We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden dragon in the small town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Die Reichsstadt

Die Reichsstadt
Engelgasse 33, Gengenbach, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Gengenbach
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hidden dragon in the small town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Can't imagine a Michelin-recommended restaurant could be found in Gengenbach. It offers fine dining with reasonable price (52 euros/ set dinner). Although it is attached to a hotel, there're not many guests at night so we could enjoy an exclusive service by a polite and helpful waiter. He introduced the ingredients of each dish patiently and offered a refill of the main dishes.

The food was a combination of high quality ingredients and creativity. We liked the tomato and curry butter on the bread platter, and was especially impressed by the dessert - green pepper ice-cream served with strawberry and sauce. The flavour of ice-cream was very creative and unexpectedly delicious. We enjoyed the gorgeous dinner a lot and would definitely come here again if we re-visit Black Forest.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
674 reviews 674 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
352 helpful votes 352 helpful votes
“Lovely presentation in a lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The restaurant is decorated with inexpensive bric a brac but exudes modernity and good taste. Great care is taken in setting up the tables. The flower arrangements were lovely and went beyond the standard bud vase arrangement.
Our spinach soup was delicious and very hot. My husband liked his steak topped off with foie gras. Unfortunately, I was not so impressed with my seafood lasagna. Some of the scallops inside were a little tough though the big ones outside the crepe were fine. I liked my ice cream which was topped off with their blueberry sauce.
We enjoyed our dinner very much. The service was attentive even if the place was full. It was one of our most memorable meals as a totality, from setting, to presentation to taste.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Excellent cuisine in a beautiful atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We had the most lovely dining experience at this restaurant! The overall atmosphere was very peaceful, yet the staff was very professional and attentive (without being stuffy). The outdoor patio is spacious enough so that you are not sitting right on top of the tables next to you, allowing some intimacy. The decoration is very charming and warm, with the candles and many, fresh flowers.
And of course, the food (international cuisine) was delicious. The chef did an excellent job matching different flavors together, and the portions were just right. I had the halibut and my friend had the steak, both were very tasty. The manager (or owner?) helped us choose a nice, local wine. You can tell that she is enthusiastic and passionate about what she is doing.
We highly recommend this restaurant and would definitely go there again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A superb dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this delightful boutique hotel for a couple nights, and decided to try the restaurant on our first evening. The meal and the service was outstanding - fortuitously it was the right time of year for white asparagus (Spargel) and the menu had a goodnrange of dishes featuring this delicacy. We considered the meal such a good experience that we decided to eat I again on our second night, this time in the garden (as the weather had warmed up a little). Gerhardt and his crew run a great hotel and restaurant!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Die Reichsstadt also viewed

Gengenbach, Baden-Wurttemberg
Gengenbach, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Gengenbach, Baden-Wurttemberg
Gengenbach, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Die Reichsstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Die Reichsstadt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.