We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended for Non-French Speaking Americans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison des Collines

Save Saved
You added La Maison des Collines to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison des Collines
Chemin Saint Veran, 04500 Allemagne en Provence, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Sausalito
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Recommended for Non-French Speaking Americans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

As a non-French speaking American traveling in the French countryside I was delighted by the hospitality at La Maison des Collines. Francoise and Frederick, the Inn's proprietors, were exceptionally warm, welcoming and helpful from the moment of our arrival to the last good-byes. Without doubt, their recommendations greatly enhanced our vacation leading us to the best of the best places in Provence. Likewise, the accommodations were as comfortable as home in every way. Each morning I felt like i was coming downstairs to eat breakfast in my own home. Each evening after a day full of perusing the countryside, I felt like i was returning to the peaceful oasis of home. Even though my French language skills were quite poor, Francoise and Frederick made continual efforts to communicate with me; and not just that, they wanted to get to know me as well. Their warm smiles made for fond memories of La Maison des Collines. So if you are looking for a delightful home away from home during your visit to provence, I would whole-heartedly recommend you join Francoise and Frederick at La Maison des Collines in Allemagne-en-Provence.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grasse, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

La Maison des Collines warrants, and even surpasses, the glowing description it has received on secretplaces.com. Myself and my non-French speaking boyfriend spent a magical week at the charming guesthouse and wanted for nothing during our stay. The house itself is at once homely and elegant, the rooms beautifully put together with great care and excellent taste. The atmosphere at the house is still and serene, and the surrounding countryside stunning (particularly during the weeks preceding the lavender harvest, when the 'champs de lavande' are in full flower and brilliantly deep purple). What set the guesthouse apart from other romantic boutique hotels was the unending hospitality we received from the owners, Françoise and Frederic. Breakfast was an absolute delight, as Françoise went above and beyond to ensure we had everything we desired and chatted to us about the various pastimes available to us in the area. Throughout the day we would stop to share our anecdotes with the two happy and helpful hosts, and felt relaxed and utterly taken care of at all times. The useful tips and restaurants recommendations all dispensed with a cheerful smile took the experience from excellent to unforgettable. I would heartily recommend that you journey down to this picturesque part of the country during the month of July and meet these two unique individuals. A perfect setting for a romantic holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Frédéric and Françoise have a gorgeous home tucked away near the St. Croix Lake and Verdon gorge. The Valensole Plateau is very close, too, so it's nice to get a diverse taste of all the area has to offer. This is a fantastic base for exploring.

Some things at the house feel like they are a work in progress, but even so there's nothing to complain about. I wish we would have had more time to enjoy the property. The pool is particularly incredible! Seriously jaw dropping.

Make sure you go out to admire the stars at night. I cannot recall a time where I've seen so many. We could even take photographs of the milky way, which was visible with the naked eye. That was very memorable.

Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. It was evident Françoise truly loves what she does and that she does it so well.

One small gripe: Upon booking we had to send a 30€ deposit, which resulted in an extra 36€ of bank transfer fees. It seems having paypal or something else could alleviate this problem. Also, be prepared to pay your balance with cash!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We had a perfectly wonderful time at this charming b&b, which we found by accident on a tripadvisor forum while planning a trip through Haute Provence. We came as two couples, and only one of us spoke French, but Françoise and Frédéric made us feel at home in their beautifully designed space. The rooms were modern and serene with elegant materials that gave a feeling of the outdoors coming in. The kitchen, dining and living room spaces were open to each other and with a lot of glass that could open or close to the outdoors. We stayed two days and were lucky enough to enjoy a delicious (and enormous) dinner expertly prepared chez Françoise. The next night we went out to a nice convivial restaurant about 15 minutes away toward Gréoux that Françoise recommended and reserved for us. It was fine, but no match for Françoise. Great breakfast spread too--Françoise made great crepes right there and there were local jams and juices and abundant fresh fruit. The family was definitely around, but it was in a nice informal way that made you feel you were welcome visitors. You can purchase drinks and snacks there and the four of us bought a bottle of wine and sat around the pool where it was brought to us. A great experience. A minor quibble; we could have used a few more small amenities in the room: a soap dish in the shower, some hooks, a full-length mirror, but this did not detract from our impression of a lovely place, a congenial family, delicious food and a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Searching the internet to find an overnight close to the lavender-fields of the Valensole Plateau I came across the description of La Maison des Collines. Just studying the website I sensed that this place would be something special - La Maison des Collines embodyed all that we were looking for.

