We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puerto Del Sol Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Puerto Del Sol Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Puerto Del Sol Beach Resort
Barnagay Ilog Malino, Bolinao, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Bolinao
Malabon, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed overnight at Puerto del Sol and had a grand time. It is one of the prettiest resort I've been to.

The villas are just beautiful and super comfortable, it was tempting to just stay there and never go out. I specially love their veranda which overlooks the pool which is the centerpiece of Puerto del Sol.

Food is amazing, well presented and more importantly delicious! We dined at their hut restaurant which fronts their white sand beach. I saw a parasol set up for a dinner at night right beside the beach and imagined it would be really nice to bring a partner along here for a really nice romantic dinner.

Staff are gracious and are always smiling. No complaints at all during my two-day stay here.

We also toured around the nearby places in Bolinao courtesy of the resort. We checked out waterfalls, caves, rock formations and nearby beaches.

Bolinao is really beautiful and Puerto del Sol is an excellent place to stay in if you plan to visit it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    59
    24
    15
    15
See reviews for
55
24
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our trip was super fun filled visiting the different nearby destinations that you can arrange to go such as: the two falls, the Wonderful Cave, their famous Patar Rock Formations, Cape Bolinao Lighthouse and beach bum or watch the sunset at Patar Beach.

Arriving at Puerto Del Sol, i totally loved their welcome refreshments. Their staff during my stay (in the cafe/resort/front desk) are very helpful and friendly.

There was a beach wedding when we were there and I totally fell in love with the different set-up (altar/romantic dining by the beach).

Staying there, I enjoyed our night swimming, cocktails tasting at the floating bar, the sumptuous dishes they serve when we dine especially this unique Bangus Cordon Bleu(Milk Fish Cordon Bleu), chilling at La Playa because the view is just so relaxing, waking up late and having a hard time parting with my super comfy bed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santorini, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Me and my family loves to travel so much in nearby provinces and we've been eyeing PDS for some time already but too scared to try because of the negative reviews they've been getting. Being the beach bum that my hubby and son are, we were never disappointed with the places that we've been to. PDS so far is the only resort in this price category that has let us down. (we got the bahay kubo around 6k/ night)
1. They only have their manila office as their point of contact with business hours 8am-6pm. If you're on the road after that and needs direction going there or if the need of special requests arise, you are definitely on your own.
2. Staff are all smiles, very friendly. But the person i asked the bar list from, (i was by the pool) - never came back with my request. I didnt make a big fuss out of this.
3. Nothing else to do but lounge by the pool. Nothing special about the pool, believe me. Beach is not conducive for swimming. There's free kayak but they never offered us this service at the onset of our stay, i only learned about this when i read it somewhere in the resort.
4. They charge you extra 22% for room service
5. Food is too pricey and nothing spectacular, nothing special about breakfast buffet either
6. We got acquainted with a couple at the resort and we shared the same sentiments
7. Celebrities who promoted the place overrated it.
8. Wifi is not free!!! For the price that we paid???? Amazing right?
Overall, experience was OKAY, but im never going back there!!!


5.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Denis, Parigi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My family (2 young children and husband) just came back from a long WE in Puerto del Sol.
We spent a very nice time and I would advise this resort if spending time in Bolinao. Before booking you should be advised that the beach just in front of the hotel is not suggested for swimming nor particularly beautiful and that the pier for 100 Islands is 1 hour drive. The nice Patar White Beach is 5 km ahead or 10 minutes drive. Despite this, we spent a very enjoyable and relaxing time, found all the staff very welcoming and friendly (ex they accepted very easily to change my breakfast with no additional charge when I explained I was not a fan of Filipino breakfast). The facilities are lovely, the internal garden is amazingly landscaped and my children had a blast with the swimming pool (especially the 2 feet one, even my younger could play for hours!). Rooms are nice and I would suggest to ask for a downstairs Mansion Villa as they are little wider than upstairs ones.
The resort is still pricey and we can say it's good value for money just inside the Philippines (too expensive compared to international standard) but I guess that if you wish to go to Bolinao you should compare with Filipino standards!
The food was good but too many items a la carte were out of stock during our stay.
And, as I complained with the front desk, day tour were too expensive! We booked through the hotel the 100 hundreds island tour for 3800 php and we just had the boat (exactly the same tour which cost 1300 bought with tourist office for big boat or 800 php with small boat -we were 5!) and not even an organized transportation (we had to get our own car and driving back and forth from Alaminos). This is the only big con have with the hotel.
Special mention to thei in-house manager (Elme, sorry if I spell wrong the name) who was amazing! very attentive and kind, top!

