. Nikos and Christina couldn't have been more helpful, the hotel location was perfect and the facilities were fantastic. We also enjoyed discovering other parts of the island and assos was our favourite. I'd also really recommend going in May/June, the weather's pleasant and there aren't too many other people there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avithos Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avithos Resort

Address: Avithos Village | Svoronata, Svoronata 28083, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Svoronata
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Svoronata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avithos Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avithos resort is an apartment style hotel built in the traditional Kefalonian style, set in spacious gardens and grouped around a large freshwater swimming pool. The resort is located in southern Kefalonia close to Avithos beach, 10km away from Argostoli. This is a lovely, fertile region where olive trees and citrus orchards abound. The coastline faces the tiny island of Dias and offers magnificent views to the island of Zakynthos across the channel. The resort's location makes an ideal setting for a peaceful and tranquil holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Avithos Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avithos Hotel Svoronata
Avithos Resort Svoronata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avithos Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.