We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tytherleigh Arms

The Tytherleigh Arms
Tytherleigh, Axminster EX13 7BE, England
+44 1460 220214
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Axminster
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Three of us visited for dinner on Saturday night in July. We knew it was popular so we did book, but we're surprised that whilst it was busy in certainly wasn't fully booked. There's a nice bar where we had per dinner drinks and had a look at the menu. The menu isn't massive but there's a nice choice of fish, meats and 2 veggie dishes. I had sardines for starter (over a toasted base and tomato type bruschetta) - very good. I had the ribeye which was also good. My husband had buffalo liver (a first) and he said it was excellent. My husband had the cheese board - it had good flavours but he would have liked slightly more. This restaurant is considered to be one of the best in the area and from our experience we'd concur with that. Staff friendly & efficient and they also knew there stuff. Not cheap but worth the money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    39
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Superb in every respect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We have dined here before on a couple of occasions and can honestly say it is outstanding in every respect. We went last week for dinner with our daughter, the environment is pleasant , the service professional, the menu imaginative. Plenty of choice, we chose crab profiteroles, scallops, steak, stone bass and finished with assiette de desserts. Fantastic , we will certainly return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The most stunning surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

My wife & I accidentally pulled into this restaurant car park actually thinking it was somewhere else.....and thank goodness we did! The menu immediately entices you. It's simple, elegant and not at all pretentious. We were greeted in a friendly, inviting manner. The owners clearly have a lot of pride in what they do, and it shows. The food was fabulous, well presented, well seasoned & delicious. The only fault I could find was that there was maybe too much on my plate & very very hot. These are ludicrously picky criticisms but just something to note, you will not leave hungry. All round excellent experience! A*

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Birthday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Thank you Tytherleigh Arms.!
We are a local family who booked a "low key" lunch for my daughters birthday.
So lovely. Very pleasant friendly staff. Plenty of room.. Restful welcoming decor.
A superb meal - we wish we could have eaten more but were rather full of birthday cake before we arrived!
We have a holiday cottage nearby and would not hesitate recommending this great place to visitors and family alike.
Appreciated the sparkler candle in my daughters dessert. Thank you.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Better than it looks from the road”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The pub is easily missed and given its location it is a pity it does not have a nice garden for those days that ask to be enjoyed outside.
However the refurbishment inside has produced a really nice setting. The service is pleasant and efficient. Prices are at the top end - its easy to spend £90 for 2 with wine.
The menu is the usual scallops steak guineau fowl etc and is cooked accurately though the guineau fowl though properly cooked needed a sauce to stop it being a little on the dry side.
My pudding was too doughy for what was a take on a bakewell tart.
My real reservation and hence average not very good is that for this sort of price you can go to somewhere like Little Barwick House near Yeovil and the result is a bit like Brazil v Germany!
If 3 courses were priced at say under £25 then it would be a better proposition

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tytherleigh Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Tytherleigh Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tytherleigh Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.