We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious but in need of modernisation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kelly's Motel

Save Saved
You added Kelly's Motel to your Saves list
Kelly's Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kelly's Motel
10 River Road, Taumarunui 3920 , New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Taumarunui
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Spacious but in need of modernisation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We booked a room with a double but were given a larger family unit with 2 bedrooms and parking immediately outside. The welcome was friendly, the bed comfortable and the fruit and home baking were a lovely touch. However, the decor was seventies style and felt very tired, the cooker had a broken ring which wouldn't support a saucepan, a cockroach came out from under the microwave while we cooked and a pillowcase was stained. However with a good location and friendly management, we would stay again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Six of us stayed here for a couple of nights when we went on the Forgotten World Adventures railway trip. The hosts were welcoming and very helpful. The best place to stay for this tour as it was just across the road. Nice and quiet and well appointed. We would certainly stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

When I found myself unexpectedly stranded in Taumaranui late at night
with no car (having been discharged from hospital - miles from home, no
taxis) the managers at Kelly's stepped in to help. They were helpful and
efficient. They even collected me in their own car, and offered me a
warm welcome with home-made cake. They were so kind and really went the
extra mile. I had a very comfortable night, the room was great. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is an older style motel which, like Kelly's, often have the advantage of being larger than average and often have solid wall partitions thereby reducing the noise from neighbours compared to stud partitions. There was a full kitchen and an efficient air pump which we needed as it was pretty cold. The hosts were friendly and there was a nice touch with welcoming fruit and home made cake. Although the fittings were old, they worked and the unit was very clean.

The negative aspects included the lack of Wifi and there was some noise from the adjacent main road and the very occasional train. However, the bed was comfortable and once asleep, we slept well. Although not perfect, we'd go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Friendly staff, great service could not have done more to make us welcome.

The motel is great for a brief stop over, the rooms are a bit dated and not overly warm. Bathroom was functional but not fashionable. But overall a comfortable nights sleep.

Room Tip: Be prepared for a small town motel not a 5 star hotel safe, sound rooms. Just don't expect to mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We booked in to Kelly's Motel in Taumarunui, as we were travelling to and from Taupo and Waitomo Caves. On arrival, a lovely bowl of fruit, and some home made chocolate slice - just what the doctor ordered, after a long trip. Enjoyed these with a hot cup of tea. Who wants to cook dinner after the long hours on the road - don't have to McDonalds is right across the road. Next morning a short walk to the supermarket, and we cooked up bacon and croissants for breaky. We were staying in the two bedroom villa - a home away from home with all the added luxuries of Sky and cuddly warm blankets. Off on our travels, fill up the petrol - which is also right across the road. AWESOME!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katikati, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed two nights in Kellys Motel as we were booked to do a Lost World Adventure trip. The location is great as it is close to town and across the road from our meeting point. We received a warm welcome and the dish of fruit was a nice touch. We were accommodated in the larger two bedroom villa which had plenty of space for the two of us. This villa is, however, in serious need of refurbishment. The building is old which is fine but it is also dark and dingy with curtains that fall down when you pull them across and paint peeling on the window sills which makes it hard to look clean and fresh. The sheets were spotless but the covers were stained, as was the couch in the main bedroom. There has been a wave of `out of towners' visiting this motel as a result of the new trips on offer across the road. National and International visitors will add new life to this town and they will expect a high standard of accommodation. I am hopeful that Kellys Motel will rise to the occasion and freshen up this room. Cheap is not always the only thing tourists are looking for.

Room Tip: Ask to have a look at the other rooms in the main part of the complex. These appear to be newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kelly's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly's Motel

Address: 10 River Road, Taumarunui 3920 , New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Taumarunui
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Taumarunui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Kelly's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelly's Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.