We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in a good position in Gengenbach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant Sonne

Save Saved
You added Hotel Restaurant Sonne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Restaurant Sonne
Hauptstr.23, 77723 Gengenbach, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Gengenbach
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hotel in a good position in Gengenbach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Unfortunately we were a little disappointed in this hotel. The website promised more than it delivered as although the room was fine, the stairs and landings are very dark and very scary if the lights go out. We did not see any of the family or staff on arrival and had to let ourselves into the hotel. This was OK but the next morning at breakfast the staff made no real contact with us and there was not the usual friendly atmosphere we have received in all the other German Hotels we stayed in. The breakfast was good but on the whole we did feel let down after seeing the well presented out website. Gengenbach itself is a delightful town with all its medieval buildings etc.

Room Tip: The ones at the front have good views over the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    17
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
18
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a pleasant hotel, well positioned in a lovely friendly town. We had a room in the guest house slightly away from the hotel. The room was comfortable and quiet. Because we were not in the main hotel and only went in there for breakfast we felt a little isolated. There may be value in an English guide to the hotel facilities in the room with a particular focus on the how the guest house related to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I visit Gengenbach 2-3 times a year on business, and the most recent time both hotels I normally stay at were booked up. The extremely low prices had me a little wary at first, but I was pleasantly surprised with all aspects of my stay.

For a family run guesthouse, this was really good. I'm always a little embarrassed at my lack of German but the staff were extremely helpful and friendly in helping me find my way around as well as booking taxi's etc. Obviously somewhere for €40 a night isn't going to be full of luxuries, but the room was huge and comfortable, with cheap, reliable wi-fi as well. It is located perfectly right in the centre of charming Gengenbach. Noise isn't an issue as it's not really that type of town!

I would look to stay here as my first choice when I next travel to the area, mainly because of the extremely good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

There were 5 of us traveling and we had 2 rooms at the Hotel Sonne. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The rooms included breakfast each morning in the Hotel's restaurant. It was a traditional Germany breakfast and very good. All the staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly. We ate lunch at the restaurant and all agreed the food (especially the salad which was a variety of different items, not just lettuce) was excellent. The little town of Gengenbach is very charming. Across from our hotel in one of the chimney's we saw that a stork had made its nest and two baby storks were seen as well as the mother. The little town square (it was daylight savings time) was the place to be after dinner, sitting and just watching the people and enjoying a gelato. We left on Saturday morning but not before spending time at the "market" set up in the square where there were lots of fruits, vegetables, desserts and entertainment by local children playing instruments. Access to the train from Gengenbach was walkable from our B & B and we went to Strausburg France for the day from there. Great place to stay to enjoy the sights in the Black Forrest area and come back to each night.

Room Tip: We would definitely recommend this B & B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
136 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed here in December 2012 for two nights. Small, functional room for 30 EUR. Gengenbach is a lovely small black forest town. Hotel is right in the middle of it. Breakfast was plenty and good. I had also dinner at one night, which was also delicious. WIFI was 2 EUR. I guess, I will return one day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We came to Gengenbach at the height of the Advent to see the beautiful town hall. If it is Christmas time, it is truly THE perfect place to stay (see photos). It's a quaint, no frills family run hotel with a restaurant on the main floor.

Location: Hotel Restaurant Sonne is in the heart of Gengenbach and you feel like you are part of the city. In the morning when you wake, there is a small market in the square below you. At night, there an occasional chatter heard, but it is very peaceful. It is easy enough to find from the train station, no more than 10 minutes walk (even with luggage).

Rooms: There is a certain charm to the hotel, but there is nothing fancy about it. Beds and blankets were comfortable and done up in classic Bavarian style! The bathrooms are clean and functional (but small and dated). The rooms are exactly as shown in the photos and incredibly spacious. There are a few long flights of stairs in this 3 story home/hotel. The halls are dark and creaky at night, so make note of where the light switches are in the daytime!

Service: The included breakfast was the typical continental spread + boiled eggs, and restaurant was bustling at both breakfast and dinner! I enjoyed the inn, but found the service a bit lacking. I had no troubles booking by email. On arrival, the doors were locked but there was a clear sign to ring the doorbell if you are a hotel guest. The lady was courteous but a bit gruff. It seemed like her family was in the restaurant most of the day and when I went to pay or ask questions, I felt like I was intruding. Our stay was not as warm and cozy as other places. But then again, we speak no German, so perhaps it is more an issue with our communication.

Nevertheless, I would not hesitate to book it again if I were to spend a longer time in the future. With the cleanliness and spaciousness, it would make a nice home base for exploring the Black Forest.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here for 2 days during our stay at Gengenbach, Black Forest. This is a good spot to use as the base to explore around the black forest.

This inn is placed close to the main street and is quite easy to find. We stayed in a double bedroom on the second floor. Very warm and comfortable room with a good clean washroom. There is a restaurant below which serves an excellent breakfast, but for the other meals recommend that you have it outside.

Ensure that you collect the Konus card from the owner of the inn to make it possible to get the necessary discounts on the trains, etc through the blackforest. From here, the station is just a 5 min walk.

The family running the inn is a typical german family and if you aint too sure of the German language, it could be a bit of struggle.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Restaurant Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Sonne

Address: Hauptstr.23, 77723 Gengenbach, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Gengenbach
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Gengenbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant Sonne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.