We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“transormation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Turk's Head Inn Restaurant

The Turk's Head Inn Restaurant
6 East Street, Chickerell, Weymouth DT3 4DS, England
01305 778565
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 restaurants in Chickerell
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“transormation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I must say, have not visited this Inn for 18 months or so. We used to be regulars but found that the food, service and cleanliness standards was slipping away month on month. Yesterday my wife and I were passing at lunchtime and decided to re-visit. What a transformation. The interior re-fit is subtle and in-keeping, the service and welcome as good as it gets and the food was quiet excellent. I hear new owners have stepped in since we last visited. Congratulations to them. the place is re-born. Will be bringing the family next week. See you then.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

59% Recommend
    32
    38
    15
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
holidayhappydays
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“OK but wont be blown away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Food is always ok... you know what you are going to get but not anything outstanding. The staff are friendly and service is good.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

George &Mary Bridport. Mid day. Bar service poor. Staff not interested in customer.Long wait for food. Meals on menu they do not do anymore Told to order at bar Others had table service. Wronge food served
Food good and hot

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turksheadchickerell, Manager at The Turk's Head Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
I am sorry to hear that you felt our service was lacking. At present we operate an order at the bar policy, however, we do try to accommodate those that are less able to travel to the bar by doing table service if required. This is usually the case on weekday lunch services. All of our meals are prepared freshly in house, and unfortunately this may lead to us running out occasionally during busy periods. However, we aim to have them back on the menu by the next service at the latest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“disapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Freindly staff but poor food service, The food was poorly cooked and presented. Huge menu they would be better doing a few dishes well rather than dozens poorly. I had mussels which had been about so long in the freezer that many of the shells were smashed you could not tell good from bad or eat without a mouthfull of shell YUK!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turksheadchickerell, Manager at The Turk's Head Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
I am sorry to hear that you didnt enjoy your meal, had you brought this to our attention whilst you were here we could have tried to rectify the problem for you. I hope that you will visit us again and give us chance to restore your faith in our menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A GREAT PUB AGAIN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

good food great service good prices i just hope that the new owners can make the pub as popular as it was in the past I would like to see proper salads brought back with lettuce not those mixed leaves apart from that a great pub

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turksheadchickerell, Manager at The Turk's Head Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. It is always nice to hear that our customers are enjoying their visits to the Turks Head. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Turk's Head Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Turk's Head Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Turk's Head Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.