We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel GREAT food TERRIBLE” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel St. Bernard

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel St. Bernard to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel St. Bernard
115 Chemin Guay, Saint-Bernard-de-Lacolle, Quebec J0J 1V0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Brockville, Canada
1 review
“Hotel GREAT food TERRIBLE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Staff great, hotel room great, atmosphere great, clean, modern and the pool was warm.

Staff great, hotel room great, atmosphere great, clean, modern and the pool was warm.
As for the food, TERRIBLE. The continental breakfast was decent, but how do you screw up a waffle that you make yourself? As for the dinner meal, it was very pedestrian. The restaurant is beautiful and the atmosphere is amazing, however the food did not fit the room. The food was simple, flavorless and cold. My wife and kids were done their meal before I received my meal. The food tasted like it was pre-made, frozen and then cooked in the microwave. Apparently they have a chef. If this is true, he/she is the worst chef in Canada and has no passion for food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    13
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
17
12
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Reception and restaurant is in the gray building. Most of the hotel rooms are in separate building. One cup coffee maker was a good treat. Breakfast was included and served in the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed here before heading over the border into the United States. Our room was clean and quiet (except for when the AC kicked in), dinner was terrific, and it was followed up by a fantastic breakfast! Breakfast was served and it included toast, cheese, a boiled egg, some fresh fruit and 3 delicious oatmeal raisin cookies! It was plenty for breakfast and a midmorning snack! If I had to make note of a complaint it would be that the TV volume was preset too low, and when the AC kicked in you couldn't hear anything.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

way too long for the meal took more then 2 hrs before we had our meal

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelton, CT
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We decided to stay right over the Canadian border the night before heading into Montreal. What a great find. We had to go next door to the hotel to get our key. The lady at the desk was so welcoming. She said we have been waiting for you. The pool was actually open. Check in was so quick. Our room was clean and large. The next morning we went next door for our continental breakfast. Wow, we were served scramble eggs, toast, cheese, fruit and coffee free with our room. That alone was worth it. Wendy at the front desk was terrific. We exchanged American money for Canadian money for only a 4.00 service charge. I thought it was quite worth it and I received a coupon for 5.00 off the duty free store on the other side of the highway. We used that on our way home to buy candy for the ride home. Please do not hesitate to stay here. So happy I found this on trip advisor.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The place to stay when going to Montreal. It's not too far of a drive, and is a lot cheaper and nicer than a lot of the hotels in Montreal. The girl at the front desk spoke English, but the waitress for the continental breakfast only spoke French. She was still very nice though and figured out enough to say what breakfast was. The breakfast plate was eggs, toast, cheese, and fruit. Not super impressive but it's free and served at the restaurant. Our room was clean and good sized. The front desk also exchanges money straight-across so that's a good place to do it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012 via mobile

Donna,Celine,Wendy and Tammy and another sweet waitress were so kind and caring!
Being in the resort industry , we were so impressed by the 'what else can we do for you' attitude that these ladies displayed,
Athough off season ---We were never without anything! When we return to this area we will stay at this Best Western!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel St. Bernard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel St. Bernard

Address: 115 Chemin Guay, Saint-Bernard-de-Lacolle, Quebec J0J 1V0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Saint-Bernard-de-Lacolle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Saint-Bernard-de-Lacolle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel St. Bernard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Hotel St. Bernard Saint-Bernard-De-Lacolle, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel St. Bernard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.