We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cote Sud

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cote Sud to your Saves list
Cote Sud
7 rue Haute, 41800 Troo, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Troo B&B and Inns
George Town, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed in the beautiful spacious blue room inside the house which has a good sized ensuite also. Such a quaint little village. The hostess was lovely and welcomed us with a glass of bubbley. Our dinner was at the only open restaurant (across the road from Cote sud) which was fantastic! They spoke no english and we spoke no french, but we all laughed as we played charades to figure out what we were having for dinner ("quack quack" means duck!). This was a very memorable and lovely dinner. The bed was comfortable and the village slow and quiet. Hardly anyone on the streets, but we did see the old man bicycle to the church on the hill to ring the chuch bell on the o'clock. Felt like we had the village to ourselves. Then there was the breakfast! This was a magnificent feast, hands down, the best breakfast we had our entire trip in France (and anywhere else for that fact). The freshest ingredients and such a variety. We wished we could have taken this B&B all over France with us. We only stayed one night, but it might be a good and affordable base to visit the Loire valley. We didn't have any time to expore the surrounding coutryside on our tight schedule.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

I had to stay for 2 nights after checking out of somewhere else in the village ,wow what a difference stunning views ,lovely bright airy rooms ,superb hosts ,the most amazing breakfast ever ,Eric and Dominique made me feel very welcome

Room Tip: They also have 2 gites available in the village ,both are caves ,superbly kitted out ,very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Stay just north off the valley of the kings ,In this 'o' so charming village manoir , Dominque and Eric are your hosts ,you have the choice to stay in the main house or in two state off the art trog caves [the cave on the hill has views to die for ] Breakfast is an art for Dominique and you wont be disapointed with anything. WIFI is available and spoken is FRENCH ITALIAN and ENGLISH , Its in easy reach for all the main chateux's dont miss the LEONARDO DA VINCI garden ,your hosts will point you in the right direction,also the church of st jacques (a 5 minute walk from your host )and the pretty village and church of lavadin (a 10 minute drive) are divinely bathed in early wall paintings .TROO is a hidden meccca for its trog caves history and artists there is a bounty of hidden treasures to find in the village.Your hosts will also be more than happy to recomend the best in local produce and wine , COTE SUD IS A TRUE FIND .COLIN AND NATALIE

Room Tip: Ask about the trog caves
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

We found this B&B online but, as it had no Tripadvisor write-up, I booked with hesitation. Mme Calegari-Jehl does speak a little English so that helped with booking but I resorted to my French efforts and all was well. Booking handled very well by email with quick responses - even though they were themselves on holiday in Italy! Oh, the joys of technolgy! We were given clear instructions re location and parking and were asked to provide an estimate of arrival time.

On arrival, within the estimated timescale, we were welcomed and drinks provided sur la terrace. Dominique (Mme) gave us some local information and a leaflet for Troo and then showed us to our room at the front of the building on the first floor. Beautiful, airy, comfortable bed and a good-sized modern shower room/wc. On the first night we made the mistake of sleeping with the window open and, as a poor sleeper anyway, I found the small amount of traffic noise from the lower road, a bit disturbing. Please bear in mind that we live in an extremely quiet village so, for most people used to a bit of road noise, this wouldn't be a problem. On the second night we actually closed the window and had a really good night's sleep without the room feeling stuffy.

The breakfasts are something to behold!! We went downstairs to the large lounge/dining room and there was a huge table, fit for the 3 Bears, laden with all kinds of goodies - juices, cereals, yoghurts, yummy local fromage, fruits, home-made preserves and a variety of breads, croissants and cake. Dominique serves tea, coffee or chocolate as requested.

The decoration of the house is utterly charming. It turns out that Monsieur is a Master painter and the house could easily be his showroom. Dominique obviously has a talent for putting together the most unexpected items, to wonderful effect. Outside the front door, you may wonder who on earth has hung a rowing boat over the entrance and parked a lovely retro cream scooter outside the door! In their small back garden, they have a couple of the obligatory troglodite caves, one of which houses a self-catering gite for longer stays. The other cave used to the the village prison but now provides secure storage for their wine collection.

On the third morning we were very sad to have to bid farewell to Dominique and her gorgeous house. But we have their details for a return visit at some time in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

Four of us stayed for two nights is this most beautiful B&B. Dominique & Eric were wonderful hosts, and served a continental breakfast matched by no other. We would recommend this B&B to anyone you won’t be disappointed.
Jane, Steve, June & Dave.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cote Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cote Sud

Address: 7 rue Haute, 41800 Troo, France
Location: France > Centre > Loir-et-Cher > Troo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Troo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the hearth of the typical troglodytic village of Trôo, 4 charming rooms fulled equipped with private bathroom and wc welcome you in a serenity atmosphere. Copious french breakfast served in the familial dining room. Several visits in and around the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cote Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cote Sud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.