Room Tip: Ask for downstairs Mansion Villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urdaneta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We are a former guest of Puerto Del Sol, we are from Urdaneta Pangasinan my brother choose to celebrate their wedding here. All is very nice especially the restaurant staff s who takes part in making the Wedding very presentable.

We are just a concern guest who would like to help to those couples planning to celebrate wedding at Puerto Del Sol. We had a very bad experience with Ms. Cherry [--], she is very impolite in dealing with clients. We experienced a humiliations and unrespectfull behavior from her. I hope you can improve how you deal with clients because we expect more respect yet what we gained in return is not due to what we deserve. We also wrote our concern to their guest comment note to notify the management of Puerto Del Sol. Please give her a better training in dealing people especially in attending concerns to your guest. She should learn proper manners in dealing with guest. She should analyst herself if she is fit to her work as a Manager because she is very unprofessional. Employees under her will learn on how to be good employees if they have a very good trainer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norcal U.S.A
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

A spur of the moment decision brought my family to Puerto for an overnight stay.

I think out of all the resorts in the area, Puerto appears to be the most polished as you go in the entrance, it feels and looks like a resort. The swimming pool is at the center and has a sufficient open space next to it for lounging around. Staff was for the most part helpful and friendly as they were able to accomodate our needs such as eating outside of our room and providing extra towels.

After our check in and a brief rest, we were able to do a short quick tour offered by Puerto. This composed of going to the Cape Bolinao lighthouse, Patar white beach, rock formation near the shoreline on Puerto's property, and the wonderful cave. There appears to be other activities to do which is a great option for those looking to do more.

Now for the caveats:
1) Wifi is not free. It is free on the restaurant area but is limited to a 2 hour schedule around the afternoon.
2) Their free breakfast voucher is only for a continental breakfast (i.e. light breakfast compose of bread, fruits, and juice). They do offer an "upgrade" to a Filipino or American breakfast for a fee. Coffee has a one time refill.
3) Beachfront location is average at best. You may not able to swim or do kayaking when it is low tide.
4) Off peak season issues: Night time ambient lights not turned on, restaurant is open but chairs are on tables and no one inside to help us out. Swimming pool not cleaned/filtered. Imho as long as you have paying customers, at least make them feel they are valued and get the place in decent shape.

Room Tip: Check on other websites for discounted room rates. If your travel plan is not a spur of the moment t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puertodelsol H, Public Relations Manager at Puerto Del Sol Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear spikeyflip (Norcal USA)

Greetings from Puerto Del Sol Beach Resort and Hotel Club!
Thank you very much for staying at the Puerto Del Sol Beach Resort and Hotel Club on your most recent trip to the Philippines. Your feedback is shared with the management team, and rest assured the issues you raised will be addressed in order to consistently provide the level of hospitality. Your comments are important for us to implement measures to improve our facilities and services. We are delighted to know that you find our staff friendly and like the services of the resort, especially Bolinao Land Tour activities.

Your feedback is very important with us and would like to inform you that all your comments are duly noted and reviewed to further improve our product and services.

We hope you give us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us and will look forward to having you stay with us again. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at (632) 631 2861, or you can e-mail me at info@puertodelsol.com.ph or melopds@yahoo.com.ph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We are a duly-registered and licensed Travel Agency specializing in educational tours.

This is the second time we were able to send students in Puerto del Sol for resort immersion and eco-adventure tour. First group is around 95 pax and the second group is around 180 pax. Both groups are from notable universities in Manila.

Everytime we are in Puerto del Sol, the beauty of the place never cease to amaze us, it doesn't matter if we had been there four times already.

The property is located right in front of a pristine white beach. We especially love the Mediterranean-inspired villas and restaurants. Taking a walk in the beachfront in the morning and having breakfast at La Playa is what we call "heaven" on earth.

Both our student groups enjoyed their tours immensely. We never ran out of food, no matter how much our students eat.

Also, nothing beats the hospitality of the staff starting from their Resort Manager, Sir Bernie, their F&B Manager, their wait staff, their housekeepers, their FO staff, even their security staff.

That's why it always makes us wonder everytime we read negative reviews about Puerto del Sol.

Our experience with them have nothing been but positive and happy.

Kudos to PDS!

See you soon!

Room Tip: The casitas are quite expensive but it can accommodate to up to 8 persons. This is the best room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Puerto Del Sol Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Del Sol Beach Resort

Address: Barnagay Ilog Malino, Bolinao, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Pangasinan Province > Bolinao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Bolinao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Puerto Del Sol Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerto Del Sol Hotel Bolinao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puerto Del Sol Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.