We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with a lovely welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ship Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Ship Hotel to your Saves list
The Ship Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   The Parade, Parkgate CH64 6SA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Parkgate B&B and Inns
Yorks
1 review
“Lovely hotel with a lovely welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

I'm surprised and very sorry to read the other negative reviews because our own stay there was very different! We were staying there to attend a wedding nearby and the staff were friendly and helpful before we even arrived, advising me over the 'phone on how long it would take to get to the venue and arranging for an iron and ironing board to be put in our room before we arrived, etc. The receptionist who checked us in was very welcoming and told us we'd been upgraded to a four-poster room for no extra cost, and whilst we were getting ready, she very kindly got us directions to the venue off AA routeplanner as I had forgotten to bring mine.

The room itself was very pleasant and nicely decorated, with a bay window (with seat) overlooking the estuary. The bathroom, with its avocado suite, is clearly a hangover from the 70s and in desperate need of an update, but spotlessly clean, as was the rest of the room (and indeed the hotel). The bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in and we had a great night's sleep.

The owner herself served our breakfast to us and she was as welcoming and friendly as we found the rest of the staff. When we asked why the sea no longer comes as far as Parkgate, she was happy to chat at length about the various theories explaining this. The breakfast was nicely cooked and enough to set us up for the day and there is a wide selection of teas (and coffees) to help yourself to, not just ordinary breakfast tea. The rotary toaster referred to by another reviewer has been replaced by a Dualit (or similar) and the bread provided very good, and too thick to fit in the toastracks provided!

They were cool about us checking out slightly late and happy for us to leave our car in their carpark for as long as we wanted whilst we took a walk.

We would certainly recommend this place to others and stay here if we were ever in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    72
    26
    12
    7
See reviews for
43
69
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

Welcome was absent; just wanted to get hold of my c/card for payment as soon as we walked through the doors. This was followed by verbal rules of the house regarding absolutely NO late bar for residents and what was expected if you came back late.

Cooked breakfast was only available on weekends and we certainly weren't made to feel welcome when ordering. No "Good Morning, help yourself to the cereals etc." Just "What did you want to order."

No one to thank us for staying on leaving; empty reception desk so left keys on the desk.

Room had been redecorated; no wardrobe, just wire baskets and rails - no hangars. More house rules on laminated notices. Bathroom not redecorated and inches of dust on the extractor fan. Not a pleasant bathroom.

A shame because the gentleman we booked with seemed very friendly on the phone. We were not made to feel like guests at all; more of an intrusion.

The hotel is nicely situated with good views of the estuary and has great potential which has not been taken up.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humber
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

We counted at least 9 signs on the walk from the car park to reception warning of forbidden actions / potential fines. On registration we were handed "welcome letter" detailing further warnings and the info pack in the room concentrated on what was not available - cooked breakfast on weekdays, early morning calls, payment by cheque, late residents bar to name but a few.
The decor was tatty - The Ship Hotel has seen better days ( but didn't necessarily participate in them).
On the positive side - a reasonable cooked breakfast (only available at weekends!)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fochabers, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

We stayed here as we were visiting friends in the village. Having travelled 400 miles to reach here, we just wanted to get into our room and get settled as quickly as possible. The alarm bells should have started immediately on entering the car park/hotel as there were signs everywhere saying - don't park here, don't do this, do that etc. On entering the reception area, nobody was there so we had to go to the bar. After a wait the barmaid said she'd go and get someone but came back and said could we wait in reception as he was busy. After about 15 minutes "he" arrived, and without apology started the booking in process, which included handing over a list of "rules". He asked for payment for our two night stay upfront (N.B. not a credit card imprint but payment!). As we were leaving reception to struggle up the stairs with our luggage, he bellowed "Its strictly no smoking remember" - we don't smoke so advised him of this. By this time I was beginning to wonder if they were filming some new episodes of Fawlty Towers, with a brand new Basil Fawlty, and we had become involved in it.