This little B&B is an architectural gem, Provence style with an minimalistic decor - and situated in the most beautiful natural setting of olive groves and Mediterranean vegetation in the outskirts of the tiny village Allemange-en-Provence. Only the very best in exclusive materials have been used when building this lovely house a few years ago. On the outside the traditional terracotta colored walls with a yellow-red brick roof - inside a modern design with raw grey walls, open solutions, high ceilings with wooden beams and simple but exclusive decor. We were allocated a room on the upper floor with huge sliding windows from roof to floor towards the backyard covered with trees and bushes - no neighbors in sight - and with a small window towards East opening up for an endless view of olive groves and Mediterranean vegetation. The bathrooms are with amenities of natural materials and with raw walls and an open "door", that is, there is no door... Downstairs is one large room combining a lounge with large sofas, TV, and a huge solid wooden dining table with an open kitchen from which you enter into a lovely semi-covered terrace. Breakfast and table d'hotes dinners are served here. From the terrace steps lead to a very inviting pool area - a wooden open deck from which you have a full view of the surrounding vegetation and on which you find top class lounge chairs and sunshades. Soaking up the sun in this tranquil and beautiful setting is a balm for the soul.

La Maison des Collines is a Bed & Breakfast and hence you won't find a restaurant as such. During daytime you can purchase wine, snacks and fruits while breakfasts are buffet style and including on-the-spot baken crepes and homemade jams - all very delicious and delicately presented. Some evenings the owners offer a home-cooked meal but, unfortunately, we weren't fortunate to have this experience.

Based on comfort, atmosphere and environment we would immediately be happy to grant this little B&B a 5+ star rating, but it need likewise to be said, that the service of the owners lacked the necessary dedication to bring the experience to perfection. We realize that the B&B is a few years old only and hence till now the owners have been concentrating on creating the perfect frame - but now need to change focus on the last little details - those that makes you feel truly welcome and put the client in the center. We don't think we have unrealistic expectations - but we were annoyed that little things and lacking attention put scratches on our visit. We felt a distance and some times that we were more of an inconvenience than a charished guest. Let me try to explain. When we arrived a bit after 16:00 hrs. we found the hostess dressed in bikini ready for a swim. She looked upon us as it was a surprise we showed up - in spite official check-in time is from 16:00 hrs. and we held a reservation. We felt a bit akward but were quickly shown to our room and handed a swim towel - and off she went to the pool with her daughter for a swim. When a bit later we came down to the pool ourselves, she and the daughter were still swimming and suntanning and filling up the pool with private poolgear. This evening no table d'hotes dinner was available - and all guests were recommended to drive out for a meal. We had truly looked forward to a locally cooked meal in this beautiful environment - but we had no choice but to find a restaurant elsewhere. Having driven all day and likewise looking forward to enjoying a bit of wine, we weren't up to much driving and hence the owner suggested us to drive the 3 km into the nearest village Allemagne-en-Provence to dine at a local restaurant there. It appeared to be the only place in the village and serving plain food (pizzas or steak and chips) in an uninspiring environment - so if was quite a dissapointment and no exploration of those great little eateries that France is so famous of but the locals only know and that we had hoped for. Good dining is available in Riez or Greoux-Les-Bain some 10 km away only, it appears. Returning swiftly back we found the B&B totally empty and without any sign of life. The hosts had withdrawn for the night, but Frederique did show up and helped us brewing a cup of coffee and showed us how to lock down the place afterwards. We drank our coffee in solitude and turned in very early as it felt akward sitting out there in the dark all by ourselves with no lit candles, no other guests and the hosts asleep. Hence the homy evening on the lovely terrace we had hoped for - sipping wine and mingling with the other guests - did never occur. Yes - little things - but those that count and can change the experience from mediocrity to heavenly and unforgetfull. Only sharing these thoughts with you, as we found it so close to perfect and yet left us somewhat annoyed. La Maison des Collines is still a very wonderful place and highly recommendable - and we'll be more than happy to plan a new visit in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

It was a real pleasure for us to stay three nights at La Maison des Collines. Françoise and Frédérique, the owners, are both extremely nice and helpful, whether you are looking for a restaurant or information about the area. The house has just opened since June 2009. The house is located outside of the village (but very close to) of Allemagne-en-Provence on the top of a hill surrounded by olive trees. It has been built and decorated with taste and passion in a Mediterranean modern style. The rooms are spacious and opened to the peaceful nature. A quiet piece of Paradise! Do not miss the excellent cuisine of Françoise served on the large terrace of the house, in particular a local Provencal specialty called: Petits Farcis.
Such a lovely place embodies what a B&B shall be: delightful hospitality in a beautiful house.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Maison des Collines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison des Collines

Address: Chemin Saint Veran, 04500 Allemagne en Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Allemagne en Provence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Allemagne en Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your La Maison des Collines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison des Collines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.