We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but not very good either” 3 of 5 stars
Review of JD's Bistro

JD's Bistro
Main Road, Nidri 31100, Greece
+30 2645 092949
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 58 restaurants in Nidri
Price range: $7 - $27
Cuisines: English, Greek, Dutch, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: JD's is a small, intimate family run bistro that we delight to welcome you to. Enjoy!
Suldal, Norway
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Not bad, but not very good either”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had lunch at JD's on our first day in Nidri, and none of the four of us suggested to go back there. The food was OK, the service was probably OK too, as we ordered, the food was placed on the table, and we paid, all without any problems. Nothing memorable in a positive or negative way.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    59
    8
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
“'Soulies' at JD's Bistro, Nidri.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Sorry 'Miserable Brit in Greece' but we loved the place - Chris and Jaki went out of their way to make us 'Soulies' and everyone else who entered the 'Bistro' very welcome. I think comments like 'miserable face' is very unfair and too personal to be placed on a review of this nature. 'Chris & Jaki' are hard working Yorkshire people, with Chris doing his best to serve everyone front of house, with the utmost of respect and I would say he deserves the same back. You should have tried speaking to them both, they are very nice respectable people trying to make a means in times of financial strive (rant over).

We can't fault the food and there is a wide selection of dishes on the menu be it English or traditional Greek meals. Jaki is a great cook and everything ordered is cooked from fresh, so be prepared to wait a little longer on a busy night. The food is excellent with the Stafido and the Klafdiko being served in a heated bowl with jacket potato rather than on the bone in foil (a full portion without any waste), and the drizzlecake and cheesecake is to die for as a dessert. We ate here most nights on our two weeks stay and was extremely happy with everything being served and was topped off with lovely coffee or PG Tips. Be prepared to purchase water for the table on arrival although there is quite a selection of other beverages on request.

JD's is much rated by the local Greek people for their sandwiches and morning breakfasts - English throughout and they will cater for those wishing to have more or less on the plate, we loved it !!.

We felt that current prices in JD's is pretty much as that in the surrounding restaurants and we expected to pay about Eu35 pair couple each night. The beauty is, you know the food is fresh and is cooked perfectly and we didn't have to wait 45 minutes before service like in another establishment. There is no push to get you in and the surroundings are more relaxed and quiet.

I would advise that you at least give it a try, speak to Chris and Jaki on arrival and see what nice and helpful people they are - we will definately be returning to JD's on our next visit.

Steve & Joan
(England).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAXXYD, Owner at JD's Bistro, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We really enjoyed meeting you all and look forwards to seeing you again in Nidri...will bulk bake the drizzle cake and cheesecake ready!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Best breakfast in nidri , or nice to take your breakfast with you (bacon babs and egg or sasages) wrapped in foil and eat them on the beach have a sit and a chat while you are waiting catching up with anything happen in nidri will we back in sep ( ps the ones with large party of 15 to 20 )

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAXXYD, Owner at JD's Bistro, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thanks, we'll be looking forward to seeing you all again in September! Jaki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“MISERABLE OLD BRIT IN GREECE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Why we even stopped to eat I do not know. From the minute we sat down and the owner came over with such a miserable face we should have got up and left then!! The coffee is horrible and the food not much better. I was amazed to see a notice on the wall saying you cannot use the toilet unless you eat there, otherwise you must pay 1euro!!! Almost as bad as Ryan Air!!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAXXYD, Owner at JD's Bistro, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
since the owner (me) is off sick with a broken femur, I doubt very much that you met me!! Maybe get your facts straight before leaving a fake review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“brekkie in nidri”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

well just got back after a week in nidri, had a great time made all the better by jakki and chris, never even tried anywere else for brekki as you carnt improve on perfection, no really try it .
its the proper deal . carnt comment on evening meals as after a recent accident in which jakki had her leg broken she is not able to open in the evening at this time but i hope she mends soon,
we will be back next year.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAXXYD, Owner at JD's Bistro, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
It was great to see you, missing you on the terrace of JD's. Have a great winter, looking forwards to seeing you again in June. Jaki & Chris x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JD's Bistro also viewed

 
Nidri, Lefkada
Nidri, Lefkada
 

Been to JD's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JD's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.