On arriving at the door of our room, the key/lock was so loose that I'm sure a little pressure would have opened the door without key. We entered the room and were disappointed with the following -
It's small size
Very outdated decor
Non matching bedding items (albeit they appeared to be clean)
No light next to the mirror in the room (nowhere to see to put make up on)
A very dim (perhaps 20W) bulb in the centre of the room
A view to the side, of the high wall of the next door building.
The bathroom had an avocado green suite which had certainly seen better days and looked decidedly grubby.
No decent light in the bathroom either.
A tub under the exposed pipework at the toilet containing brown water (catching the drips from a leak).
Signs everywhere - don't do this, do that etc....
The floor of the room was on such a slope that when I awoke in the morning on the edge of the bed, if I had moved one centimetre to my right I would have rolled off on to the floor.
On reading the list of rules, we found that there was no resident's bar.

Breakfast - make your own tea (from a kettle - not even an urn/make your own toast with a very slow rotary toaster. Cooked items of very poor quality - tinned tomatoes, for example. On the second day of our stay, we were first down for breakfast and sausages were actually lukewarm - we suspect they had been reheated (insufficiently) from the day before - yuk! Service could certainly not be described as friendly.

We did not eat any other meals at the hotel as we were visiting friends in the village but on the first night on returning to the hotel we were kept awake (there was no way anybody could have slept through it) by the sound of rock music coming from the bar - till 12 midnight. We were on the verge of complaining when the music stopped.

This hotel is old and some might say quaint - our impression was more of grubby and outdated, with very poor service. The price was the same,as we found out later, as we could have obtained on a special deal, from a really nice upmarket hotel a couple of miles away - the taxi fare would have been worth the extra. Also a nearby Premier Inn would have saved us money and I'm sure would have given us a much more comfortable stay.

We were actually checking this location out in connection with attendance at my son's wedding in August, when we would have needed at least 8 rooms but - NO WAY was I going to get dressed for my son's wedding in this shabby location, to be served by staff who seemed to give the impression that they were doing you a favour - a lesson in customer care would not go amiss, quite apart from the fact that they could not offer, for example, the chance for the guests to relax in a resident's lounge, or any lounge after hours.

The location of the hotel overlooks the estuary on the shore but only a limited number of rooms can have any kind of view worth having.

I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

The room was basic but clean and warm, the bed comfortable and the breakfast edible. Which was all we needed while visiting local family

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

Last weekend we stayed in The Ship Hotel, and it was the most horrible experience I ever had in my life.

We asked for a twin bedroom, and instead we had 1 single bed, and …..Believe it or not…a camping bed.

For the price of £60 a night I’ve found it extremely overrated for the conditions.

As the hotel as full due to a local event and we paid as we checked in, we didn’t know the room conditions and so we couldn’t ask for another room.

The kindest thing the manager could have done would have been informing us beforehand and drop the price.

I do not recommend this hotel to anyone, and the astonishing view its mention on the website…belongs to special rooms, otherwise you will contemplate the car park.

The breakfast was acceptable. But considering after a bad night sleep, anything would be considered good.

  • Liked — Breakfast was acceptable
  • Disliked — bedroom and bathroom conditions
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

We stayed at The Ship Hotel in July 2008 with our 3 children. They have a lovely family room (room 19) with THE most comfortable beds we have ever slept in at a hotel! It was very clean and they were happy to give us extra pillows when we asked. We did have a look at the four poster rooms during our stay (for future reference!), they are lovely with fantasic views of Wales. Breakfast was lovely, a great selection of continental breads, cheeses and meats, plus the usual cereals fruit etc. You can get cooked breakfast during the weekend and that is really nice also, not swimming in grease like some breakfasts we have had, and a great selection. The hotel is in a lovely spot right on the front and there are some great walks and views around there. It is a very good base for exploring the north west, and Wales. We went to Llandudno and Conway during our stay and it took 45 mins max to drive there. Plus there is lots to do in Wirral and some beautiful beaches on the doorstep. Would definately stay there again, the staff were very friendly and helpful and made us all feel very welcome. The bar is very traditional and they also keep some really interesting real ales and the bar snacks are yummy, Sunday lunch was amazing would reccomend you stay for that!! Looking forward to going back next year.........!!

  • Liked — Location, comfy beds, breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Hotel

Address: The Parade, Parkgate CH64 6SA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Parkgate
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Parkgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ship Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship Hotel Parkgate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ship Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.