We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, family friendly Holiday Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taumarunui Holiday Park

Taumarunui Holiday Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taumarunui
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taumarunui Holiday Park
3.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   SH4 South | cnr Racecourse Rd, Taumarunui 3946, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful, family friendly Holiday Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We cannot recommend this holiday park highly enough. We were a family of 3 adults, 2 children and one baby. We stayed in the cabins one night and the cottage the next. The facilities were excellent with Phil & Helene (owners) providing cooking pots and utensils, crockery and even kitchen linen and detergent to use in the community kitchen. The kitchen and ablution blocks were meticulously clean. The beds in the cabins and the cottage really comfortable. Helene offered us the use of her herbal garden and fruit and meeting their pet animals - Julia the Kunekune, Willie the goat and Desmond the Dog which just added to the thrill of staying there for our children. A beautiful location beside the river and bush and very handy to all the tourist spots.. We will return. .

Room Tip: This Holiday Park is very safe for children. Road and train noise was very minimal and of no concer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
12
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at this campsite for one night in a tent and onother one in a cabin.
Cabins are basic and very clean.
The Staff was very pleasant and very helpful.
Showers and toilets were basic and clean.
The kitchen was ok even if not very big.
A really appreciate the cherry tomatoes produced in the campsite for all the guests (for free).The also sell fresh eggs
The price of cabin is correct .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed one night here in our campervan, after walking the Tongario Crossing. The owners are so friendly and offered us their vege garden beside the kitchen, so we could create a fresh salad. Everything is extremely clean. There are lovely trees, and the park is beside an awesome river, which I strongly recommend swimming in, has its own rock slide/whirl pool.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

It is hard to say what it is that makes this place so appealing. I am not usually a big fan of camp grounds but this place nails it. The cabins are clean and cosy, the setting wonderful, the hosts welcoming and the ambience bucolic heaven. I have stayed here three times and will return again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

excellent hosts, they made our first camping experience a great one, couldn't be more helpful, very clean and tidy, .they even gave us an airbed to use for our tent.well done on a top job. great place for little ones too with hens and a baby goat a very friendly dog and a very big pig,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our cabin exceeded expectations.. clean white crisp linen, mugs, plates, cutlery with a mirror and easy to read by lights. The park is beautifully kept with herbs for guest use growing at the kitchen door. The bathrooms, kitchen and toilets are lept very clean. The mature trees, birds, and freindly hosts made our 3 day stay just perfect. Taumarunui for New Year - an inspired choice.

Room Tip: A 4 berth cabin for 2 gave us good space as we were staying 3 nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katikati, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Taumarunui's location is exceptionally good for wherever outdoor activity you want to take. The Holiday Park makes an excellent base to stay and enjoy yourself in wherever you feel like doing while in Taumaruniu area>Options are multiple, from Kayaking to mountain biking, to road riding, to touring, to tramping, to simply relaxing and feeling lazy.... Top place top location....And a special mention to what really makes the good even better: Top people managing the camp. Thanks a lot Helen, Phill, .....and cute Julia. You really made my special stay there truly memorable.

Luis. From Spain.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taumarunui Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taumarunui Holiday Park

Address: SH4 South | cnr Racecourse Rd, Taumarunui 3946, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Taumarunui
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty lodging in Taumarunui
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taumarunui Holiday Park 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4km south of Taumarunui, situated beside the mighty Whanganui River and bordered by a native bush reserve, this is where your Ruapehu District adventure starts! An ideal base for fishing the many local rivers and kayaking the Whanganui River, the start/finish point for the renowned Forgotten World Highway, and only 35 mins north of Tongariro National Park and Whakapapa Ski Field. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taumarunui Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Taumarunui Holiday Park to your Saves list