We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean, 3 stars- would recommend!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Athos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Athos Hotel to your Saves list
Athos Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nidri 31100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Nidri
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean, 3 stars- would recommend!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here on holiday for 2 weeks in July. The hotel is situated at the end of Nidri, in a very good location, just next to a small port, we've had the room with a sea view, really nice, the room was very clean and spacious enough, it had AC and fridge included in the price, cleaning was made every day and the towels changing, which was great. what it was really odd was that even though we had a small fridge in the room, when we took the key out and left the room, the fridge was not working any more. normally they would have a separate electrical circuit that doesn't stop when you leave the room. but, the AC didn't stop, so my guess is that the circuit for the AC and the one for the fridge where the other way around which was not too bad after all. they even had i the room a small device for mosquito and a net at the balcony for the insects. also a hair dryer.
our biggest problem was with the breakfast. they offered a small variety(one kind of ham, one kind of cheese, yoghurt, cereals, fruits, boiled eggs, honey and jam and a terrible coffee). it's ok if you stay there 2 or 3 days, but for 2 weeks, to have every day the same things it's awful. so, i would recommend changing it every 2 or 3 days. but the girl that was taking care of us at the breakfast area was extremely nice, and although at 10.00, normally the breakfast time was over, she always came at 10.30 to ask the tourists if they would need anything else from the breakfast area and if she could take everything away. extremely nice!
the entire hotel personnel is very helpful and nice, they answered all our tourists questions regarding the beaches, the sunbeds, the tavernas etc. for that we thank them as they were also our guides.
the whole area of the hotel is nice, with a lot of plants and very clean and cosy, and would definitely recommend Athos Hotel!

Room Tip: ask for a sea view room, of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    31
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Slovenia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This hotel has only 2 stars. And for 2 stars is very lovely hotel. Rooms are quite knew with AC. The Bathroom is very small, but this wasn't a problem for us. Only thing missing in room is refrigerator. Hotel is the centre of Nidri, where is a lot of shops and restaurants. Beach in Nidri is nothing special, but you have only half an hour drive to the other site with magnificent beaches with motorbike. The staff is very nice and helpfull. I would return in a second.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed here for a short break beginning of July. Very welcoming, beautiful location by the harbour and near some lovely restaurants. Pool area is great spot to enjoy the sun and relax. The tree bar is the ideal place to enjoy evening drinks and cocktails. All in all a really beautiful place to stay. Look forward to returnin soon.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The hotel is situated at the western end of Nidri waterfront, it has a very good position being slightly out from Nidri center which is normally busy especially in the evenings. There is always movement of yachts and boats on the water which we find interesting to watch.
The room was spacious, clean, air conditioned and with all the furniture we required, the patio door had a pull down fly screen which was very effective, although we did not see many insects.
The staff are all pleasant and helpful, the hotel is cleaned daily to a high standard.
The swimming pool is superb, clean and large enough to have a good swim, a toddlers area is shallow and fenced off from the main pool with the same water quality.
For the cost of this holiday I could find no fault, we will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Just ask the receptionist, they are helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Great basic hotel with friendly staff, nice pool. Air conditioning and mosquito screens

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Just got back from a hesitant visit to The Athos Hotel in Nidri, Lefkada.
What a wonderful surprise. After reading previous reviews I was unsure what to expect but it was clean with FREE air conditioning and for Greece great bathroom. All the staff work very hard and the place is cleaned every day. As I am an early riser Effie the owner even let me have coffee before breakfast was even ready, then i would have a lovely walk on the waterfront and return just as the pool man was finishing off. The rooms were cleaned every day, but towels not changed, but hey your supposed to clean yourself before using them so no problem, but i am sure if you asked the maid then she would give you clean ones, as ALL the staff were very obliging. When people say it is at the quiet end, it is at the end of a lovely harbour walk.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the pool give the best view but i would imagine might be a bit noisey at weekends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

The Athos is a stylish, comfortable, friendly hotel with spotless rooms, good bathrooms, free air conditioning, double glazing and window insect screens. Simple but good breakfast, 2 bars and a snack meal service. The hotel has a really lovely and immaculately maintained swimming pool and is at the quieter end of Nidri, but within easy reach of all the sports facilities, bars, restaurants and shops. Car hire available on site. Had seen some poor reviews but feel that this is a terrific hotel - good 3 star UK standard and exceptional for a cheap Greek hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the pool end section away from the road, although the road has now been by-passed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Athos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athos Hotel

Address: Nidri 31100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada > Nidri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nidri
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nidri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Athos Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Nydri’s waterfront, Athos Hotel offers air-conditioned rooms with balcony. It has a swimming pool and a hot tub and provides free Wi-Fi access throughout.Athos offers spacious accommodation, rooms are equipped with a TV, fridge and hairdryer. A private bathroom with shower is standard.Guests can enjoy their drink at Tree Bar surrounded by palm trees and enjoying views of Nydri. The hotel also features a pool bar serving drinks and light meals until the afternoon.Within walking distance, guests can find a super market, while 100 metres away there are bars and restaurants. Lefkada Town is at 15 km and Aktion National Airport is within 22 km. Free private parking is possible on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Athos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athos Hotel Lefkas
Athos Hotel Nidri, Lefkada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.