We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Outside of Cottage
Outside of Cottage
Outside of Cottage
Lounge
Dining Room
Double Bedroom - Ground Floor
Lounge
Axminster
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ollie399
London
1 review
“Best of both worlds - city comforts in rural setting / close to hills and coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Very well appointed cottage in lovely, quiet village in East Devon, within Blackdown Hills.15 minutes drive either way to nice market towns of Honiton and Axminster, or 20 mins to coast. Owner very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about local area - towns, facilities, attractions, restaurants etc. Excellent cottage presentation, and some nice extra comforts e.g. welcome treats, basic larder supplies, spare dishwasher tabs, firewood etc. Good wi-fi connection, and decent mobile reception in house (Vodafone). Conservatory a nice addition, perfect for relaxing in warmth even when raining! In summary, highly recommended for a pleasant countryside retreat, yet offering access to facilities and attractions of Devon/Dorset.

3 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Rural setting
Liked least: Narrow driving lanes
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
forestfor...
forestforever1
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect 5*”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This is the perfect place to stay to explore this beautiful part of Devon and surrounding areas. We selected this property primarily because of the look and description on holiday lettings. Gut feeling suggested it was of good quality at a reasonable price so decided to book it. Our expectations were surpassed. The owners have the price to quality ratio just about spot on (despite the usual school holiday hike). It is refreshing to find a property owner that has gone that little extra in trying to ensure that your every comfort is catered for with what is best described as a high level of attention to detail. Sometimes you often it find it nice to go home and use your own decent cooking equipment or enjoy your own bedding but we had no issues here. The kitchen was furnished with accessories to a high standard (no cheap flimsy pans) and an excellent quality oven. The bedding provided feels like a medium/high quality cotton set which provides an excellent level of comfort. Everything else in and around the rooms is well thought out and fits nicely, in keeping with the property.

The lounge has 2 good quality, comfy sofas, log burning stove which looks perfect for winter, tv with speakers and an I pod docking station (in the home cinema system). The wii was also welcome on a rainy morning!

The property itself is well proportioned and spacious for the 2 of us. It would easily accommodate a family of 4 or 5 (depends on what space you look for). It has a good sized, well maintained garden with secluded outside seating area, next to the conservatory. The weather meant we couldn’t take advantage of this but I should imagine it would provide an excellent additional area to use.

The owners of the property are friendly, professional and keen to help you get the most from your stay. Nothing is too much trouble and we found them to be flexible and very accommodating. The homemade cookies were simply delicious and a lovely welcoming touch.

The property is located in a quaint little village and is the ideal base to explore the coastal parts, west to Exmoor national park and north into Somerset. There are plenty of decent pub/restaurant places for lunch or dinner so you shouldn’t be disappointed when it comes to this either.

There is a Tesco and Waitrose close by but we found the new Tesco in Seaton to be a better place to stock up on goods (nicer than the Honiton store) so again you should have no problems in this regard.

In summary the owners are extremely friendly, professional with great attention to detail. It is a combination we appreciate and would visit again without a shadow of a doubt. We can only speak positively about this property and their owners We could not really wish for a better place to stay. If you book this accommodation, you will not be disappointed. Simply the best in Devon. Enjoy!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The attention to detail
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Darren K
Tomar, Portugal
1 review
“An absolute must book, if visiting Devon, 5 Star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

"We had a lovely long weekend in Devon at Mannings Cottage. My wife and I spent a few days with another couple enjoying the local walks, and the local pub which was very welcoming! The cottage itself was spotlessly clean with lovely furnishings and very comfy beds. We didn't venture too far because it was great to relax in front of the fire but the local area was very pretty. The cottage is a good size for 2 couples with enough room to find your own space whilst still being cosy. We'll definitely be back in the summer to enjoy the garden, coast and Diana's homemade cakes!"

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The lovely village pub and the home made cakes
Liked least: The only let down was the winter weather, no complaints at all about the cottage.
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Kate B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly and Accommodating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012 for a stay in November 2011

We stayed at Mannings Cottage for an extended weekend in November last year and it was lovely. The Cottage itself was perfect for us with our very young family and was very family friendly with lots of toys and equipment for our children so we hardly needed to be bring stuff with us.

The Cottage is furnished and decorated beautifully and sits well in a great village which was a great location for the local sites. The whole trip was perfect and easy for us and we would recommend to anyone.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Felt very welcoming and a real little 'home from home'.
Liked least: Apart from the weather, everything was fine.
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Alison B
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A very well furnished family holiday home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Mannings Cottage. The owners are very friendly and it felt like a home from home. Our children had use of their garden (along with the garden attached to the holiday property) and really enjoyed using the large trampoline! There were lots to keep us entertained within the area and most beach resorts are within 30-40 mins away. We will definatly be coming to stay again!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
JeremyQS
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very comfortable, very well equipped, great location - first class.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

We had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay at Mannings cottage. It's in a great location for the Jurassic coast, and it was well equipped for us and our kids. Excellent.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$117
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Diana S
44 01404 881478
Speaks English
Listed since : Jul 2011
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 29 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing